We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value for family.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We spent 3 nights in the Inn at Dromolond in Co Clare in July.
The hotel was staff were very nice and friendly. The restaurant evening meal was very good and good choice for the children. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning too.
The rooms are very basic but clean. The mattress could be firmer as my husband & I rolled into the middle! Even though it seemed that the room was painted recently, it wasn't painted very well. I know its a small thing, but not using masking tape makes the room look shabby and gives a feeling of unprofessionalism!
The bar needs upgrading, but we didn't spend any time there so I cant say any further than that.
The facilities for the kids were enjoyable, the soft play are went down well with our two kids, aged 5 and 7. We all played tennis, crazy golf and had fun in the swimming pool. The boys played pitch and putt too. Great fun and best of all FREE!
The location is great for travelling around county Clare. There is so much to see and do that we didn't fit all in that we wanted.
The best attraction for value for money and enjoyment had to be Craiganowen castle and grounds. A fantastic place to visit.

Over all - this is a good hotel at a very reasonable price and very child friendly.

Room Tip: be warned, this is a sprawling hotel, so may have a bit of a walk to get to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lorraine L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland and for making it such a comprehensive review following your stay. It is great to see that you all enjoyed your stay with us,

I hope that you will consider returning to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    389
    230
    80
    55
See reviews for
590
237
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff are brilliant at this hotel and the food is nice. The rooms are terrible and the bar is on need of updating. The window in our room had a massive draught which is not ideal when you have an 8 week old baby with you. It was so bad We had to plug the window with newspaper on the first night because! When we mentioned it to reception they got a draught excluder on the window which improved it a bit but the draught was still there unfortunately.. I wouldn't return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenapowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Helenapowell,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am extremely disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay and I would be grateful if you could contact me by email on claire.coughlan@theinnatdromoland.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at end of July. It was very good value for money and the food and service were very good. The facilities for children are excellent. This is one of the most child friendly hotels we have stayed in.This hotel is a good base for touring Co. Clare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Orla B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a real family hotel catering for young kids and teenagers. Our family group of 9 adults and 9 children ranging in ages from 8 to 17 stayed here for 5 nights. For once the older kids had lots to do Swimming, tennis, crazy golf and a games room with air hockey and pool to keep them occupied. Just make sure they have plenty of €1 coins. The younger ones loved the Play Inn. It is a busy hotel full of life and extremely helpful staff. Charelle was excellent in recommending places to see and things to do and couldn't have been more helpful by pre-booking places for our large group. She gave us maps and detailed instructions on how to find our way around. She found us the best surfing and kayaking school where the kids had a great time learning to do both. Bedrooms could do with being updated but in general the hotel is clean and excellent value for money especially for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013VByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear 2013VByrne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about Cherelle; I will be sure to pass them on. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We bought a Groupon which included this hotel. I checked the web site before purchasing and was please to see what the rooms looked liked. The room we stayed in did not match the ones on the web site. It was dated and furniture was old. If they had shown both rooms on the web site, I would have opted for the better room. If you stay here ensure you get one of the updated rooms. I agree with others it was a noisy and very busy. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Michael J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have had a busy Summer but there are plans in place for further refurbishment which will hopefully impact on the standard of the bedrooms here at the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This property is undergoing refurbishment, according to a notice at reception, and newly refurbished rooms are available at a premium.

I find the logic of defaulting guests to a lesser-standard of accommodation unfortunate, but I'm sure the owners have their reasons.

The refurb is not before time; carpets are threadbare in places and the room was very basis, save, strangely, for a nice new bathroom suite.

The bar area was entirely full of families until 8pm, with children running around and playing, as kids do. Nothing at all wrong with this, but guests should be aware of this when booking.

The staff were friendly and happy to oblige, but I would wait until a uniform standard of quality had been achieved before considering returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eno25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Eno25,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland.There are plans in place for refurbishment work to recommence towards the end of this year. We do only have 25 bedrooms which have been refurbished at this stage & it is a work in progress to get all areas up to standard. I hope that when we have a bit more work done to the hotel that we will be in a position to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very disappointed to find ourselves at this place, which I would rank lower than an American Motel 6. Our room was smelly, small, with old furniture. The beds nearly touched the floor. It was over-crowded in the lobby and gathering places. Over-run with noisy families (yes, Ireland was on "holiday" so that has a lot to do with it) and hard to sleep because of the lumpy bed and noisy hall and people above us. The parking was very tight, there was no heating or cooling control or fan, there was no shampoo or other amenities. No clock. As bad as our first night was, the second night was worse because a big wedding had run of the hotel, along with other guests. It might be OK if you have kids or get one of the updated rooms. On the same property as a deluxe castle resort - I was definitely envious!

Room Tip: Get on the side with the "mountain views". We had a view of a utility parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyJ011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear NancyJ011,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am extremely disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have had a very busy Summer and I apologise that this was not made aware to you at the time of booking and it is predominantly a family hotel for these months.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and once again I do sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Property: The Inn at Dromoland
Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing