We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

O'Looney's Bar and Waves Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Looneys Bar can be found on the Promenade at Lahinch With breath taking views over the Atlantic Ocean, It offers a sensitive synthesis between contemporary value in a unique way OLooneys Bar with its exciting menu is served on both its split levels which enjoys breathtaking views of the Sea. A relaxing modern environment, It maintains its authenticity of what made OLooneys famous originally; Surf, Seafood, and Stout, with a fresh modern twist; The menu retains old favourites of fish & chips and hearty chowder aswell as some exciting daily/evening specials Our Bar menu runs from 12.30 Daily to 9.30 ( Summer Season April-September ) and weekends for the winter
Andalucia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When we went into the restaurant, we thought it would be very expensive because it had a wonderful appearance and magnificient seaviews. We were really surprised because the dishes had a reasonable price (from 10 to 15 euros). Moreover, it was great to have a children's menú and a coeliac one as I am coeliac. The waitresses and waiters were really nive and the toilets were new, modern and clean.
We were totally satisfied with this restaurant and I would recommend it to everybody who goes to visit "The Cliffs of Moher" as it is very near and its beach worths a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliamaria00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    117
    45
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After the initial surprise at how wonderful the town of Lahinch was, we wandered around the beach front and shores and wandered into O'Looneys for a quick drink overlooking the beachfront.

Before long we decided to stay for dinner. I'm so glad that we did!

The service was first rate and particularly friendly. The service staff went out of their way to make sure everything was good for us. They spent lots of time chatting and answering our many questions about the area.

The menu was varied and enticing - lots of choice and it all sounded so good. The restaurant had a great atmosphere, buzzing with the sounds a of excited and happy customers.

Our food choices ended up being spot on, and with a few cleansing ales and some lovely wine, we had had the perfect dinner experience.

With a view to die for, I would highly suggest a visit to O'Looneys. If I am ever lucky enough to visit Lahinch again, it will be my fist stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Ace seafood chowder!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Five lads with five hangovers needed something decent to get us going again and this place was spot on, if not a bit expensive. I have seafood chowder with bacon pieces and it was a meal in itself. Fantastic though! Also got the seafood platter, and for the price I paid was disappointed. Basically a load of salad in the middle with scatterings of varieties of fish around.

The rest of the lads were happy with theirs. We ate upstairs which had fantastic views over Lahinch beach and the staff were grand. Service was quick and over all an enjoyable experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great location , shouldn't be serving food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff were lovely, very attentive. Location is fabulous , the starter was nice but both mains were overcooked, the lasagne top layer totally untouchable, we are reasonably easy customers so were very disappointed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flynners55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th Birthday wow”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Myself and my ladies had the most amazing evening at O Looneys recently..we had a 40th birthday celebration and it was truly amazing..the food was fabolous, the staff were so friendly and the hostess Lorraine could not do enough for us..it was all flawless..thank you so much O Looneys..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kissmegarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Looney's Bar and Waves Restaurant also viewed

Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 
Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 

Been to O'Looney's Bar and Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing