We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay on our fist nite in Ireland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clare Inn is located near the Shannon Airport and was our first night stay in Ireland for our 7 day journey. Our stay was very pleasant. Our first impression was our check in and the thoughtfulness of the reception - she gave us our room at 8 am (after a red-eye in to Shannon) and she was more than concerned for our being well-fed and with directions for the day for our journey with lots of suggestions! Our trip was off to a great start from her friendliness. For that I give the Clare Inn an A!! Although the hotel was under some renovation - it was clean and spacious. Our room was more than satisfactory and when we requested anything - they responded immediately. The bar and tavern was spacious and service was great as well. We were late getting up the next day due to some jet lag and driving - but they held breakfast buffet open for us! The food was very good. I think under the new management of the prior owners (as I heard) it will be brought back to more current and up to date accommodations. I would stay here again. It is centrally located and an excellent gateway to travel to Galway, Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty Castle and Limerick. A great start if you are flying into Shannon! The local scenery is beautiful and was a good place to get our start of driving the local roads!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear PilgrimBelle,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel should you return to Ireland in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very comfortable and relaxing hotel with great views and wonderful staff. Its location makes it handy for the Airport and there is a great motorway into Limerick or Ennis. Lovely walks through Dromoland grounds.

Room Tip: one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neontube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear neontube,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The M18 runs straight past the hotel. Stay on it and go to Galway if u know what's best. Rooms cold and decor terrible, also painted paper covering walls was bubbling due to the poor condition and mold growing underneath. Old windows in rooms let cold air in causing rooms to be cold & radiators so old they haven't the power to keep room even luke warm. Swimming pool in need of update and smell coming from sauna and jacuzzi. Hotel food good though bar area very cold as was the rooms. Kids club poor but Dennis Den good but cold. Overall hotel owners should either close place down and refurbish to a good standard or close place down. No hotel should be left in a 1970's state. Sorry to be honest but that is what TripAdviser is all about.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Dobger24,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would be grateful if you contacted my on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel needs upgrading, rooms of poor quality, beds not comfy, carpets need cleaning and windows need renewing as the wind blowing through them makes the room cold. Heating cannot deal with cold as very old. Kids club adequate at best though Dennis's Den is good but cold. All in all hotel is poor but simple menus did produce nice food. Wouldn't go back sorry

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Dobger24,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would be grateful if you contacted my on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Welcoming, and helpful staff, do not quite compensate for the need for this hotel to undergo a total makeover. Signs posted around the hotel promise refurbishment is underway but the evidence is weak. At the moment the hotel is the sort that bolts the liquid soap dispensers to the walls - nicely out of reach if you are having a bath.
We had the misfortune to stay over a weekend when the place was overrun with fake tanned and sequined children who were there for an Irish dancing competition which their mothers no doubt hoped would lead them to starring roles in a sequel to Riverdance.
This slightly starred hotel shares a geographic space with the many-starred Dromoland Castle hotel. Moving from one hotel to the other is like stepping through the looking glass and into a magic kingdom where all is stately and serene and waves of children are not blocking the hallways while doing limbering-up exercises.
If you decide to stay at the Clare Inn be sure to find out in advance if any competitions will be sharing the hotel with you. If the national indoor plowing championships are scheduled for the lobby it might be best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear MichelDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I apologise for the stay you encountered with us due to a feis in the hotel and we do endeavor for these events not to affect our guests so I apologise that this was not the case.

There have been 4 bedrooms refurbished and refurbishment of other areas in the hotel will begin in the New Year. I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future once refurbishment has been completed

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night after a wedding in Dromoland Castle.The shuttle bus between this hotel and Dromoland was very convenient and the staff at reception were friendly. Overall our stay was fine as it only involved a few hours in the hotel but it is definitely not a hotel I would rush back to for a weekend break. My impression of the hotel is that maybe 10 years ago it was a fantastic hotel, particularly for families but it has been let fall into serious disrepair. I did see signs to say there were renovations in progress but they are obviously at a very early stage. Rooms were a good size but very worn with stains on the carpets and very dated furniture. You could hear any noise from the corridor very clearly. The hotel itself is not the most inviting and it felt very bare, almost like it was an abandoned building. Breakfast was very poor, particularly when the menu makes it out to be so good. The full Irish is buffet style and I took one look at it and decided cereal was the best option. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing getaway,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear ClaireL,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would be grateful if you contacted my on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

just spent 2 nights in clare inn with wife 3 kids .was here 12 years ago with one child and things have not changed since then .I can understand that thing are bad but money should have been put into hotel when things were good. Room was fine good size .found the bed to be a bid hard on the back but most hotels beds are like that .heating came on in evening and room was a bit stuffy at night.Staff were nice and service was good .Did not have dinner but food looked fine.breakfast was okay food was a bit dry so get down early to get fresh food .saying all that you get what you pay for .good place to stay if you are sight seeing in area as the moterway is right on your doorstep.Dont know if i would go back as there are loads of other hotels in area but it is cheap and is child frendly so maybe???

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STINGERWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear STINGERwicklow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently been taken over by a new company so there is plans for refurbishment in the guest bedrooms, public areas and restaurant. I hope this might make you consider returning to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,523 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
831 reviews
4.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,647 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing