We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times with the family as a break away from home & my kids love the place… kids club… crazy golf … pitch & put as well as the leisure centre. Each time I've stayed I've found the staff to be excellent & customer driven.
There is also a makeover in parts of the hotel which is good to see but I think the bar could do with it as its starting to look a bit old! I will visit again… keep it up!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Decthered,

Dear AnnF,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have plans to do some refurbishment work to the bar towards the end of this year.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Dromoland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am just home after my 3rd visit to the Inn at Dromoland. I return there because of the excellent value for money and the friendliness of the staff and the wonderful hospitality offered to their guests. I was with my aunt who is now in her 85th year and she fell in love with the Inn also. Yes it is very family orientiated and they welcome children in a big way , but saying that they also have a full programme to amuse them. They do run around but is not that what kids do.

All the staff are trained to greet you but when you are in the dining room make sure you meet with Maureen she is a gem.

Hope to return again sometime on route to my annual visit to my home county of Kerry.

Enjoy your stay if you choose to go.

Jean O'Leary

Room Tip: Ground floor facing to the front. I requested ground floor this year and got it BUT it faced a cour...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear DublinAthlone,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night and were given one of the newly renovated rooms which was superb.
We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package for €100 for 2 on a Sunday night mid July which was a reasonable price, however, the evening meal was of very poor quality and mass produced hotel food. They had no choice of good wines and anything they had on offer (at €19.50 and €20.50 per bottle) could be bought abroad for €1.99 per bottle, dreadful stuff! I didn't visit the bar but my husband said that the service was ok and was a typical hotel bar and prices. The hotel seems to have had a "gloss over", new carpets here and there but holes in the floors underneath. If you have any walking problems - watch your step! This is really a family hotel and ideal for children but if you're looking for a nice relaxing break forget it. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and better than most hotels of a higher grade.
All in all, as I said, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beegeeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear beegeeireland,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to your comments about our wine list - we did think we didnt have a varied selection on our wine menu and as a result we have just launched a new menu on Monday with prices starting at €15.95

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Room - Very dated, furnishings at least 20 years old, TV is actually a 13 inch tube (should be in a museum). The accumulation of the toilet running, kids running around the halls and very audible voices until late in the evening ruined my wife's night sleep. At our request we were moved on the 2nd night to the 3rd floor. It was better, and at least quieter, but still not good. No ventilation, muggy.

Pub - we went down to listen to some Irish music and were pleased to hear two Irishman singing a Celtic tune. That did not last long, it was followed my Kenny Rogers "You got to know when to hold 'em" and then "Lean on Me".We left.

Staff - a real plus, friendly, helpful and patient. However as good as they are they cannot over come the rest

In summary ... Stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mark O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding the issues you had while you were here.

I would be grateful if you could contact me on claire.coughlan@theinnatdromoland.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel specifically for the children's activities, and we were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived there was something to keep our two aged 6 and 4 occupied, excellent indoor play centre, swimming pool (children's area pretty small), kids club (3 euro) which have a range of activities that change every day, face painting and balloon art in the evening followed by the magic show one night and pirate disco another night.
There is also a well equipped games room for the older kids, and a family room with fridge, microwave and ironing boards .
We had all our meals in the hotel and the food was excellent, well presented and no delays. We stayed midweek and there were plenty of staff on duty.
There can be queues for the buffet at breakfast time, same as any other very busy hotel, but for no more than a couple of minutes.

Yes some areas of the hotel look a bit tired and dated, and yes there are a lot of children staying at the hotel so it can be noisy.

If you are looking for a quiet weekend away this may not be the hotel for you.
If you are looking for 5star luxury this may not be the hotel for you.

If you are looking for a place with a big family room, where the kids have so much entertainment you don't have to leave the hotel grounds, helpful staff and food to suit everyone's taste,
then this might be the hotel for you.

We will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone with young kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariehurley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear mariehurley H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you posting such a concise and informative review.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay,only sorry our stay was short. Our room was newly refurbished, beautiful with a walk in shower. A big improvement ,from our previous vist ,when it was the Clare Inn.
Sunday lunch,was excellent with a great choice of Menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very satisfactory service at this hotel, very child friendly which was perfect for me travelling with 3 children under 4! Family kitchen was a great addition & proved very useful. One waiter,Izat,in particular was very good with the children & was more than accommodating when one of my children was sick as a result of the heat we experienced while travelling. I'll definitely be back again for a family holiday & would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Since travelling with young children we went with interconnecting bedrooms which proved to be great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear PJ T,

Dear AnnF,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff member Izat - it is lovely to hear feedback about our team.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
820 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,452 reviews
4.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
462 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,596 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $64 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing