We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of West Coast Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahinch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Coast Lodge
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just back from a 2 week trip to Ireland. Ended up in Lahinch and stayed at West Coast Lodge for 3 days. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy and all the staff were very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was very substantial and set us up for the day. Staff were great at suggesting and organising things for us to do in the area and have a very good local knowledge. Kitchen was handy and well equipped to cook in and they also have a lovely lounge area and roof terrace to relax in. Would highly recommend and hopefully will be back some time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireukyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Super little spot. Basic enough but friendly, great location, super clean and comfy. A hotel it is not but great freedom and super lounge to hang out in. Nice breakie too. We will be back soon. Only negative s there was a very rude bunch of girls staying on a hen party but the staff were great in dealing with them. We have put this up as we think they have put up a large bunch of reviews to try and get their displeasure across. If they only knew what the other guests thought of them!! I pity the staff they should have just asked them to leave.... Looking forward to coming back soon

Room Tip: rooms upsairs are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ver m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for 1 night. 50 euro for a double room in a central location in July is amazing value. The room was very basic. Tea making facilities should be a given but we had been informed on arrival that there was a kitchen available to us if we wanted and that we could cook anything we wanted so that was fair enuf. We were also told we could use the internet free of charge and a wii console available so even though we never used them those extras are good ideas. All in all we were happy and will definitely be thinking of booking in again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lebowski13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The owner really needs to look at the bigger picture!!,where to start...constant cold water from shower,water dripping down from ceiling from upstairs shower,sheets had patches of dirt,was afraid to look underneath it!,felt sorry for staff as these problems and more are probably an daily thing!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Millyjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This 'Guest House' should be advertised as a hostel for the Blind. These people have the cheek to charge 60 euros for a room. The Doonbeg room was dirty and grubby. nothing worked properly, the bed was on its last legs, there were stains on the bed sheets. The shower head was held together and stuck to the tiles with duct tape that caused the water to spray everywhere when you had a shower . Mildew everywhere and the bathroom and shower doors didn't even close properly. The towels were like sandpaper. The breakfast consisted of a variety of canned fruit, and cereal and the bread for the toast was so thin it was see through. There was lovely music playing as we drank the muck they called coffee from a stereo on a chair that tried to hide the hole in the floor of the kitchen. The female staff person was overly nice to compensate for charging us to stay there, and she admitted to another guest she hadn't a clue about tides, beach or anything related to surfing.......not good if you advertise that the 'B&B, Lodge' is ideal for surfing. In this day and age, this place should be advertised for what it is, a basic hostel for someone who doesn't care where they sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dixie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Greeted with a toxic smell of kerosene which stayed all weekend. Went to our room which had a broken flashing light which we had to kick up about then we were told to use a lamp! Eventually got a new bulb then the lamp went on the blink!. The window would not close,mildew up along the walls and the shower came out to meet you in the bedroom you did not have to walk down along the beach to paddle!. The beds had broken springs, curtains gruby and the socket was hanging off the wall talk about safety.. Complained numerous times to the staff on duty and asked to meet the owner to no avail. It was not acceptable in this day and age to be in such conditions, and we paid a hundred euro for the room per night. We asked to be moved but no other rooms were available. Unfortunately we had paid up front otherwise i would have not paid a penny. I cannot understand how this place is still in operation. Talk about health and safety and infection control, i think HIQA need to make a visit!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank mags f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend with a group of girls, absolutely appauled at the cut of the place. Horrendous smell of kerosene in every part of the building. We were told someone must have spilt the oil while filling the tank and when we looked out of the window saw a huge crack in the oil tank that was covered with tape and oil seeping out. Disgusting dirty filthy rooms, promised we could speak to the owner who conveniently never turned up, horrible ignorant staff who did not want to know or hear about our complaints. This place is a serious health hazard and if is inspected by health and safety will be shut down immediately and I will be contacting the hse with regard to this. Please do not stay here it's disgusting.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athasselabbey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lahinch Hostel
Lahinch Hostel
#3 of 7 in Lahinch
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Inn Hotel
Shamrock Inn Hotel
#10 of 17 in Lahinch
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Lodge

Address: West Coast Lodge Station Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lahinch
Price Range: $103 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
West Coast Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing