We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach House

Beach House
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful on every level”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent location, great staff, great atmosphere, great food, plenty of parking. Even grey, cold and windy looks great from that window.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidIKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear laettu,

That you for you 5 star review of your visit to the Beach House. We have to agree that even on a grey & cold day Lough Swilly looks beautiful from that window. We hope to welcome you back to the Beach House again soon.
Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    59
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much more than just a room with a view”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had two wonderful dinners in the Beach House over the Valentine's period. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. Thoroughly excellent in every way - lovely atmosphere, tremendously welcoming and attentive staff and above all, super food. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JHG234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear JHG234,

That you so much for reviewing both your visits to the Beach House over Valentine’s. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals & our lovely relaxed atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You couldn't put a price on that view!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've only been there twice, and both times had scones and hot chocolate. But even then the staff are soooooo lovely, and the scones and hot drinks come with love.

I'm planning to go some lovely evening for dinner at sunset, and can't wait to soak up the atmosphere. It's always toasty and cosy, and with such a brilliant location, it's sure to be one of my summer hot spots! With the beach quite literally on your door step, the gorgeous interior and friendly staff, more people need to go here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeBegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear ZoeBegley,

That you so much for reviewing your visits to the Beach House – we are delighted that you enjoyed our scones & hot chocolate and our amazing views over beautiful Lough Swilly. Our scones are made fresh each morning by our pastry chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Beach House over the summer.

Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“delicious food with breathtaking view”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited this restaurant with family for Sunday lunch. Staff friendly and pleasant. Given seat at window and had a lovely view of the beach. Portions are small but great tasting food. The junior member of my family was given her meal at least 10 minutes before the rest of us which resulted in her goujons being sligtly cold and dried up leaving it difficult for her to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Margaret777,

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch at the Beach House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and our breathtaking view. We are sorry about the problem with the junior member of your family’s meal. We normally serve all children’s meals before the adult’s meals but in future will ask each table when they would like the children’s meals served.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in a long time!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had visited the harbour during the day and earmarked the beach house as a possible destination for dinner that evening. great decision - it was very tasty!

It was quite busy when we arrived (6pm-ish) but we managed to get a table straight away, although unfortunately it was quite close to the door which was opened and closed a lot whilst we were there. I ate from the early bird menu, having soup to start and the "Roast supreme of free range chicken 'kiev’ style, red pepper & tomato sauce" for main... Absolutely fantastic! All for only 18€. One slight downside was the number of kids walking around throughout the evening, but the staff apologised for this even though it wasn't their fault.

I got a little 'Beach House' branded box of matches and postcard with the bill - I'll keep these as a reminder of a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thriftywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Thriftywanderer,

Wow – thank you for your lovely review of your dinner at the Beach House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that it was one of the ‘Best meals you have had in ages’. We had two christenings in the restaurant on the evening of your visit so that’s why there were lots of kids around.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing