We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here as we were guests at a wedding at the dromoland castle in the same grounds. Large room, ended upward with slightly bigger than a double bed and a single, although the single wasn't needed. Power shower. Bathroom clean. Breakfast was good and catered for both the ones who wanted full Irish breakfast and continental. Overall for the price we were happy with what we paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear GemmaC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Dromoland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We came upon the Inn at Dromoland by chance. Situated in a fabulous setting, looking across the green hills of Fergus, we were so happy to find the Inn, after scouring Ennis alternatives of mediocrity. We upgraded to the refurbished rooms, which were 5 Star. Even after paying the additional €30 for the upgraded rooms, we were amazed at the value for money. We had a fun evening meal in the bar area, and a first class breakfast was included in the rate.
Great place, and would recommend it to anyone. We will return!

Room Tip: Take one of the refurbished rooms, the additional €30 is well worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear GavinM,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent for families. We (4 adults & 2 children) stayed at the Inn during the month of Sept. and found the location and service very good. A great atmosphere and very helpful staff was a bonus. We have stayed there in the past and look forward to staying there again in 2014 on our annual holidays in Ireland.

Room Tip: Speak to Reception staff about preferences as rooms range from short walking distance to long walkin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFHCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear FFHCMC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a place to lay our heads at a family wedding. Only ok. Room we initially got was refurbished so we had to pay €30 extra a night for a refurbished room. Bar area dark dingey sticky yeuch. Then rest of the place is really for the weddings that are held there. Pool area dark and wet. Must be no drains as changing rooms freezing and wet floors. Also no hot water in showers after 10 it seemed even though we were in refurbed room. Smoking area run down. Awful kids play area with video games and arcade games very tacky. Refurbed room was very clean and nicely done just very small.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cremegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Cremegg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you were not overly happy with your stay with us and for this I apologise. We are in the process of refurbishment here at the hotel and this will take a period of time to get everything completed. We do have plans to start on the bar area next January. I am pleased that you did like our refurbished rooms during your stay.

I hope you will consider returning to the hotel once our refurbishment is completed.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed over the weekend (13Sept-16thSept) for our annual golf competition at Dromoland and could not fault any aspect of our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was just right except having 3 men sleeping in it! the breakfast was fantastic and due to a early tee time they opened ealy for us. We will be back in 2 Years time for our golf rematch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear MatthewB,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you all back in 2 years time for your next tournament!

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Family holiday, this hotel was Excellent for families, kids club, swimming pool, play inn at back of hotel, pitch n putt, tennis, nightly entertainment, we had a ball, children happy, we were happy. Food was great, both in bar and restaurant. Staff were brilliant, girls in reception could not be more helpful, really friendly. Room was a bit small for four, but we coped considering everything else on offer. Not far from limerick city, 20mins or less for the shopping!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAVINANNAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear AnnaLavin K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding at Dromoland Castle with our 18 month old. Our first experience was the bar food which was fairly standard unfortunately. The rooms are very clean and up to date, apart from the TV which had a selection of about 6 fuzzy stations! The wifi was very good. We didn't use the children's play area but did visit the pool which was terrible. The changing rooms are way outdated and the 'children's' area is basically a caged off area of the main pool. My daughter has a food allergy and the staff were very accommodating for that which made our stay much easier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear 58Lou,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you werent entirely happy with your stay when you were here with us and for this I do apologise. I am pleased to see that the staff assisted you well while you were here this is great to see. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and there is more work to be done over the coming months.

I hope you might consider returning when we have some more refurbishment completed.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
821 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,454 reviews
4.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
464 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,597 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $63 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing