We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax and recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were impressed with the service and attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful as are the gardens. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We certainly would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear MNarayan,we are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much at Dromoland,come back soon!,your sincerly,Mark Nolan GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,774 - 2,780 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Dromoland Castle is a beautiful property with a great staff. Our room was spacious and well-appointed, although we were surprised to find contemporary and dull furniture that seemed so in contrast with the period and theme of the hotel. That said, it had all of the five star features (except separate tub and shower) and was in perfect condition, and we had a very restful and comfortable stay.

The common areas of the hotel were beautiful, as were the extensive grounds. We very much enjoyed the cocktail bar, fine dining restaurant, and club restaurant, as we found good food and great service in each of them. We also enjoyed the spa, where the team was incredibly friendly and accommodating. In fact, we could not have had a better experience with any of the hotel staff.

We found the bustle of this hotel (including events, large groups, etc.) to be a bit in contrast with the more peaceful atmosphere at other hotels we visited in Ireland, but we understand why this would be, as the hotel is a working country club and an understandably popular event venue. The staff, however, did a terrific job at keeping up with everything, always exhibiting humor, friendliness, and grace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyjoeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear CurlyjoeNJmany thanks for your kind comments on your review of the Castle.Certainly the hotel indeed ireland is enjoying a very busy period in the tourism industry but was delighted that our team consistently delivered during this busy period.I hope to welcome you back soon to Dromoland and thanks again for your comments,they are appreciated,Mark Nolan GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. The grounds were lovely. You can use the rowboats and fishing gear for free. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. The baths were modern and lovely. There's no AC but in August we were comfortable with the windows open. The desk staff is friendly. We found the restaurant staff to be unfriendly and pretentious. The breakfast could have been better. All in all though this is a bucket list kind of place. Note that although there is a pool, you have to walk over to the golf club to use it (which we did not). There is a lovely walled garden to enjoy behind the golf club. There are additional fee activities like archery and falconry if you're interested.

Room Tip: Ask what your room has a view of. Ours had a view of the lake which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear BretteS
We are very pleased you gave us a five star rating after your recent stay, however some of the comments are a cause of concern for the team. I read out your comments to our team this morning in an effort to learn from your feedback. I would welcome your further feedback off line if you so wish, I am contactable at mark.nolan@dromoland.ie

Yours sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Dromoland Castle the last night of our tour of Ireland. The grounds are impeccably maintained and the service is top notch from the moment you arrive and they take your bags until the time you leave. My husband became ill while we were there and the lovely lady at the front desk even tracked down some Immodium from one of the other staff members to give us which was a great help. There are many things to do including walking trails and visiting the beautiful gardens. The rooms are quite spacious and they stock the bathroom with high quality Aspry toiletries. We had afternoon tea which consisted of finger sandwiches, scones,pastries and tea and it was delightful. We also ate in the Fig Tree Restaurant which is their less formal restaurant and the food there was excellent also. I had a goat cheese salad which was one of the most delicious I had ever tasted. Unfortunately our flight the next day was early and we did not have a chance to eat breakfast, which likely would have been excellent. I would highly recommend Dromoland-just be sure you allow enough time to fully enjoy your time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Marian518

Thank you very much for the wonderful review which I have shared with the team here. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon

Best wishes

Mark Nolan and All at Dromoland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Dromoland Castle is place from a fairy tale. Great activities, beautiful setting, and a terrific location. We all came not knowing anything about this castle and would return again and again. This is a place you must stay in, good food, good times and just a great place. Something to really see.

Room Tip: A great place. Near the bunratty castle and folk park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Jeff Z

We are thrilled with your comments and delighted to hear you would return again and again! Please make that sooner rather than later and tell all your friends!

Best wishes

Mark Nolan and All at Dromoland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We did not stay at Dromoland Castle but we did drive down for the Hawk Walk with Dave. I watched Passport to Europe on the Travel Channel and The Castle was featured as well as the Hawk Walk with Dave. We made an apt and meet Dave and Bruce the Hawk. We strolled the grounds with the unlikely pair and had the most amazing afternoon. Dave is a wealth of knowledge and knows a ton of history about the Castle and the hawks, falcons, and owls.

It cost about 60 Euros each. We are an adventurous couple and I was blown out of the water with what a delight the Hawk walk was! Highly recommend.

We also had lunch in the club house and it was delicious. The waitress was kind enough to tell us all about the Irish Football that was on at the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Jen R

Dave and Bruce were delighted to read your comments. We hope the next time you visit you will stay with us to experince the many other attributes of the hotel.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This beautifully renovated castle in County Clare sits on a beautiful golf course and has a friendly and accommodating staff. However, there is a new wing to the castle which is done beautifully but looks not at the beautiful ground but rather at the car park. I am afraid a number of the rooms share this unattractive and noisy view. In addition, our room was noisy due to perhaps newer construction. Otherwise the public rooms are fun and present a lot of the castle's history. My husband played the course with a local Irish woman and had a delightful morning. We ate dinner in the main dining room which serves a traditional menu and also boasts a friendly and professional staff.
Our second evening we had dinner in the clubhouse which was casual and terrific but the dining room was closed to guests due to a private party. Apparently this property gets a lot of groups, the facilities are reserved by these groups and the other guests to do not have access to them. I would check this out before I booked a reservation.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view and do not look at the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillSL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear JillSL212

I am sorry that you were disappointed with our Club Wing rooms, they are as you pointed out a relatively recent construction but in saying that, we used the highest quality of materials and insulation available. Being a large castle hotel unfortunately not all rooms will have the view we would like in an ideal world but hope that the extensive landscaping minimises the impact of necessary car parking areas.

I would have to say that we rarely close off the restaurant to any private party, indeed per our records, its the second time this year and we are very reluctant to do this. We hope the steps that we took to minimise the inconvenience helped in your overall positive experience at the Castle.

Look forward to seeing you soon again!

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,488 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
832 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $238 - $923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing