We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of VL Restaurant

VL Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $55
Cuisines: Irish, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: VL Restaurant is a fine dining restaurant at Vaughan Lodge Hotel. The Restaurant opens normally on Tuesday evening to Saturday Evening. Dinner only is served with a set menu and A La Carte selection. The emphasis is on classic french cuisine with a modern style and presentation. There are seafood and meat dishes and vegetarian options also. Booking is essential as numbers are limited each evening. Closed November to April
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Ate here in July for my wife's birthday whilst on holiday in Lahinch. Eight of us in all, three generations. All adults. Food and service were excellent, high quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank Allthatfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Nice words
Great people to have served
Please call again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This restaurant is 5star dining at reasonable prices. Food is excellent, staff are great. If you are in Lahinch and wish to have a quality meal, you must eat here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Great to have a far travelling Tourist endorsing our efforts
This is exactly what we work to achieve
It is good to read your words of praise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Engalnd
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Lehinch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We picked this restaurant as it was listed in a number of guides but we had been disappointed by other choices from the same guides so were cautious.
No need to worry. This restaurant is awesome. Lovely decor and ambiance, excellent service from well trained staff and wonderful food.
Three of us ate completely different choices and nobody was disappointed
Highly recommended to anyone looking for good food in nice surroundings.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Broughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thanks for the vote of confidence
We try to please a broad plate with our menu choice
We are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Got a seafood platter and a fish'n'chips to share between my girlfriend and I, and some white wine (can't remember which one though). The food was very pricey, but also super delicious, and very worth it - and the vibe and waitress was really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaelfromcopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Seafood Platter is not on our menu
This review was for Liscannor
Sounds like an old record playing now lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Top class restaurant. Large group with kids and everyone was completely satisfied and kids were very well treated. Food, Location and service all excellent. Will definitely return when back in Lahinch again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronnydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Family groups are always welcome
We like to cater for all generations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VL Restaurant also viewed

 
Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 

Been to VL Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing