We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Traveled to the Inn at Dromoland last weekend with a group of 43, the place was really great, food was Fab but the real thing that made our love the place was the staff. They were all so friendly and so accommodating to all our needs and smiles and laughter were the name of the game anywhere you looked. Olive on reception made us so welcome from the second we entered the Inn and the restaurant staff worked around our ever need. our group had special needs so this was not always easy but we never had to ask twice for anything nor were we made to feel we were any bother to anyone. the staff in the pool were great too. Some of the rooms have been upgraded since the change of ownership and these were so nice and homely. we will diffidently be going back here and I hope to go there with a few friends soon too as there was mighty music in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear recio,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

987 - 993 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just got back from a fabulous weekend in the Inn at Dromoland. The room was so bright and airy and beautiful view first thing in the morning. The restaurant staff were the friendliest i have ever met in a hotel and I really have to point out and name Marion who went beyond her call of duty. This is not the first time we have stayed here and wont be the last. There was a wedding on each day and they were really busy but had time for everyone. Have not one negative about this hotel or staff. Food was beautiful and a huge selection of food for breakfast. Will be back. Thanks again Marion

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank node45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear node45,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to read your review and to see you all had such a nice time. Thank you for your lovely comments especially about Maureen I will be sure to pass them all on.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you all back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here while attending a wedding at Dromoland castle. Its a clean warm hotel with excellent staff for whom nothing seems too much trouble. It was good value at around 80 pounds a night for a family room that would comfortably sleep 2 adults and 2 children.
Great location close to Shannon airport and with a lovely view over a beautiful landscape. Wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear PeteDorset,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

my family and i recently celebrated my grandmothers 90th birthday at the clare inn hotel.From start to finish the hotel was amazing and the manager Allen and his team could not have been more helpful. Allen gave our family a private restaurant with amazing views, a large selection to choose from on the menu .everyones needs were met from the oldest to the youngest.We found the hotel to be very clean, relaxing and friendly. we will be back........

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoifeennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear aoifeennis,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to the Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you all enjoyed your day with us. It was a pleasure to have you all here to celebrate such a lovely occasion. I hope that I will have the oppprtunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've stayed at the Clare Inn before some 3 years ago and wanted to see if there had been any remarkable improvements. Unfortunately, no! The reception and ground floor are in the process of a make-over but the rooms and the general condition of the hotel is quite disappointing. There is another name change but the hotel is still suffering. The bar staff are very good and the food available is satisfactory but top priced. Being long-term travellers, we use the internet extensively to forward book accommodation. This was NOT possible during our 3 day stay as the system was 'down' and there wasn't anyone who knew what to do. This is not satisfactory for a place that says it has internet WiFi. The best staff could offer was to use the reception computer, but not for long. We didn't use the swimming facilities but the smell of the pool chlorine was very noticeable.
Overall, a great location spoiled its tired and worm appearance. When the make-over is finished, it's hoped the hotel addresses its pricing structure to attract back guests. Previous management offered 'over 50s' special deals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shamrock-Estates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Shamrock-Estates,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at the Inn at Dromoland. We are in the process of carrying out refurbishment to the hotel and I am glad you saw the work we had done to our reception and lobby area.

I sincerely apologise for the issues that you encountered with the wi-fi throughout your stay. We were having problems with our provider which has now been rectified but you should have been informed of this during your stay.

We have also put some packages together for Over 55's and they are now up on our website.

I hope that you we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

spent a long weekend at this place 2 weeks ago, its been a while since we visited the hotel and while it has been updated a bit " paint, curtains and carpets " its basically the same dated place with a different name.
food has improved a bit but the menu the same as 2 years ago,
had to go looking for fresh towels each morning and had to buy milk and sugar and teabags in Ennis as none was available when we went looking for them.
The sign in the bar clearly says " no children after 8pm " but when I left the bar at 10.30pm there was 10-12 kids running riot around the bar and they continued this long after that up and down the corridors,
I rang down to reception to complain about the noise and was told that someone would look into it, they never did.
somebody needs to take this place by the scruff of the neck and make it work or next time it will close for good.

Room Tip: anywhere except at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kevmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear kevmal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am extremely disappointed to read your comments about your stay and I sincerely apologise. I will be speaking to the various heads of departments regarding your comments.

We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the work that we are doing to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Driving up to the grounds and entrance we thought the reservation we made online was worthwhile, but we were sorely mistaken. We were looking for something close to Shannon airport, but should have paid better attention to the reviews. The interior is quite old, service was mediocre at reception and in the pub. Room was acceptable but very outdated. We wouldn't consider staying here again unless it was dramatically revitalized and wouldn't have stayed here tonight either if the price wasn't so cheap (€60).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traceydee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear traceydee333,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to read your comments about the service at the bar and reception and I will be speaking to the relevant managers about this.

We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and I hope that you will consider returning to the hotel in the future and you can see the improvements to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,543 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,648 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,488 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $72 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing