We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a reasonable price”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ate in here with wife and 4 small kids. The good is great and very well priced. The atmosphere in the bar is relaxed during the day and very good for families or a group to chat. There are Tv with sports on but not turned up loud so those who want can keep and eye (As I did with the Ryder Cup!!).

Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 303 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Not one single fault best staff and hotel going, late check out no bother, late drinks no bother serious Craic to be had! Staff could not be more helpful. Best views of Donegal & the swilly! Cleaning staff are the best ever

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronanocathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I stayed in! The hotel is lovely, extraordinarily clean & spacious! The staff are so friendly and helpful! We ve decided to stay another nite! It is in a great spot with a lovely view! Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned after a 3 night break with 2 friends last week and cannot recommend this small family run hotel enough;very good accommodation,lovely food,excellent very friendly family and staff;what value for money.
The weather was not great but who cares when you are enjoying such great hospitality.
Looking forward to our next visit.
Margaret & Norman
Belfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to The Harbour Inn yesterday to watch the all Ireland final and felt like i was in Croke Park. The atmosphere and excitment was brilliant. The whole restaurant was completly packed out and the staff still managed to take orders and serve food. Well done to everyone who works in The Harbour inn I will definetly be back for the warm friendly atmosphere and wounderful service

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Came to eat here two weekends ago with my Husband and three other friends as I have past it many times on the main Buncrana road. On entering the main Bar it was very quiet for a weekend but we found out why the food is terrible and the service is very slow and lacking basic skills of what it takes to run a food business. Our group did not have any starters as we were saveing ourselves for Desserts the pasta dish i had "Arrabiatta" was tasteless and and terrible, the scampi was frozen and very poor quailty as was the cod the "surf and turf" that my Husband had was totaly over cooked the Chef seemed more interested in watching the T.V. in the bar than producing good food. The desserts that we waited for turned out to be frozen as well and we very badly presented. A very very bad meal at the Harbour Inn will not return.

Room Tip: Do not eat here.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the Harbour Inn. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal as the majority of our guests do.
Unfortunately you did not make any complaints you may have had, known to the waiting or Bar staff. We have no record of any comments you may have had about your meal on the comment cards which are on every table.
We find it difficult to understand that you were unhappy with every dish but did not mention it at the time either verbally or by writing your remarks down on the comment card.
We always work hard to please all our customers and were delighted to recently receive our certificate of excellence from trip advisor, made possible from the many positive reviews we have received from our guests.
Please dont hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss your comments further.
Kind regards
Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fantastic accommodation, food, entertainment, hospitality! Can't fault the harbour inn on any level. Our room was in very very good order, spotless! Bed was so comfortable & we were able to have the heating on in the room - with control of the thermostat we could adjust this to suit ourselves. The bathroom was immaculate & huge! Powerful shower & all toiletries supplied. Plenty of wardrobe space & chest of drawers for clothes. Vanity table with mirror for us ladies. Hospitality tray came in handy for that early morning cup of tea.We had our evening meal in the restaurant and we weren't disappointed - it was delicious. A varied menu to suit all tastes & not too badly priced either. We stayed at the restaurant that evening to enjoy a few drinks & the entertainment which was really good, a duo singing & playing guitars. The harbour inn is just on the outskirts of Buncrana however we found no need to go into town when everything you need of an evening is laid on. We had breakfast in the morning & again it was very tasty, a full range of items, toast, cereal, yogurt, & of course - the full irish. I was really impressed with this accommodation, the location, the lovely decor of the rooms & breakfast room as well as the bar/restaurant which was really inviting with a lovely log fire. I have to also mention the staff, all of them very friendly, obviously enjoying their work. I would definately recommend this accommodation & hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review, it is always lovely to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thanks again.
Kind regards
Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
109 reviews
5.4 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
395 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,137 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing