We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best avoided” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emperor Restaurant

Emperor Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 26 Restaurants in Lahinch
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best avoided”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got takeaway and it was poor throughout.
The children were not even inclined to eat the noodles.
Kung po special certainly was not.
Shredded duck was passable only
Not impressed

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xjoex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was very suprised to see all the negative comments about this restaurant. I loved it, but it is far too expensive. The staff are attentive, maybe a bit too much so. We got peking crispy duck for starter between myself and my wife. It was gorgeous. After that i got king prawn kung po which was really good but a bit too hot for me. It has loads of big prawns, cashnew nuts and water chestnuts. If it wasn't so hot it would have been perfect. My wife got chicken in black bean sauce which she enjoyed. The kids shared some chicken on skewers which they ate no problem but i though were a bit dry. Other than the price i would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very good selection and service . Would use again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FawltyTowers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not for me!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

When I saw the prices on their sit-down menu I couldn't believe it. Eventually we got a takeaway that was OK as chinese take-aways go and 1/2 price compared to the restaurant menu; We had worked out that a meal for 2 adults and 2 kids was going to work out around 80-90 euros!!!! No way! I have to add when I complained and said that was ridiculous, and since we had eaten the prawn-crackers while reading the menu, we suddenly say 2 burly chinese men appeared at the door and looking at us strangely..... Not sure what would have happened if we hadn't gone for the take-away!!! We still laugh about our experience in The Emperor...

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma&Kieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Have been traveling through Ireland for over a week and wanted something a little different for dinner. Food was OK. Prices are high. Would try someplace else next time.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LIGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emperor Restaurant also viewed

 
Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 

Been to Emperor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing