We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dexter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Dromoland Castle proved to be the highlight of our accommodations while visiting Ireland. We booked through the recommendation of a travel agent and reserved the cheapest room. Upon our arrival we were offered an upgrade to a stateroom for an additional 25 euros per person - we accepted the offer. It was well worth it. We enjoyed afternoon high tea in one of the rooms adjacent to the bar in front of a roaring fireplace and dinner in the hotel restaurant. Although the tea and meal was a bit pricey it was presented and served in an excellent fashion and well worth the experience. I would consider Dromoland Castle as a destination vacation by itself.

  • Liked — Customer service
  • Disliked — The number of steps for a person with weak knees.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 978David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,542
    363
    144
    63
    39
See reviews for
891
1,557
43
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Dromoland Castle is a very memorable hotel in spite of not being the type of "castle" experience I was expecting.

The scene is set on a grand scale when arriving through the gates to a very grand lawn sweeping down to the castle before you.

Beautiful grounds (make sure you don't miss the "secret garden" and the Italianate Garden). The grounds also have some beautiful follies and if you explore the woods behind the hotel properly there are some beautiful ancient cedar trees.

If you are expecting an ancient castle then you might be disappointed. It is more of a Victorian/Georgina faux castle/affectation with a few "medieval touches".

The staff could have been a little friendlier but declining standards on this particular facet seem to be in evidence across all hotels in Ireland. I think this will change as the Celtic Tiger increasingly becomes more of a limp kitten.

Rooms were good but not great and the food was of a high standard. I would definitely go back again despite it being on the pricey side.

It definitely is the stronghold of Irish-americans on the heritage trail.

  • Liked — Exploring the grounds
  • Disliked — Snooty staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britinnyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

A warning to all who plan to stay here. We pulled in to Dromoland late at night with a confirmation booked by a travel agent and confrimed by a credit card and we had the paperwork with us showing 250/night for two nights. The "manager" on duty told us he was not aware of our two children( even though our paperwork clearly showed 4 people) and he planned to charge us an additional 75/night and then had the gall to tell us that was a deal. After a 30 minute argument we decided to leave even though he stated we would be charged the 250. We left about 8:30pm to find our way in the dark to the nearest town and hotel. This manager then called my cell about 10:00pm (after we had already checked into another hotel) and told us he would honor our confirmation. Unbelievable! What an awful experience after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank pearlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed at Dromoland Castle in September 2008. Our friends got married there. The whole place is really beautiful, well presented, staff friendly, rooms comfortable, food fantastic (greak breakfast). Couldn't fault it and would happily stay there again......

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johngalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at Dromoland Castle for one night in the middle of our 7 night self-drive tour of Ireland and it was wonderful. We arrived early afternoon and had a smooth check in. The room wasn't exactly what we imagined (not as "medieval" or old fashioned) but it was lovely. The room and ensuite were huge with lovely facilties and amenities.

We were there early enough to enjoy the lovely weather we were lucky enough to have and spent a couple of hours just wandering around. We sat in the bar and had a snack in the early afternoon, then as the sun started to set, sat outside on the patio having an Irish coffee. The setting was lovely and staff were very attentive and pleasant. We then had dinner at the Golf Club which was very nice. We didn't really have the time on this trip for a round of golf, but the course was immaculate and seemed like a challenge.

This was part of a pre-arranged tour, so we're not too sure what the cost of staying at Dromoland was, but as far as we were concerned, we couldn't go to Ireland without spending at least one night in a Castle - regardless of the cost! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and found everything to be of a very high quality and standard. We would definitely recommend staying at Dromoland Castle.

  • Liked — Staying in a centuries-old castle!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

What a fabulous stay we had at Dromoland Castle. My husband had business the first week we were in Ireland, and when he completed his work we stayed on a few extra nights for a pleasure trip. I knew this was a wonderful hotel from the website and all the comments here on trip advisor, plus the Ireland guidebooks I consulted, but I am pleased to say that the entire experience is so much better in person!

Service was amazing, the food in all the restaurants of the highest quality, even the tea we had each afternoon in the gallery was delightful (it wasn't their formal Mrs. White's afternoon tea, because we were always out sightseeing around that time each afternoon, we would just simply go to the gallery and order tea for two whenever we felt the urge!). The atmosphere inside the castle and the surrounding grounds is simply magnificent.

We had a king bed room in a tower! We had to climb narrow winding spiral stairs to reach the room (it was worth it) and my husband and I decided that it is our favorite of all the hotel rooms we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many.

I hope we have the opportunity to go to Ireland again and have the pleasure of spending a few days at this unbelievable hotel again.

  • Liked — castle atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing--- well, having to leave it
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed here for two nights, You need to stay for at least two nights to really get to enjoy your stay here. There's so much to do and see, allow time to stay on the property and enjoy it if you're going to stay here. We ate like kings, walked in their walled garden, walked the trails, used the internet, enjoyed our plush room and incredible bath and shower. Enjoyed the whirlpool bath at the spa, and also enjoyed the pool at the golf center. A few small problems : they open all the windows and doors to get fresh air in, and they don't have any screens so there were a lot of mosquitos flying around inside. I guess that just bothers Americans, I don't know. Also, the facilities at the golf center, for the pool, sauna, and steam room, were awkward to use, badly planned out and not worth the trouble. The pool was nice, but they keep it a little cold. This is nitpicking though, because we really had a blast. The breakfast was amazing, you don't need to eat lunch at all. The service was very good as well. BUT we did spend almost 2 thousand dollars in two days. For a honeymoon, it was worth it.

  • Liked — shower and bath, comfort of room
  • Disliked — mosquitos (and don't get your laundry done there, way too expensive)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eveningout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing