We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dromoland Castle

Dromoland Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1962, this castle is a magnificent Renaissance structure built in the 16th century and once served as the royal seat of the O?Brien clan.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staff really went that extra mile to ensure every need is met. Silver service at breakfast was very impressive. Dinner was good and perfectly cooked and served.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    38
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt Like Royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am so glad we stayed here, but for only one night, and wished we stayed more! The grounds are amazing and the 1000 year old castle felt like we stepped back into time, and for once were weren’t poor peasants!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommend. Had a wonderful time. Staff were exemplary, room was well appointed and very clean. Facility was beautiful. Recommend taking a picnic - felt like royalty, we had ours down by the lily pond. Absolutely perfect memories made at Dromoland.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star all the way .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

simply stunning ...if you can afford the rates then you should definitely stay here for at least one night ...set in beautiful grounds ..which are open to public if you just wanted to take a walk ...the castle is luxury ,oppulence and splendor . delicious food , well appointed rooms and friendly staff . definitely one for the bucket list .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved staying at Dromoland Castle, The staff was great and the area was very nice for walking around. Yes, pricey, but OK for a splurge. Fantastic restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FD647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dromoland Castle also viewed

 
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Dromoland Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing