We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Third Trip to Castle, never Disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dromoland Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hazlet, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Third Trip to Castle, never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Landed 7 AM in SNN, drove around a bit then went into the castle to see if we could drop our luggage off and possible use their facilities.Booked a Queen Anne room,3 for 2 special, but none were available since I was very early for my reservation. Grace allowed us to check in immediately by upgrading our room. THANK YOU Grace. We got some much needed rest to start our trip off on a terrific note. The breakfast at Dromoland was sensational as usual, they have a terrific breakfast buffet as well as a nice breakfast menu to choose from. This was our 3rd trip to Ireland as well as our 3rd stay here. Planning on returning for our 30th anniversary next year. We also enjoyed our 1st dinner at the Earl of Thomond onsite restaurant. Staff was friendly and outstanding as usual. PS Wife loved the spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve07730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,030
    292
    121
    56
    39
See reviews for
729
1,225
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The first view of Dromoland from the long sweeping driveway is truly breathtaking. The setting by the lake with swans and water fowl on the lawn was a magical first impression. The initial welcome was so warm and inviting it set the tone for the short break. The setting and the service are the jewels in Dromoland's crown. The grounds are beautiful and there is a wealth of activities, making this a destination in its own right. However it would be shame not to visit some of the attractions of lovely County Clare while in the area.
The standard room was very spacious with a good bathroom (no separate shower) and a very comfortable bed. However the small windows did not allow for much natural light in the room.
We tried the excellent spa which is a little bit more expensive than the average. The Library bar has a great atmosphere expecially for a hotel. The breakfast room is very pleasant if a little cold in the morning but there is a really good selection of cooked main courses. The pancakes and full irish breakfast are the best options as others did disappoint (potato cakes are not real boxty) However the fresh fruits, berry smoothy and walnut banana bread are positively sinful.
The low season offer was great value but perhaps if one were to pay a high seaon price there would be some valid criticisms and less than full marks. The service and ambiance at the Thomond restaurant was excellent but the menu and food is quite mediocre with nothing really special to recommend it. There is a really good sized pool at the Golf House area but the changing rooms,showers and general area need a face lift to bring it up to the standard of the hotel overall. However the staff there are extremely helpful and very solicitious of all guests.
Overall it was a lovely experience and to be recommended

Room Tip: if you can afford an upgrade to a room with a view go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steaknchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I spent our 20th anniversary at Dromoland, exceptional staff and property! High Tea is not to be missed -- also drinks in the library bar, wonderful fire and top-notch staff. Really feel pampered and enjoy the ambiance of a real castle -- don't miss the walled garden!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnamackc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I asked for a quiet room upon checking in (just less trafficked area... not near a lift etc)... well they dont have lifts so that was not an issue. However, she upgraded our room to one of the state suites.. 1 of 2 in the entire hotel! There was actually a stair case in our room! The room was gorgeous with a sitting area, huge bathroom, extra room for closets and a desk, large tv etc... complimentary water. And then we got a knock at the door 10 min later that they would leave us a couple chocolates and some water. That was unexpected and nice! I'm also impressed that they allow you to take boats out on the lake as well as fishing all complimentary. My biggest complaint with hotels is that it seems like the more you pay, the less you get but Dromoland was an exception. We booked it along with this Ireland castle package and the price we paid for everything was a steal so I especially appreciate a top notch hotel treating us the same as any other customer. I hate the priceline effect and we did not get that kind of treatment here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beanerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just back from our trip to Dromoland Castle. Excellent service as usual at check in. We stayed in a deluxe room in the Moriarty Wing this time. A much nicer room when compared to the Queen Anne rooms.
Excellent service in the bar and restaurant. The grounds are well kept and we had a very enjoyable afternoon on our scenic walk.
A nice touch was that they left a card and box of chocolates in our room to congratulate us on our wedding anniversary.
The service charge needs to be added to all prices in the bar and restaurant. Some of the breakfast dishes require an extra supplement of €3 which seems unreasonable when its priced at €25 per person.
Its definitely a treat but in our opinion its worth it !

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in the Moriarty Wing are well placed with a great view of the main castle entrance &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We concur with all said about the beauty of the property. Everything is first class and deserving of the 5 stars. Breakfast was wonderful. Bar prices not bad at all - my Guinness was 3.60 euro and my wife's glass of wine was about 5 euro. We didn't try the food. Great location for touring much of Southern Ireland. We did Cliffs of Moher, Dingle Penninsula, Cobv, and Cashel all as day trips from the castle.

But, the most special part of our 5 night visit was the service. I'll tell a few quick stories. First, Katherine at the front desk knew us immediately and checked in with us regularly to see how we were doing. She got to know our two girls 11 and 9 and they just loved her. We were amused at how impressed she was (I think she thought we were crazy) that we did Dingle as a day trip. It is about 2 hours away and I guess in Ireland this makes the visit a major journey. She even suggested we get a cheap B&B for the night and was getting ready to set this up for us. Being from the States, where some people have a two hour commute to work each day, we were not phased by the drive and were able to make it back to our room by bedtime.

Michael and Aidun were top notch as concierges. Each day we would but pull up to the front of the castle and drop our keys with them. They would take care of the parking. And this is where the service went above and beyond. We happened to be staying the same night as the Vice President of China (a MAJOR event in Ireland). As we were trying to leave to go to the Bunratty evening banquet the VP was just returning with his retinue of limousines, vans, and gardi. This threatened to delay our departure and you would think that the staff would have more important things to do than help us get our car. But Aidun walked us to our car - actually running ahead so that he could get the car warmed up, pulled out, and ready for us. We are not used to service and caring like that!

To the GM - Mark Nolan (even though we prefer to give strokes to the day-to-day staff). Again, the man must have been proud, worried, busy with the visit of the most important foreign leader in some time. Yet, the morning after our Bunratty Banquet (the morning after the VP was pulling up and getting in our way) he found us at breakfast and had the interest to ask about our experience at the banquet the night before. I was amazed that he not only remembered us but also what we were doing amidst all the fanfare. We mentioned this to the waiter who said that Mr. Nolan had made a point of making sure regular castle guests were not neglected at the expense of the politicos. Objective achieved.

We did not experience the golf, pool, dinners, or spa. But we were amazed at the 5 star service which was not stuffy. Instead, the stay was so great because the Irish hospitality made us feel comfortable, cared for, and at home.

Room Tip: The first night we had two rooms in the old wing. 5 star and classy but did seem like an old buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel/ castle is possibly the nicest ive stayed in.
The grounds are fantastic, the food is top class, the rooms are very high quality, and both times ive stayed ive been given an upgrade.
everyone should experience this hotel. Sure its pricey, but for a treat, its fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
20.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing