We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Dromoland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveler rating
491
454
264
95
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
454
264
95
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy golfgames roomgastro pubswimming poolmini golffamily roomkids clubfamily breakfamily friendly hotelfood was lovelybar foodleisure centretennis courtsgolf courseboth nightswould highly recommend this hoteltop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Inn at Dromoland was excellent for our family stay and we enjoyed tea in the Dromoland golf club house library as well as a walk around and inside Dromoland Castle. Also took day trips to The Cliffs of Moher and Doolin as well as Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanTullamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear AlanTullamore,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us & got to see the wonderful sights of Co.Clare.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Excellent weekend break had by all the family. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and could not find a fault with hotel. Food was absolutely gorgeous. Facilities great something for everyone. Breakfast was absolutely faultless

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms are excellent value
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnB12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear AnnB12014,

Dear AlanTullamore,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been bringing our younger children down to this hotel for over 18 years,just to explain we have 6 children and at one time or another they have all spent many a weekend at what was formally known as the clare inn.For the past 7/8 years this hotel has been in need of updating,and at long last the new owners have made a great start .First thing you will notice is the reception area is now nice and bright with the large seating area to the right hand side revamped with nice new furniture and lovely new paintings all around the walls (big improvement).The new bar/lounge has been transformed from an open planned large lounge area into a beautiful and well fitted out comfortable lounge with nice and comfortable furniture and lots of glass displays and a new amazing extra large fireplace,all in all a great transformation.They have also done a small revamp of the kids games room with some new machines and a new pool table or new covered one. The bedrooms have also been started to undergo some well needed changes i believe,our room on this visit was still one of the older types that have not yet begun any changes but I was told by one of the staff that the new owners are planning to continue the revamping off all rooms .When checking in there is an option of paying an extra €30 per night for the new type rooms.One of the nicest things about this hotel is the fact that almost all the staff that we have been dealing with over the last 18 years or so are still working there and are still doing a great job,and there also is a lot of new young staff newly arrived and also very helpful and polite,so well done to the new owners and keep up the good work to bring this great hotel up to the four star rating it could easily achieve.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that back out over the kitchen and delivery area,and they can be a bit noisy,especially when tour buses or delivery trucks arrive.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joehealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear joehealy,

Dear AnnB12014,

Dear AlanTullamore,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have noticed the work we have done to the hotel since your last stay with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent the Easter weekend here for a wedding at Dromoland castle. On arrival we were given a small double when a twin bedded room had been requested ( the rooms were booked back in September 2013) . Eventually a twin bedded room (206) was allocated this had not been properly serviced and we had to ask for soap (there was an empty broken soap dispenser on the wash basin and no other toiletries provided). The room itself was in need of repair and decorating . The ancient TV was impossible to watch. There was no folder of general information ( I was told that these were being gradually replaced) so had no idea who to contact if anything needed. Every time the pump kicked in the noise from outside sounded like metallic grating which went on at all times of day/ evening
As far as the food went breakfast was very good as was the Gastro Pub on our first evening. Prices for food and drink were reasonable.
The staff were friendly and tried to help if possible. I hope that the re-furbishment is completed soon as it is badly needed

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Rosemary64,

Dear AnnB12014,

Dear AlanTullamore,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at The Inn at Dromoland. We are due to carry out another phase of refurbishments on guest bedrooms commencing next January. We are in the process of putting information folders in to the bedrooms - which will hopefully be completed by the end of this week.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future where you can see first hand the further improvements we will be making.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The Inn at Dromoland is a little dated and the building isn't pretty (hence you don't see many clear pics on the website).
However, for somewhere that kids will enjoy it ticks a lot of the boxes they'll care about - rooms with lots of beds (1 double and 3 singles on ours), a pool, crazy golf, kids club, amusement arcade, tennis court and large grounds. The location is a good jumping off for seeing Clare or Limerick.
I didn't eat in the restaurant but had a snack in the pub which bills itself as a gastro pub. Given we didn't order much it would be hard to judge but the bit we had was tasty.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
Save the big money for a weekend away without the kids but I'd recommend this place for a decent family getaway that will keep the kids entertained.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Arthursbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Arthursbunch,

Dear AnnB12014,

Dear AlanTullamore,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews