We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Dromoland 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had our wedding here in February 2013. Faultless best describes the performance of all involved in ensuring our wedding day was what we had hoped and planned for. The wedding coordinator Margaret is professional and responsive and ensures you know where things stand at all points in the run up to the event. Little bits of feedback from our guests were "they brought my car to the door at 5.30am in the morning and had coffee and Danish for my trip", "I felt pampered after the weekend", "I felt like I was welcomed to a friends home". The staff are very friendly and professional and remembered some small but important details throughout the weekend. They do really treat you like one would when welcoming a guest to your home.

We also stayed here in the run up to the wedding. There is a still quietness about the place, that immediately allows you relax and leave the hussle at the entrance to the estate. It is a place we will hopefully have many more opportunities to stay in the years ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_OFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,827 - 2,833 of 3,455 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Dromoland Castle for several nights in October, 2012. The second we arrived at the gates we were greeted by staff on horseback and at least 40 dogs running next to us. Once at the castle, staff was there to welcome us on the front steps. All our outings were arranged and everything was very well organized. Love the full Irish breakfast buffet each morning. Our room was first order, clean, fresh, turned-down nightly. The ground are gorgeous and very well maintained. Staff is knowledgeable, very friendly yet professional. The chef was very friendly with a tour of the immaculate kitchens. Take a golf cart tour while you are here, visit the gardens and explore. Excellent chocolates were provided on the pillow each night. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjacobs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Dromoland Castle for 3 nights in March 2013 on our tour of Ireland. The castle and our room was magnificent. From the manager, to the entire hotel staff they made our stay warm and relaxing after a busy day of driving and touring. The cuisine was excellent. Tony Frisby the restaurant manager and his staff were attentive made our stay and dining experience memorable which prompted us to plan our next visit to eat, relax and my husband to have the opportunity to play golf. Still dreaming about the duck confit... and venison.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEMNLSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Dromoland for 3 nights in April 2012 following an ad campaign the hotel ran. It seemed like a good offer for us mere mortals to stay in this 5 star at a resonable price.
The room was lovely and the grounds were beautiful which we made the most of.
There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, I expect thats because 5 star guests are not expected to make their own coffee!!! We had coffee in the lounge and found there is a heafty service charge added to everything and not even a biscuit came with the tray.
We went to Shannon and bought a kettle, coffee, milk etc for the cost of having coffee twice in the bar. Maybe Im a cheapskate but I do like value for my hard earned cash and I also like a cuppa whenever I fancy.
The food in the restaurant was very nice but no less than I would expect in a good restaurant.
We did have afternoon tea. It was an expensive mistake, none of the cakes tasted yummy!!! I am a desert and cake person and I was so disappointed with the quality especially here.
I know these special offers are there to fill the hotel in the off season, mainly by us Irish, but we did feel like we were treated like budget guests. We expected more because we have had more elsewhere.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HELEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at Dromoland as a treat and because I have always wanted to stay in a castle! As soon as we arrived we were treated like royalty, we were given a complimentary room upgrade, which was stunning with a huge bed! The staff were warm and very helpful. We had a meal in the Thomand on the first evening and the food was divine and serving staff very attentive, the rhubarb crumble is like a piece of modern art. The staff in the cocktail bar were knowledgable and friendly - a great combination! The grounds were beautifully maintained and the views were stunning. Breakfast was a veritable banquet. We were both sad to leave on the departure day and were already talking about when we would return on the journey home - I hope it is soon :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSTEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Dromoland Castle during a recent trip to Ireland. I still think about what a wonderful stay we had and I am determined to return some day! We had a spectacular view of the castle and grounds from our turret room. We enjoyed watching the cars unload in front of the lobby as guests arrived for a wedding -- the women in their "fascinators" took head wear to a whole new level!

The staff was extremely accommodating and personable, without being at all stuffy. They knew our names and our children's names and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We enjoyed the "hawk walk," riding around in the golf courts, tennis, fishing/rowing on the lake, and playing frisbee on the grounds. If you're in the area, this place is a "must stay." It's expensive, but totally worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dromoland Castle is hands down one my top hotel-stay experiences -- ever. Grounds are amazing, staff is discretely perfect, and the kitchen is handled by culinary geniuses that give every bite an angelic touch. Stayed with a friend for two nights in September 2012 and we still share fond memories.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,471 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
824 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $259 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing