We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but food portions are poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place but food portions are poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited here in April 2013. We went here for food. Nice atmosphere old style. Food was pricey and the portions were poor. I thought that we did not get much considering how much it was costing. I can honestly say that we left this place feeling hungry. We were supposed to have a plate of chips with each meal but instead they gave us one plate of chips to share between us.
This seems to be the Norm in Co. Clare. Overpriced food and poor portions. The Staff were friendly though and the place was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
52
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here again in January. The hotel is very good and has nice friendly staff. There is very limited parking but there is a public car park near by. The food here is second to none as is the relaxing atmosphere with a great big fire. I would strongly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A large group of friends and I stayed in the Atlantic Hotel and Shamrock Inn last weekend (both are owned by the same owners). From the initial contact with the reservations team to when we checked out I could not speak highly enough of the hotel and more importantly the genuinely friendly and professional service we received from all the staff.

The rooms in the hotel are traditional rooms as other reviews have pointed out. And to be honest I had reservations regarding what they would be like given some reviews. However, I was wrong in thinking this would be the case. The rooms were very good, spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The group shared twin and triple rooms which were all very spacious in size to accommodate the numbers.

The breakfast on both mornings was lovely and was cooked fresh for each person. This is a huge bonus compared to the self-service breakfast you now see served in more and more hotels. As a group, some of us had dinner in the Atlantic Hotel the first night and all the group had dinner in the Shamrock Inn the second night and the food was excellent in both.

Everyone could not speak highly enough of all the staff we had contact with over the weekend. This really added to the overall experience of our weekend in Lahinch. Declan, Enda and all the team, thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_RMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came to dine. We asked a few people where to go for dinner. They said if you want a good steak, go here. It was cozy, sat right next to the fire and had a very leisurely dinner. A little pricey, but the atmosphere, flavor and portions were right on target.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Didn't stay there, just popped in for dinner. It was absolutely delicious. The staff were verry nice and made a great fuss of me and my friends.Portions are very big but the only problem was it was verry expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escapebadweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here last night on our trip around Ireland. The decor in the hotel is rich with old furnishings - has a feel of being in a stately old manor. The room we were in was spacious overlooking the main street although our friends were in a much smaller one which was cramped. The ensuites were well sized. The meals were superb with generous portions and the restaurant had a real homely feel about it - I liked it. It was a great place to stay, the only draw back - an a big one for me - was that the rooms absolutely reeked of smoke - cigarette smoke. It was bad enough to have me gag when I went into the room, and when I woke up. The bidding and sheets were clean - I think the smoke smell must have been in the carpet and walls.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

It was an average stay. We were there for two nights. It definitely needs a little update but i kind of loved having an actual key for our door, I cant remember the last time I've stayed at a place without a doorcard. The bed was uncomfortable. Being an older hotel, the soundproofing as you should expect is very much lacking. It felt like anybody walking by our room either above or just on the stairs was like a herd of elephants that constantly shook our lights. The staff is what really saved this stay, extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinandPhilyob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
2.1 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
7.1 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Hotel, part of Clare Coast Hotels group, is situated in the heart of the picturesque seaside village of Lahinch, along the Wild Atlantic Way. This family-owned and run hotel offers our guests a home away from home, with a traditional feel which is reflected throughout the hotel. Renowned for our excellent cuisine it is the ideal base for golfing in the Links Championship Course which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, touring the Cliffs of Moher, Burren, Ailwee Caves or just relaxing by our blue flag beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing