We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service but offering getting a little dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dromoland Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful service but offering getting a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

I spent a two nights at Dromoland. Its been 7 or 8 years since I was last there. The overall experience was heavily dependant on the two fantastic porters John and Tom who together made my stay wonderful - their charm, wit and enthusiasm for what they do was so refreshing in an era of souless hotel stays.

While I still think Dromoland is a unique property at an Irish level, it is getting a bit faded from an international perspective. The interior is not as sharp as it could be - warrens of corridoors look a little tatty and dated looking. There are 5 star properties internationally that would operate at a much higher level.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — Getting a bit dated
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilderhillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,406
    349
    138
    61
    38
See reviews for
845
1,474
42
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

I recently spent a weekend in Dromoland Castle and it truly was one of the most pleasant, memorable experiences of a lifetime. It had been 10 years since my last visit there and am delighted to report that the Castle has retained its elegance, excellent service and first rate, most attentive staff. I had a really delightful room with what must be the best shower I have ever taken (it was like a fire hose!). The food was some of the best I have ever eaten. Well done Dromoland, keep up the good work! I had a wonderful Saturday afternoon in the Spa. That full body massage was extremely relaxing followed by some time in the outdoor hot tub. An incredible hotel that really lives up to its 5 star rating.

  • Liked — Staff, Sevice and Food
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

Just finished our stay at the most fantastic hotel ever....... wow what a place. Of course its impressive it a real castle but you can get tjem anywhere but the staff are outstanding everyone of them, food great, activities brill. New spa which is great staff a little nervous but bery nice and helpful.

it saddened me to see other guests being nasty to staff.... everybody does their best. we are all on hols and should relax. ... be nice to the staff they work really hard. I had no prolems wilth any of them.

Already looking forward to next trip there to be totally spoiled yet again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Louisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of this worldclass property. Got a special rate booking a few months ahead, after checking all the castles for the two weeks we were in Ireland, I rearranged the itinerary to take advantage of a 200 euro internet special. Of course, we gave the savings back by letting them convince us to do the formal dinner where the jackets are required (though supplied) and a highly tip was added to the bill. Everyone wanted to stay longer. Must admit that I couldn't bring myself to leave the room key, so I can delude myself that I still have "a key to the castle."

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — formality can be a bit stuffy, but staff was extremely pleasant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed at Dromoland as part of a group celebrating a famiy christening. From the moment we arrived the experience was, quite simply, dreadful.. The first two rooms we were shown to were unmodernised, dark and musty. Eventually, after demanding to see the manager, a room which we were told had been 'upgraded' was found for us. This room was marginally better, but definitely not even nearly 5 star. The carpet was dirty and old, as was the bed linen. There was an abudance of 'hotel furniture' clogging up the room and the bathroom was more akin to what one would expect in a B&B - plastic shower, hard towels, filthy 'bath mats' etc.

We dined in the 'Earl of Thomand' restaurant on our first night. The food was bland but edible, the room musty and drab, and the staff stuggled to speak english. The next morning my husband decided to explore the 'spa' - which consists of a couple of beauty rooms in the main building, with no shower or changing facilities. He found the restrooms in the lobby were filthy, indescribably so. Clearly they ahd not been cleaned from the night before - this was at 10.30 a.m...

The pool and leisure centre is in the adjacent golf club. Suffice to say, I am sure it was lovely 15 years ago.... Lunch at the 'Fig Tree' restaurant at the golf club was surprisingly good, basic but good.
Our second evening was in a function room as part of the celebration. It was fine.

The hotel itself is very limited in terms of public space. There is a lounge, a bar and pretty much nowhere else in the hotel to relax. Jackets are required in the bar after 7p.m. An affectation and an inconveniece. The grounds are nice, but not nice enough to compensate for what is in my view a 3 star hotel, with 3 star service. Dromoland does weddings and conventions well. I am quite sure that here are many tour groups, mainly american, who also seem to enjoy the 'charm' of this Irish castle. But it is just not good enough to warrant 5 star status.

We filled in the comment card, and naturally have not heard any response to our complaints. We did suggest that the management perhaps visit Chewton Glen in the UK to see how a country hotel should be run, and the Sandy Lane to see what '5 star' really means. Perhaps the management don't care for criticism. It certainly seems like they don't listen to it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband took me to Dromoland Castle to propose to me in December 2005 and it was a magical experience. This year he took me back there to celebrate getting engaged and Dromoland exceeded all expectations. They put us in the same castle room where we got engaged. Upon arrival to the room, they delivered 2 glasses of champagne so as to wish us Congratulations. From that top notch service it just stayed fantastic for the night. Food in the restaurant for dinner is delicious including game caught on their own grounds. The wine list is daunting but they have a very helpful sommelier who helped us choose the perfect wine. The following morning we walked the beautiful grounds to finish off a very romantic stay. In short, it was perfect and I can't wait to go back there this December!

  • Liked — Fantastic Service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

Spent three nights at the Dromoland, a perfect ending to a 2-week vacation in Ireland. After so many driving trips around the Irish countryside, we were ready to relax and slow down. Our room wasn't ready yet, so we walked around the amazing grounds. Went through a tunnel of trees to a walled garden that was as beautiful as anything in a magazine. Beyond description! We could have sat there for hours. Enjoyed the ducks around the lake as well.

My favorite moment of our entire trip came on a rainy afternoon. My wife had been napping and reading in bed when three maids came to the door for turn-down service. I told them they could come in, but they might find someone still in bed! They came in and pampered and prepped the room, and my wife just chatted with them, feeling like a queen. Truly a priceless moment!

Our final night there we ate dinner as part of our Summer Deal, and it was truly the most delicious meal we had ever eaten! We had really enjoyed each breakfast, but this was over the top.

  • Liked — The grounds and the food
  • Disliked — Lack of public in-door places to relax in
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LaR727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing