We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of things to sort out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Certificate of Excellence
Ballon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of things to sort out”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel is fine but needs to do some work on its appearance and cleanness.We found mould in the bathroom, Doors hanging off the lockers in the swimming pool,a large amount of sand in the pool and juccuzi. heating on in the rooms in the summer and lights having to be on in the room to get the power sockets to work.The kids club needs to work on events for kids because if it wasnt for captain jacks show (Which is brilliant) the staff did not know what to do with the kids.But i will say the food is fabulous and staff are very helpful.If they sort out a few minor problems its great place to stay

Room Tip: email for a deal.its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear spicey73,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay in the Clare Inn Hotel.

I have noted the issues you have raised in your review and I will speak to the relevant department heads relating to your issues,

I hope that these issues wont turn you off coming back to the hotel in the future, if you would be interested in returning please contact me directly on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    381
    220
    78
    55
See reviews for
571
233
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

On arrival the poor quality and colour of the carpet in the reception area is striking. The hygiene standards I encountered in the toilets in the main reception area was indeed shocking. The bedroom was very basic and the hygiene standard on the en suite bathroom left a lot to be desired. The knife provided for my breakfast wasn't fully clean and I had to ask for a clean replacement. The staff were accommodating and friendly and was the only saving grace to my short stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear LiamS_11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel.
I am disappointed to see that you didnt enjoy your stay with us on your recent visit. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding the issues you raised in your review If you would like to contact me you can email me on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Rooms in serious need of updating. Shower only had hot water no cold. No table service in bar after 2hours bottles still sittin on table.
In a word 'DONT'

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtAy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear AtAy34,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am thoroughly disappointed to see that the standard and service you received is not typical of the product we aim to offer here at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would appreciate if you could contact me on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night break in the Clare Inn. Booked before reading other reviews so slightly worried when reading the experiences of others. Our expectations were not high but on the whole it was fine and not deserving of some of the more irate reviews on here. Our daughter had a great time with lots for her to do. Any issues that we had were more the fault of other guests than of the staff, dirty nappies left in swimming pool changing area, noise on the corridors and out of control children in the kids club and playground(1 child throwing stones up the slide when others were trying to come down). The only problems we encountered were the condition of the swimming pool changing area and the fact that the water does not drain away from the shower in the room so the water was covering my ankles after a 5 minute shower. All in all the room was as can be expected of a hotel at this price, the food was nice and the staff were friendly polite and anything we asked for was provided with a smile.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels as the ones provided are a bit small to be used after swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groverjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear groverjet,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that for the most part you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for pointing out about the water in the bathroom I will pass this on to maintenance,

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We are just back from 3 nights in The Clare Inn, we travelled with teenagers and had a great time. The Hotel really caters for kids, tennis, crazy golf ,pitch and put, a very busy kids club and a pool. Food in the restaurant was great , plenty of choice and good value for money.Yes the hotel could do with refurbishment but this wasnt a priority with us, we felt that the friendly service and the fact that our kids were occupied and happy was much more important.Clare is a great location with lots to see and do , great beaches and interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear martinaobrien,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the kids had a good time. It is also lovely to see that you got a chance to explore the lovely sights there are to see in Co.Clare/

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

we are just back from a 5 night stay in the clare inn. i was really worried before we arrived as there are so many bad reviews on here. i emailed claire coughlan beforehand to tell her i was worried about booking in especially with such bad reviews. claire was extremely helpful.from the point of our arrival to the time of our departure we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, especially Liz in reception and Rizat in the restaurant. we needed a fridge in our room to store medicine and we got it. without any problem. anything we asked for, we got
hotel decor does need re-doing, but we would not count decor high on our list of priorities. our priorities were that the hotel would be clean and most of all, child friendly....and it scored highly on both fronts.
our kids did not go to the kids club but made great use of the outdoor play area and dennis den playcentre. the swimming pool met our needs too.my kids are quite nervous of water and we found the small children's pool fantastic
found the food in the hotel excellent. huge amount of food for breakfast every morning. evening meals were fantastic.
we really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely go back next year

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammyto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear mammyto3,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us after your initial concerns. It is very heartening to read comments like yours that I can then in turn show the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the clare inn hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed here on a 2 night family break over the bank holiday weekend. We were not impressed at all. The hotel itself was dated and the rooms and bathroom were very small. Service in the restaurant was disgraceful food thrown at us it was like they wanted us in and out as quick as possible. Food was average. No atmosphere in the bar. Kids hated the kids club - it is run by teenagers who have no interest in kids whatsover. They take no responsibility for them as in you dont sign them in or out but they can come and go as they please so the kids can just wander off by themselves. I even heard kids being shouted at by girls who run the kids club which is no way to deal with children. Pool wasn't great either very small and the changing rooms weren't in a great condition. Very noisy at night can hear kids crying in the next room in the middle of the night. Overall I was very disappointed and will tell all my friends not to waste their money as there are far nicer hotels for similar price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear LucyB82,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel.
I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay and I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you directly regarding your stay. I would appreciate if you could contact me on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,216 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
400 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,535 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Property: The Inn at Dromoland
Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing