We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand setting, formal but friendly service, not a modern hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just completed a truly lovely stay at Dromoland. The estate is gorgeous, the staff was very friendly and the castle-effect is mesmerizing. We had a long drive in, but the reception and valet staff were on top of us right away to get us settled in. The room was big, albeit a few years from feeling NEW. We didn't go for hip, we went for history and a more formal setting - which is exactly what we got.

We did fishing on the pond, falconry, and swam at the pool. Very relaxing all around.

We found the staff very helpful - especially Aidan who was never too far to help with anything.

Food was food, but our meal in the Gallery (billed as less formal) was very slow and very expensive. We enjoyed dinner at the Earl - and the service was great - but the Gallery was an exercise in frustration with 3 children and long waits for even a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTJwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear CT Jwo

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part and sincerely apologize for any frustration caused for the delay in service in the Gallery. I will be certain to discuss this issue with my management and service team at our weekly meeting. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you to visit again soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,398)
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,652 - 2,658 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from a two week trip with our 4 children. This was our first stop. Big mistake, since every place after couldn't compare! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff was exceptional. Mike met us at the door and Katherine checked us in. Not only were they professional, but warm and friendly as well. We told the children they could each get something to bring home and they all wanted to bring Mike! My husband and I got to visit the bar our last evening and were treated to some beautiful singing and a fantastic bartender named Frank. Your hotel is beautiful, but your staff is what truly makes the experience perfect. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank fdd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear fdd6

Thank you sincerely for your review, we are all thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Dromoland, I will be sure to share these comments with Mike, Katherine, Frank and all the team here. It makes all our efforts worthwhile to receive such encouraging feedback as yours and I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to visit in the near future.

Mark Nolan and All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was my favorite castle in Ireland. It is simply majestic in every way. The attention to detail in all manner is superb. The food was divine, Our room overlooked the pond in the front and was pure heaven. Each afternoon we enjoyed the most delectable Sherry, which was decanted in our room. I'd book multiple nights, if possible, you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Suzanne K,

On behalf of the entire team we are delighted you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time at Dromoland.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back for many more nights in the future!

Yours sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Dromoland during our whirlwind tour of Ireland. My husband & I were celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary and wanted a special stay as wonderful as our life together! The staff was the finest I have ever experienced, & I would know as I work for a major international hotel chain. Blan in reservations is the most precious asset and she prepared us for our arrival with directions, dinner reservations, a note and chocolates for our anniversary, and a spectacular room. The young man in the gallery bar made sure we knew where to find the trail in the other side of the lake and served up tasty cocktails. Earl of Thomond and its staff will be outdone by no one! Never before have we found such a fabulous balance of luxury, service, elegance and spectacular scenery. My only regret was leaving!

Mark you run an unbelievable establishment keep hiring, training and being good to this wonderful staff as they keep your guests coming back! Well be back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Zito55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Zito55

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are all delighted you enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us. I will be sure to pass your lovely feedback to all the team.

I hope to see you soon, how about the 40th anniversary?!

Best wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of spending three nights in the Mc Donagh Suite in Dromoland in July. During our stay we were really impressed with the staff. They are all extremely friendly and they really go the extra distance to make the stay special . The food in the Fig Tree restaurant is good . The main restaurant in the castle is top class. Breakfast is magnificent and the cocktail bar is intimate with great service . Stunning location and amazing staff. We could not recommend this hotel highly enough and we will return again in 2014

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,971,197,420,082,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of all the team, thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us so much and look foward to welcoming you back next year or before!

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a recent tour of Ireland. Big mistake; will stay multiple nights next time! This is a true castle hotel, situated in a full resort environment, with golf course, fishing lake, even a falconry school.

Rooms were very nice. They have a library lounge, and had a very talented singer of Irish folk songs as well as more recognizable selections. Several dining options, from casual to upscale. We ate in the upscale dining room, and had a great meal.

The uniqueness of the building and overall resort really makes this place stand out. Look forward to hopefully making it back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimothyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Timothy James

Thank you for your kind words which we were delighted to read. We are so pleased that you availed of the many activities on the Estate which we as a team feel is so important to get a clear understand of what Dromoland is all about.

Thank you for sharing your comments with all TripAdvisor readers.

We are looking foward to welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team at Dromoland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Dromoland is exquisitely beautiful. Whether it's a beautiful sunny day in the midst of an Irish summer or one of our 'four seasons in one day' Irish days at any time of the year, its charm, majesty and hospitality is exceptional.

The tranquility of the walled garden, the scenic walks, the spa retreat, the exceptional food, the majestic accommodation, the numerous amenities and the castle itself blend seamlessly together to provide a truly magical experience.

The staff are attentive, respectful and offer a genuine 'Cead Mile Failte' - sadly, so often missing from the hospitality industry in recent years. Nothing is too much trouble.

Everyone deserves to visit Dromoland as least once in their lifetime. Once you visit, you will be back. I am definitely testament to this. You may not be queen or king of your own castle, but Dromoland graciously allows you to feel every inch the queen or king in their magnificent surroundings. What's keeping you? Go on, you know you're worth it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krysskass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Lord & Lady of The Castle!!

We are humbled by your absoluately fabulous review which I shared with our team this morning and you could see the pride felt by everybody. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it gives us a great boost in the middle of, thankfully, a very busy season.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan and All the Team at Dromoland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,212 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,452 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
820 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
462 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $229 - $1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing