We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Cahergal Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cahergal Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed in several B&B's across Ireland and this was by far my favorite! Noreen and Michael were so welcoming and made us feel right at home. The rooms are very nice & clean. The breakfast was delicious! I don't have a bad thing to say about the Cahergal Farmhouse. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MileHigh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    24
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
91
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We used Cahergal Farms as a stop over before heading home to the US from Shannon at the end of our trip. Noreen (one of the owner's) greeted us warmly showed us to our room and then she headed to the kitchen to get some tea and scones for us. We headed out to a local pub that night for dinner, Noreen had a few tips on where to go. Next morning we had an Irish breakfast and chatted with two other couples staying there. Then it was off to the airport for us with a few scones packed again by Noreen to tide us over. We found the place welcoming, friendly and quiet.

Room Tip: plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Really great place, Owners, Michael and Noreen, couldn't have treated us better.
Breakfast was great, especially, the fresh-baked scones. Surrounded by farm animals,
it would have nice to have spent more time but our trip beckoned.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renobill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2011

The most courteous, energetic people with the cleanest, most comfortable B&B and the most scenic farmhouse. The propriaters, Michael and Noreen McInnery, and their assistant, Daniele Hofmann, were helpful in providing us with directions and customs. We visited for six days and they not only told us how to get around but actaully escorted us to two sites. To show some of their curtesy, when we arrived it was 50 degrees Farenheit and all we had carried with us were a cardigan jacket and light leather jacket. Noreen saw that two people coming from 90 degree heat in Texas were really cold. She lent us two coats for the doration of our trip. The rooms and beds were extremely well decorated and confortable. The breakfasts were very well prepared and consisted of a variety of foods and drinks. If we can ever get back to Ireland again we will definitely stay at this B&B working farmhouse.

Room Tip: All rooms were very comfortable and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccarthyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

An incredible place to stay. The setting is magnificent. A 300+ year old working farm. The horses, sheep, cows,and flower gardens greet you as drive in the long driveway. (notice the stonewalls-they are perfection!) Meticulous care is given to everything inside and out. Noreen is most gracious. Her food is delicious. You can also have dinner there. Everything is fresh and local. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed,the beds extremely comfortable and the bath towels large and plush. Cahergal is minutes from Shannon. Every time we are in Ireland we stay with Noreen. We always feel as if we have come home when we arrive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed with Noreen and Michael on the first and last night of our trip to Ireland and we were made to feel like family. A warm and comfortable farmhouse with wonderful breakfasts and Noreen's home-made scones - lovely!

Will definately make Cahergal Farmhouse our first port of call when we are next in Ireland.

Thank you Noreen and Micheal for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverWomanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, CT USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was our six trip to Ireland. Cahergal was by far one of the best. The service was
excellent and very friendly. We stayed in the cottage which was very comfortable.
Each room had its own bathroom. very American like, and very cosy beds with down conforters. The food was exceptional, including the homemade scones! The locaton was
very good for seeing County Clare and very convienent to Shannon Airport. We would
highly recommend Cahergal Farmhouse. The owners were wonderful to us and we will
look forward to a return visit some year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryfrances42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,331 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
445 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahergal Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahergal Farmhouse

Property: Cahergal Farmhouse
Address: Urlanmore, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahergal Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, restored farmhouse is surrounded by scenic farmland, offering spacious rooms with countryside views. Guests can enjoy horse riding, tennis, and home-cooked breakfasts sourced from the farm itself. Each room at Cahergal Farmhouse includes an en suite bathroom with power shower, and hairdryer. Some rooms include a king-size bed, and guests can relax with a TV in the room. Some rooms also overlook the Fergus River. Breakfasts are served in the bright and airy dining room overlooking the rose garden and ancient stone walls. Freshly cooked, full Irish breakfasts are available, along with an extensive breakfast menu. Horse riding is available on-site with qualified instructors, and walking tours of the farm and surrounding countryside can be arranged. Free parking is provided, and Shannon Airport is only 5 miles away. Bunratty Folk Village is 4 miles away, and Dromoland Castle and Golf Club is 2 miles from Cahergal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cahergal Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahergal Farmhouse Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing