We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cahergal Farmhouse- Our favorite B&B in Ireland”
Review of Cahergal Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cahergal Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
NYC USA
2 reviews
“Cahergal Farmhouse- Our favorite B&B in Ireland”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Aug.31,2009
N.Y. couple touring Ireland
After a week of traveling all of Ireland, staying in B&B`s wherever we were; we chose the Cahergal Farm for our last night in this beautiful country. How I wish we`d discovered it at least a day or two earlier!!!!!!!!!! The Farmhouse is beautiful, very comfortable and relaxing. The McInerney Family are the most gracious hosts, eager to help with anything needed during your stay there. It was a treat to wake up in the morning to a full Irish Breakfast and watch the cows grazing in the fields. If we`d had an extra day we could have toured Bunratty Castle , played golf nearby, or even taken advantage of the tennis court at The Farmhouse. Should we return to Ireland, we will certainly be spending more time with the McInerny Family and will use Cahergal Farmhouse as our home base. P.S. Shannon Airport is less than a ten minute drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank hooliganNycUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    24
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
91
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This was a beautiful place. We were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming hostess. Noreen McInerney was very kind and delayed our dinner (that she was making for us) so that we could go do some last minute shopping, she also told us were to go and how to get there. Dinner was wonderful with fresh veggies and local meat. She even provided us with a bottle of champagne for desert. She included family recipes and favorite dishes in our meal, making it that much more wonderful. We were her only guests that night and she told us we could wonder around the house and grounds as much as we wanted. The patio was our favorite spot, overlooking the cows and sheep. Breakfast was even better because we had a chance to visit with our hostess. The eggs were from her chickens and everything was delicious. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We would like to return with more time to stay and visit this B&B.
One of our favorite things was that we could open the window and hear the sounds of the countryside, there were no traffic noises or city noises of any kind. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lili_billy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Your host, Noreen is a lovely Irish lass who makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. She is the epitomy of "A 100,000 welcomes". The surroundings are beautiful as is the home with spacious accomodations and a large bathroom which we fully appreciated having just stayed in a B&B in Galway that had a bathroom in the closet--literally! Everything was spotless and it was one of the best Irish breakfast's we had during our 2 week stay that was made even more pleasant with a visit over tea with Noreen. We felt more family than guests. We hope to return someday. Don't miss out staying here.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donnarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Cahergal House was an wonderful experience. When I turned off the road to go down the driveway, I was amazed at the beauty and serenity. There is a rock wall down one side and fences on the other with horses in the pasture. I think this has to be one of the prettiest settings in Ireland. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious..........Modern Bathroom. Noreen is a very sweet lady and made my granddaughter and me feel very welcome. She sat and had her morning coffee with me and I felt more like a friend than a paying guest......even let me peek at her beautiful kitchen. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bemjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed one night at the Cahergal Farm B&B. We were greeted by Kreimi (german student who is working at the B&B). She was friendly and gave us a tour of the farm since we wanted to see the horses. We met Noreen and Micheal soon after we arrived and were offered to join them for afternoon tea.
They were very warm and hospitable. The bedrooms were good size, the bathrooms very clean. Breakfast the next morning was excellent.
Our only regret was that we did not find this B&B sooner. We wish we could have stayed longer! We look forward to visiting again. Next time, we will stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We were coming from Killarney and wanted a nice place to stay and tour the area for a few days before our flight home. Our previous B&B owner in Killarney tried a number of other B&Bs in the Newmarket-on-Fergus area for us but could not get ahold of anyone until Noreen. When we drove up to Cahergal Farms our first impression "What a fantastic place we found" and then we were so warmly greated by Noreen who put on a pot of tea and brought out some home made cakes to go with the tea. She sat with us for a while and told us about the farm as we relaxed from the drive. This is a place well worth visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim47Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Just finished our second stay at Cahergal Farmhouse. We stayed here three years ago and fell in love with it. The farm is beautifully surrounded by stone walled pastures with sheep, horses and cows. The rooms are modern, bathrooms are large and everything is very clean. Noreen brews the best coffee in Ireland! Her home baked scones and breads are outstanding. The Irish Breakfasts are hearty and delicious. Noreen and Michael, the owners, made us feel welcome and gave us a most enjoyable stay. The farm is favorably located a short car ride from Shannon Airport. It is in a great location to use as a home base for touring the west. It is also close to Bunratty Castle - we did the Medeveil Dinner our last night in Ireland and had a great time. My daughter went riding with Michael one morning and our niece having fallen in love with all the sheep in Ireland had hoped the entire trip to pet one. Michael made that wish come true for her by offering to let her heard a few into a pen so she could feel their wool. How nice was that! Can't wait to be back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOETUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,330 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
444 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahergal Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahergal Farmhouse

Property: Cahergal Farmhouse
Address: Urlanmore, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahergal Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, restored farmhouse is surrounded by scenic farmland, offering spacious rooms with countryside views. Guests can enjoy horse riding, tennis, and home-cooked breakfasts sourced from the farm itself. Each room at Cahergal Farmhouse includes an en suite bathroom with power shower, and hairdryer. Some rooms include a king-size bed, and guests can relax with a TV in the room. Some rooms also overlook the Fergus River. Breakfasts are served in the bright and airy dining room overlooking the rose garden and ancient stone walls. Freshly cooked, full Irish breakfasts are available, along with an extensive breakfast menu. Horse riding is available on-site with qualified instructors, and walking tours of the farm and surrounding countryside can be arranged. Free parking is provided, and Shannon Airport is only 5 miles away. Bunratty Folk Village is 4 miles away, and Dromoland Castle and Golf Club is 2 miles from Cahergal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cahergal Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahergal Farmhouse Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing