We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, luxurious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Adare, Co Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, luxurious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just back from an amazing overnight in Dromoland Castle. We had 2 adjoining rooms with 2 queen size beds for the girls in their room & a huge massive bed for us in ours. Rooms were very comfortable & plush. Bathrooms had separate shower & bath.
Went for a fantastic walk with terrific fresh air & amazing scenery. Used the pool, steam room, jacuzzi & sauna - all were renovated and very clean.
Everyone we dealt with was very helpful & pleasant. For the kids their highlight was the cookies with their names written on them in chocolate + the milk brought to their room by a waiter. They just loved that!
We all can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adare31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Adare31

We we all delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Dromoland Castle and had time to enjoy some of the Estate activities.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - Dromoland Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    357
    139
    62
    39
See reviews for
873
1,502
42
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Recently had a short stay here on a business trip. This hotel is magnificent!! The grounds are breathtaking, and the accomodations are well beyond incredible. Make sure to chat with a staff member about their ghost experiences- most of them have had one! I had the opportunity to see some of the suites in this castle- and can I just say WOW!!!! This is a true 5 star ultra luxury hotel. I would HIGHLY recommend that anyone traveling to Ireland at least stay here for a night or two- it is well worth it!!

Room Tip: Their standard rooms are beautiful, but if you can afford to do one of the suites- they will take yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mexicoma

Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated, I will be sure to share with all the team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to visit soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family of five - two adults - two teenagers and one child recently visited Dromoland during the Thanksgiving break. We were there for three days and once parked - we never left the facility. In all things - superb. The food was great - we ate in the fine dining restaurant and in the lounge outside the cocktail bar exclusively. The service was impeccable. The cocktail lounge was one of my favorite parts of the facility - the cocktail servers and managers all made us very comfortable and really went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We wandered all over the grounds - exploring the forest and all the trails along the golf course. For a really special treat - book the falconry lesson - what an incredible thing to do - the Harris Hawk and Peregrine Falcon really made the trip special. Fishing was fun, row boats very cool, but the grounds are just awesome.
Lastly, we had a couple of speed bumps during our stay - one with dinner - one with scheduling, and i have never seen such a recovery. They worked so hard to make things right - i felt bad for even letting them know i had a problem.
I would absolutely recommend this for families, couples, or someone wanting a little relaxation in a beautiful setting with friendly people and excellent service. Oh - and the castle is pretty cool as well.

Room Tip: Get the family room - its huge and have a great view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjacks28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Pjacks28

We were delighted to read your recent posting and that you had such an enjoyable time with us, experiencing so many of the estate activities and dining options on offer.

Thank you for bringing the two 'speed bumps' to our attention so that we were able to make it right for you, that's what it is all about for us, to ensure you complete enjoyment while staying with us.

Thank you for your very generous recommendation and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Just driving up and seeing this had my jaw dropped. From the moment my cousin & I arrived we were warmly welcomed and assisted in every way possible. GO STAY HERE. The hospitality and history will make you fall in love. I loved that they have a giant chess board outside! The room was cozy and clean. The scenery is beautiful!! I WILL be staying there again!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mymyskinnylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear mymyskinnylove

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and of course delighted that you will return to visit us again.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you have never stayed in a Castle in Ireland you must stay here. Wonderful service ,large stately bedrooms. Golf, fishing, row boats on thier private lake , Archery,Falconery, walking trail, and much more.I was here off season the food was terrific and my views from our room included the lake ,deer ,swans , ducks, and fox. Just down the road where horse farms, sheep and cattle farms. Coming home to a Castle after a long day of sight seeing with a roaring fire on a chilly evening is the way to enjoy the West Coast of Ireland. Also there was an Irish singer in the bar after 9pm. Can not wait to return., Maybe I will have time for the Spa and Pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sos5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear sos5292

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed so many of the onsite estate activities. We too look foward to welcoming you back soon!

With very best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just spent two fabulous nights at the magnificent Dromoland Castle Hotel (Newmarket-on Fergus, Ireland.) It was perfect. We had a fantastic suite (No. 402) in the tower (original part of the castle); with stunning views across the lake and to the forest - the autumn colours were outstanding and provided for many photo opportunities. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable - beautifully appointed and serviced. We had a lovely dinner in the Earl of Thomond Restaurant one night - 5 courses (excellent menu choices); all beautifully prepared and presented. There's a huge varied wine list; but recommendations from the resident sommelier were also very much appreciated. Breakfast in the same restaurant was great - an excellent buffet and hot meals prepared to your liking. Dinner in the Gallery Bar was also great on the other evening (again, excellent menu choices). The service in both restaurants and throughout the entire Castle was exceptional. We roamed around the beautiful grounds, tried our hands at archery (thanks Pat; great fun) and checked out the Fig Tree restaurant at the Club House for afternoon tea - fresh, warm Irish scones always go down well; especially on a chilly November day! In winter the Castle shop only opens on the weekend - but, as we were there on a weekday; the staff were very happy to open it especially for us - that was so nice of them! The whole 2 days were perfect - from the warm welcome to the check-in; to the suite; to the meals; to the afternoon tea; to the service; to the spa; to the archery; to the farewell - they really made our special day even more special. We chose Dromoland as we found their website easy to navigate and make a booking - we would definitely stay there again; big thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Suggest any room/suite would be great - but being in the original castle in a tower suite was sensat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussiesLuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear AussiesLuvToTravel

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely positive reivew and delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for great recommendation and we look foward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan & All The Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just spent a 3 night break at Dromoland with my husband and we had a wonderful experience, From the moment that the cheery porter opened the door to take our luggage to the attentive reception staff on departure we felt extremely well looked after by each and every staff member we encountered. The food was fantastic and we sampled dinner in main dining room, food in the Gallery area including afternoon tea, sandwiches and French coffee.....not all in the same day!. The hotel was extremely busy for the time we were there but this didn't detract from the level of service and the staff just coped with an air of total control and extreme friendliness. We had lovely walks in the grounds and even got to pick up a Christmas purchase or two in the Dromoland shop - highly recommend a visit and would love to go back but would love to experience staying in one of the older original rooms in the castle. Our bedroom was lovely and bathroom was a great size with big bath and powerful shower. Only gripe I'd have is room had two double beds and for a couple staying would have been much more comfortable to have one bed and a king size as found double bed too small for 2. Only real disappointment was I was expecting blazing fires to abound but there was only a couple of very small fires and I found the seated hallway area (outside dining room) and gallery area (for food) very cold and couldn't get heat into me but other than that a great stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: If a couple ask for room with one large bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Dubjessie

Thank you for your lovely review which I will be sure to share with all the team here. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will indeed welcome you back to visit us again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing