We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour inn - relaxing break”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

First impression started great with Helen receptionist, she took the time to take us straight to the large sea view room. Helen was helpful and professional. Booked our taxi for later that evening. room clean large and bathroom warm and large lots of hot water. Bar was comfortable. Great sleep. Breakfast good and checkout professional. Thank you and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 309 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The people in the hotel from reception to bar restaurant were a joy to meet, Friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a perfect location with views of Lough Swilly and the hills in the opposite direction. The hotel room we had was huge, well cleaned and sheets replaced at least 3 times during our 11 day stay, Lovely shower/bathroom with plenty of tea/ coffee making facilities provided. Ideal for golf as North West Golf course is just over the road as well as the Buncrana Municipal course. Ideal for City of Derry (15 miles away) with the concerts and Fleadh in August 2013 during the City of Culture year. Clonmany Festival starts on 4th August.
Full Irish breakfast sets one up for the activities ahead! Good value for money

Room Tip: Try to get a view over the Swilly if any are left
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inishowen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at The Harbour Inn for two nights. I have nothing bad to stay about our stay there. The staff were extremely helpful.

It is located close to the centre of Buncrana a short walk or taxi. The rooms are large and very clean. There is a beach across the road and a small restaurant/bar located there that is lovely.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Buncrana :) :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grainne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I visited this hotel on Saturday night and found in to be a charming little place opposite Lisfannon beach in Buncrana. I was shown to a lovely room outside the building with its own door from the outside, The room was excellent, lovely hallway and bathroom and quite a large shower which I really liked as most hotels I visit has small showers. I did find fault with the towels as they felt very course and also the bed sheets were the same, The hotel could do with telling who ever washes there towels and sheet to use fabric comfort softener. I did not sleep well with these sheets. Breakfast was ok, No fresh fruit ( melon, grapefruit, mandarin oranges :) only apples, oranges & bananas. Got breakfast plate with 2 over fried pieces of bacon , 1 sausage, I fried egg ( perfect ) half a slice of white pudding, beans & mushrooms. I asked for no tomato or black pudding. Breakfast & softness of bed clothes & towels needs to be looked at as its a lovely small hotel in a lovely perfect location.

Room Tip: check the softness of the towels in the toilets first,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendan J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Five of us stayed for one night at Bank Holiday weekend. Great welcome on arrival from very helpful staff. Excellent accommodation in a massive bedroom with all amenities. Enjoyed a really quiet night rest followed by an excellent breakfast in the morning served by very pleasant staff.
Real value for money and no problem recommending the Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hello
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent stay with us, very glad you had a comfortable stay. I hope you had a great time at the wedding. Hope to see you again should you be in the area.
Kind regards
K Doherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in the Harbour inn for the weekend. The rooms were top notch, the staff were friendly and the food was very good. Special offer of meal for 2 with a bottle of house wine for 45.00 Euro.
Good choice of meals. Breakfast was great and again staff were friendly and helpful.
Reccomend a stay if your around Inishowen.

Room Tip: Ask for room above reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_m0ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Six of us on this trip were pleasantly surprised with the ample space and additional beds in all of the rooms.Staff were so pleasant and helpful throughout our stay and in true Donegal tradition 'nothing is a bother' Value for money , would have no problem recommending the Harbour to similar size golfing groups.

Room Tip: Sea View adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Your comments are much appreciated.
Hope the golfing is going well and we see you again soon.
Kind regards
K Doherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
963 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
676 reviews
6.2 mi away
Frontier Hotel
Frontier Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
51 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: $74 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing