We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food only so so”
Review of Beach House

Beach House
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Dined here on a Fri evening with my wife, we booth had Sirloin steak with mushroom & onions served with a pepper sauce. What came was a steak with a dollop of wet mash on top & poured over this was like a left over burgeoned sauce, the pepper sauce was in fact gravy , certainly not what we wanted or expected. The steak itself was well cooked but lacked in seasoning & flavour. Tables downstairs set for private function perhaps took chefs priority.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank salmonsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear salmonsteak,

Thank you for reviewing the Beach House. We are sorry to hear about your experience with your meal we hope that you will visit us again and have a better experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 369 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wow, just wow!!! I couldn't fault this place in anyway what-so-ever. I had three courses and each one was perfect in every way. The quality of the food is of the highest standard. And of course the wine is fantastic. I can honestly say, this meal was probably one of the best I have ever had.
Additionally the service was so professional. We were served by Claire, one of the waitresses. I actually went out of my way to find out her name because she was so professional at her job. Nothing was too much bother, she was knowledgeable about the entire menu, including the wine list and most of all, she kept the restaurant and the rest of the staff running like a charm. Well done Beach House - fabulous!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donegalwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear donegalwoman,

Thank you for feedback and review in regards to your experience at the Beach House. We are delighted that you had a great time with us and we are delighted to receive your appreciation of what we have on offer. Thank you for identifying areas that we provide high quality and we will certainly take that on board to maintain that standard.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon at the Beach House.

Warm regards

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Couldn't find fault. Absolutely fabulous.
Menu had a nice variety, without being enormous. There were 4 of us and we all agreed the fresh produce couldn't have been better.
The table staff were young, but knew their job and knew the answers to any questions we asked re the menu. Once ordered, the courses arrived very quickly. All cooked to perfection. All good sized servings.
Wonderful evening was had by all.

Thank 777Bogeyman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear 777Bogeyman777,

Thank you for your feedback and recommendations. It was great to hear about your experience at the Beach House and that you had a lovely time here. We are delighted to hear about your comments about our staff and our menus, this is really valuable for us to maintain our food quality and customer care.

Thank you for recommending and reviewing our restaurant and hope to see you again really soon.
Warm regards

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We reserved the entire upstairs room at the Beach House for a large family meal. It's an absolutely spectacular setting with huge windows overlooking Lough Swilly and the room is wonderfully atmospheric in the changing evening light. They did us a special three-course menu for a reasonable price and catered very well for the kids in the group. The food was very good with a pleasing emphasis on local suppliers. I had the free range chicken for my main. Because our group was so large and it would have been cumbersome to try and move on to a pub, we had asked in advance if we could stay on afterwards and linger over drinks and that was no problem at all for the Beach House. Neither did they make a fuss over the fact that a few of our guests were very late so unfortunately we actually ended up ordering at a much later time than the time we had booked. The staff were in general very accommodating. Normally the upstairs room is just part of the restaurant and so I would guess that a table at that window would be perfect for a romantic meal. Downstairs is also a lovely view - you are closer to the water and the beach rather than overlooking the lough. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyEnoughCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear HappyEnouchCamper,

We are happy to hear that everyone has a lovely time at the Beach House Restaurant. Delighted that the view from our restaurant also added to your experience. At the Beach House we believe in creating a relaxing and enjoyable environment for our guests. Thank you so much for your warm and valuable feedback. This helps us to maintain a close connection with our customers so to make their experience with us as enjoyable and memorable as possible.
Thank you once again and hope to see you all soon again at the Beach House
Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

What a little gem off a place. Lunch with a view. Little England meets donegal ! We always stop for lunch before taking ferry to rathmullan. Great food with superb views!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yummumIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear yummumIreland,

Thank you so much for your feedback and it’s great to hear that your times with us are enjoyable. We appreciate your stopping by before taking the ferry crossing and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing