We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLACK MOULD”
Review of West Coast Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahinch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Coast Lodge
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Do not be fooled this is not a luxury lodge! There are no egyptian cotton sheets or down duvets. No beautiful patio to sip wine with a BBQ, There is a small outdoor disgusting smoking area the size of a closet which also is an entrance to a room filled with bunk beds that are filthy, there was dirty underwear, garbage and a nice big stack of quilts, we really hoped ours was not stored in there as the door to the room was open the entire night. Our room was dirty, the bathroom had so much mould on curtains and walls of the shower we were too scared to use it. There were also exposed nails in the tub! This is a hostel so don't be fooled. This place is for college students nothing else. We could not get out fast enough!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squishness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Will definetely go back, good atmosphere, clean, nice rooms, great help from the staff, great location, common facilities are spacious, great photos from the area all over the place, very nice pool and spa in a hotel right beside, breakfast ok, not too much to choose from, but nice stay in general.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabesagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Duncan is dead sound, and a great help. he knows the area and can give lots of advice! very accomodating to groups. Great Brekkie! a bit of a nuisance with the one bathroom per dorm, but i guess you dont visit lahinch for the bathrooms

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank AbacaSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had an absolutely brilliant time in west coast lodge. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Clean and spacious rooms with en suite and dry room for wetsuits. Great location would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shonag900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When I discovered we were only paying €20 per night for our dorm I wasn't expecting much from this place. Wow, I was wrong. The staff are really chilled and super friendly, they were perfectly happy to just have a chat with you. Breakfast was great, loads of choice! The kitchen was really well equipped and had all the condiments you could possibly need in the cupboard. There was a dry room for wetsuits, a washing line and board storage. The lodge itself is all of 20 metres from centra, the sea and the main street. The lounge upstairs has TV AND a wii AND a computer with free internet. It was by far the best value for money I think I have ever gotten. The staff really make the place though. Like a home away from home. I am already planning my next trip to Lahinch! I came in a mixed group of friends and as students it was absolutely ideal for us. I would also highly reccomend Bens Surf Clinic if you are going to Lahinch to surf. We had two instructors, Ben and Ritchie and they were both great! My surfing has really come on and now I feel absolutely addicted to surfing. Would just like to say thank you to all the guys who made our trip so good! We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahlck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just home from a 3 night stay in West Coast Lodge in Lahinch with my 6 year old daughter. Fantastic location and base for great days out. Friendly and helpful staff who couldnt do enough to assist you, checked opening times etc for local attractions.
The place was warm, clean and comfortable. Our room (11) included a double bed and single bed and a ample sized ensuite. The beds i have to say were comfortable and the quality of the bedding was hotel standard.
I will definitly return to stay with my daughter and have no hesitation in recommending it to my friends for value, location, cleanliness and wonderful staff.
Cant wait to plan our next trip to lahinch! missing the waves and beds already :) !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just back from Lahinch where my twelve year old grandson attended a surfing summer camp I was the only member of the family free to accompany him. What a brilliant week we had!. We could not have chosen a better place to stay than the lodge! Our room (No 2, recently redecorated?) was attractive, convenient, quite large for the two of us and spotless. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable.The bathroom not only had a power shower but a bath as well! Bliss! I have stayed in many B&B and guest houses in Ireland and abroad but i must say that the lodge was one of the best and excellent value for money. The continental breakfast laid out in a charming dining room simplified life and the practical and well equipped kitchen enabled me to give my surfer some home cooked food. He particularly enjoyed relaxing in the lounge with the playstation and the company of other young people. I was lucky to snatch one sunny evening on the roof terrace with a drink and my book The lodge is in a good location with everything within a short walk. The only problem might be parking but we were lucky throughout the week!.Unlike some reviewers I found the lodge very quiet ( no rowdy parties during our stay), very clean, very well organized and managed. The staff was most pleasant. Well done Duncan and your team! I am sure that, in time, even the outside showers for surfers will improve!! i would definitely stay again and will bring my husband... . Au revoir and all the best. Joelle and Conor.

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent for anyone wanting a double and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamker046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahinch hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shamrock Inn Hotel
Shamrock Inn Hotel
#10 of 17 in Lahinch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lahinch Hostel
Lahinch Hostel
#3 of 7 in Lahinch
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lehinch Lodge - Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Lodge

Address: West Coast Lodge Station Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lahinch
Price Range: $104 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
West Coast Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing