We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid Expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stupid Expensive.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I wish i could give this property a sparkling review. But unfortunately the exorbitant price of the food/drink is the reason why I cannot. Although I have stayed in 4 & 5 * hotels on numerous occasions, this is the first time i felt value for money was not at all present.
Granted, the hotel aesthetically is amazing and the view from the rooms is very very good. Also to note that the staff are very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to a state room (from a deluxe double) and while the furnishings were not to our taste the room was very comfortable and had a very lovely bathroom.
We ordered food from the gallery bar and although very setting the price was just ridiculous. A bill for over €90.00 came for 2 lunch orders (sandwich & fish and chips) and 3 Guinness and 2 brandies. The price for the small meal we had at lunch gave us an indication that we would probably not eat at the restaurant that evening. No doubt the food was tasty but having recently come from a small co Clare village where we had wholesome and much better quality food, it was an insult to be charged that much for what i would consider a standard and small lunch.
Judging by the price of lunch we did not dine in the restaurant that evening so unsure what the standard was. Instead we ordered room service. One of the meals was just OK. And I ordered a seafood chowder that was just so inferior. Watery and without seasoning, and also a burnt creme bruleé. The gent that delivered our room service was very nice and polite but it took 3 visits to our room to finish the order. Not the standard I expect from a 5 star.
Interactive TV did not work well and the remote infrared did not seem to work at all. possibly just as well considering the price that was charged for the interactive movies (the selection was dire) I did not complain to the hotel about the broken remote mainly because after all the calls to the room for room service, did not want our privacy to be invaded. (yet again)
Not happy with Dromoland, and will not be returning. EVEN IF I WIN THE LOTTO.

Room Tip: Make sure you are super duper rich before you consider visiting. Or go hungry.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LlyodClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    378
    150
    63
    41
See reviews for
975
1,623
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had one night here in late December with our two small children. It was a last minute booking, and we were pleased to be able to get in. The property is beautiful and the grounds are spectacular, we only wish we could have stayed a little longer to enjoy them some more. We ate in the restaurant, and enjoyed a delicious meal, and the wait staff were very attentive and friendly. The room was comfortable, although the bathroom was a little dated. They provided some milk and biscuits for the children in the evening along with colouring pencils and paper, which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was great, with a good choice. Overall it was a very pleasant stay, and given the opportunity we would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped here for a few days, after a multi stop tour of the south. (Friends, family home, other hotels) and found it to be a very special place. It is hard to imagine finding a nicer setting. It did have a risk of seeming a bit over the top and stuffy, but the staff was so friendly and receptive that we quickly felt very much at home, albeit a rather grand home. We kept finding ourselves having members of the hotel tending to needs in advance of our requests. I only had a chance to see our room, and found it to be perfect. It was well laid out, had all of the features one would want from entertainment center (never used it), to plenty of personal amenities, and no need for the call for an extra towel, or whatever. The entire premises are just amazing. My girlfriend who is a clean freak commented on the fact that there was not a spec of dust despite all of the portraits, artifacts, furniture, and amazing fittings through out the castle. The whole feel has to be taken as a past cultural experience, as for all intents, nobody really lives like this.
The dinner offerings were either a formal setting in the Earl of Thurmond dinning room, or a dinner in a sitting room, or the bar. The formal dining room was nice for an evening, and the food excellent. The staff was ever present, without hovering (something that bothers me). Our second night, we had dinner in a sitting room, which was as pleasant as could be, and seemed a bit more relaxed. A neighboring dinning couple struck up a conversation with us, and gave us a good insight into the local area, as well as some of the history surrounding the castle that probably wouldn’t be in the pamphlets. All of this adding to the pleasant experience.
The spa was used by my girlfriend, and received rave reviews for the staff. I used the pool, which is a 2 min. walk to a separate building (they offered to drive me in a cart). With the grounds they have, walk and take in what you’re surrounded by. The pool, sauna and steam room were again, attended by attentive staff, and like every thing else, were perfect. I made our reservations on short notice, and was well attended to, but understand that might not work in the
busier season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airthug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed for three nights in a gorgeous state room. Our room was large, beautifully decorated and overlooked the estate grounds. The state room was well worth the extra cost. We dined in The Earl of Thomond restaurant and the food was amazing - try the souffle for dessert (well worth the 15 minute wait). The spa is outstanding - the relaxation room truly relaxing. Besides the spa in the castle portion of the hotel, there is also a full gym, swimming pool and restaurant in another building on the grounds. The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. This was our first stay at Dromoland but we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in a state room - well with the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

On my recent trip to Ireland, staying in a 'real castle' was on the bucket list. Dromoland was the first stop...driving up to the castle was absolutly amazing! The grounds are truly breath taking! The entry is just like all the pictures posted~truly a step back (way back) in time. The room was one of the deluxe rooms, well worth the price. I have read some reviews about the rooms being either 'to hot' or 'to cold'. Considering this is a 5-star property, it is still a castle (a very old one), so there is not going to be the central air/heat. I was fourtunate enought not to have any issues with the room temperature. Dinner in The Earl of Thomond 'restuarant' was excellent. From the vast wine menu, to the 'presentation' of the meal, it was fabulous! And well worth the cost. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay on Saturday 26th & Sunday, 27th January 2013. On arrival to the bedroom it was freezing and asked for this to be looked into at Reception when passing to the Bar to have afternoon tea. Found all staff excellent. Even though it was extremely busy they took time out for a chit-chat and nothing was a problem. Had dinner in the Golf Club on Saturday night which was very good and value for money. Retired early around 11.00 and still found the bedroom cold. Fell asleep and got woken at around 12.15 to a very loud bang and this continued all night as we were between 2 fire doors which were in constant use. Signs on I was absolutely shattered on Sunday.
Was asked by the Duty Manager Deirdre how did we sleep, recounted our night and within the space of around 10 minutes while we were having breakfast, she had investigated and asked us would we like to move rooms which we did. Got upgraded to what I would describe as a far superior room. Lovely smell, warm, magnificent 6ft bed (not 2 single beds pulled together), separate shower. This is what I would now call five star accommodation!!! And what I expect in a 5 star hotel.
We had booked a Hawk Walk with the Falconry School which was absolutely awesome. That evening we were booked for a 5 course meal in the Hotel Restaurant which was 5 star cuisine.
Overall our stay was very good, thanks to the wonderful staff, food and place itself.
Would we go back... yes but I would vet bedroom first!!!!.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieDCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights in January and was by in large hugely disappointed from arrival to departure.
On arrival the bedroom was cold as were the hallways of the hotel.We went to the bar whereby we sat infront of what we were expecting to be a welcoming open fire only to find a embers of logs which were being regularly tended to but which no one actually lit. We had to wait for about 15 minutes of trying to get staffs attention before we gave up and my partner went to the bar to order a snack.
Once ordered a member of the staff returned to me to inform me that they were out of that dish of which there was no offer to look at the menu again until I got this staff members attention and requested one.
Saturday was much of the same. It felt like an underlying theme that one had to chase staff in order to get service of any kind. Despite there being plenty of staff we were largely ignored during our stay with the exception of two staff members in the dining room who were very attentive and the meal was quite good although rushed. A five course meal was served in an hour.
The bedroom despite being an upgraded room was average and parts felt like a good clean was in order, not what one would expect from a hotel ot this calibre.
On the morning of departure due to the hotel being busy we were served breakfast in the bar, perhaps a nice place to end an evening, but not the best place to start your day.
Checking out was more of the same disappointment when it came to service.
Overall a hugely disappointing stay, extremely poor service, cold unfriendly staff with five star pricing.
Perhaps a trip to Ashford Castle would be in order for management in order to see what five star hospitality really is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,176 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,433 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing