We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-End Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed in Clare Inn at the beginning of April '12. Nice hotel, with friendly staff although the night we stayed there was a row in a room nearby which went on until 5.30am which should have been dealt with by night staff. Nice food in restaurant although Saturday night entertainment not the greatest in the bar. The hotel is mid way between Ennis and Dromoland Castle. Theres no better way to spend a sunny Sunday Afternoon than sitting outside Dirty Nellys pub people watchin. Dont bother going to Shannon as there's nothing in it....

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear BrendanCarlow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the disturbance in the room next to you and I have passed this on to our night team to ensure future incidents are dealt with.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

just back home from clare inn great weekend thanks to all the lovely staff , nothing was too much trouble even though it was very busy, food lovely and drink very reasonable priced ,children were well entertained so we adults could really relax will return in near future thanks again to all the wonderful staff imelda room 345

Room Tip: less noise on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KildareAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear KildareAlex,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

just returned from paddys w/end in THE CLARE INN and have to say it is the best family friendly hotel i have ever stayed in , in ireland . The staff are extremely helpful and always happy to help , the rooms are spotlessly clean and the food and service was superb there was endless things for the kids to do tennis, playground , bouncy castle, crazy golf ,adventure den, face painting arts & crafts and even a show on the Sunday evening as well as the hotel swimming pool the kids were always able to do something different and a atari games room with pool table, air hockie and lots of games. the children were never short of something to do and if you go round the back of the hotel there is an walkway entrance into the grounds of Dromoland castle were we all had a lovely walk to the castle and enjoyed the grounds were we seen eagles , rabbits and lots more wildlife. A must stay for any family looking to take the kids somewhere nice that wont break the BANK ...WE WILL DEFO BE BACK

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dela10Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear dela10Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to my colleagues.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here early March with hubbie & four year old son. Room had a double and 3 single beds. Had dinner and breakfast in hotel - both fine. Hotel very busy. Girl in Kids Club very friendly - but they could do with some new toys! The pool is tiny!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear IrishA,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Thank you for your commetn relating to the kids club we will hopefully have new toys and equipment in the coming months.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here with family members and friends, it was a relaxing stay made special by the helpful staff. Good location easy access, decor could be given a facelift otherwise no complaints. The food and entertainment were first class.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less noise from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Louise G,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and entertainment I will ensure to pass them on to the relevant departments.

I hope we will see you back at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Easy to locate - being just off the main road, but far enough away not to be troubled by traffic noise. Set on a hill, the hotel has an imposing presence, but once through the glass fronted lobby, the atmosphere was instantly welcoming. Spacious but not scary. Our room was on the second floor - which I think was the top floor. Big room with great views. Neither spanking new nor creakingly old, everything was clean and well decorated. Corridors were long, and although there were signs - I'm sure If I was a child, I couldn't resist running.... The place was quite family orientated - it had a dedicated 'games room' as well as a kitchenette somewhere for very basic self catering. As a couple taking a break in February, we spent much of the evening in the leisure centre - pool, steam, sauna and spa bath - and a plunge pool, which you don't see very often.. We had dinner after, and everything was delicious yet served in a very homely manner. There was a great choice for breakfast the next morning and again, nothing seemed too much trouble for the capable staff. In fact my one and only complaint was that the bath plug didn't fit properly! I would recommend the Clare Inn - particularly for families.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresamullingar099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear teresamullingar099

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments I will ensure that they are passed on to the relevant departments.

I have noted your comment about the bath plug and I have spoken to our accommodation manager to ensure that this issue is rectified.

I hope we will see you back at the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards.
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about 5 times in the last six months. While it is not the closest hotel to the airport (about a 10-15 minute drive), it is in an incredibly quiet location off the highway—and the price for the room cannot be beat—you won’t find any other hotel that is less expensive. The rooms are nice and clean. The food in the bar is average, but the service has always been very good. There is a great leisure center too—so bring your swimsuit. The reception has always been welcoming. The only thing I would caution you about is this: if you are traveling as a couple in the summer months, and are looking for a romantic and quiet stay--I would be leery about staying here. The few times I was in during the summer, the place was overrun with kids everywhere--including in the bar, in the hallways, and there was little parental supervision. This was the only downside. However, when school is in session, the hotel has been much more quiet and enjoyable.

Room Tip: This is a HUGE hotel...so if you don't want to walk far to get to your room, I would ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear greyhoundymom,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have also noted your comments about the hotel in times of school holidays etc and it does tend to be that bit busier when the kids are off school. However please dont let that deter you from coming to the hotel during these months we do have rooms on the 3rd floor we try to reserve for our couples and business guests and ensure we can give you a nice quiet room.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,523 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
831 reviews
4.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,647 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing