We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Inishowen”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Inishowen”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel for the past 2 summers while in Donegal for the Ballyliffin Pro-am golf event.
The Hotel is in a great location just outside the town and across the road (50m) from the beach on the shores of Lough Swilly.
The rooms are very comfortable with great beds for a sound nights sleep.
The Showers are fantastic at full power they would nearly take the skin off your back none of the dribbles that come out of some hotel showers.
The Breakfast in the morning is really good with a full choice of cereals and fruit and then on to the full Irish with Sausages, Bacon, Pudding, Mushrooms, beans and eggs -top class.
We booked a twin room that set us back €35 each - great value.
On our second morning we were to leave before breakfast but the staff left us out cereals, fruit and milk to get us going for the day and they let us check out late so we could get a shower and a change before heading back to Dublin - first class and very much appreciated.
The Pub attached to the hotel is very nice and cosy with a good atmosphere. A Taxi will bring you to Buncrana for €5.
We will be back to this hotel every year as it suits our needs perfectly.
Highly recommend.......

Room Tip: All Rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    74
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
119
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed here a few times now and found it very pleasent.

The staff are very friendly and the food is of a very good standard. The rooms are clean and tidy and the whole setting is very nice. Its a bit out of the town but the beach, golf club and picnic area are across the road.

Would recommend this to all and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSFerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, wa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved the fact when you arrived the staff actually took you to your room and checked if everything was OK with you. Soo friendly staff and the rooms were lovely and clean and spacious. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and it felt very family owned. the rooms were lovely and clean and big spacious. Highly recommend it to anyone. Not a long walk to the city center but it was on the outskirts of town. If you eat at the restaurant it is good value for money and very tasteful. All the staff everywhere was helpful. Would go there is in that part of the world again.,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazziePerth_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Front Office Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review. it is always nice to to hear that guests have been comfortable with us. Hope to see again.
Kind regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stopped here for 3 nights to explore the north of Ireland. Our family room comprised a separate room for the two kids and a lovely bathroom. Mum was in a room across the way from us and between us we had our own 'entry'. Made it very secure and private.

Lovely meals in the bar with big screen tv with whatever sporting event is on...we were able to hook into the wifi and upload our photos in a great environment with great Irish coffee.

Breakfast was cooked to order and lovely.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a safe trip home and hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards
Kathleen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just had an excellent stay at the Harbour Inn. Rooms were large and warm with 2 double beds in each. Large bathroom with full size bath and shower and endless hot water. Tea/coffee in room stocked up each day. Breakfasts were excellent and freshly cooked to order.Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Although located a little way out of Buncrana I think most visitors will have a car and so not a problem. it is right opposite a beautiful beach ideal for walking. Malin Head, Dunree Fort and Mamore Gap well worth visiting and views are spectacular. Very handy for small car ferry which cuts a chunk off the journey to the Fanad Peninsula. I would recommend the Harbour Inn to anyone visiting Inishowen. Only disappointment was the weather!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
So glad you and your Mum had a nice stay, albiet the Weather was not in your favour. Thank you for your kind comments. Hope you had a safe trip home. Perhaps you might visit again should you be in the area.
Kind regards
Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a night last week, and had a very pleasant stay. It is a standard hotel with clean and spacious rooms. The shower was lovely (beautiful soft water) and the views were amazing across Fahan beach. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was yummy! Quite nice for the price we paid. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyOTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenBuncrana, Front Office Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable with us. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Excellent stay at the hotel, rooms were large with 2 double beds in a room, with bath and shower. Staff were most helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and the evening meal allowed good variety but mostly fried food. Well sited hotel for the beach but 1.5 miles from town centre

Room Tip: Room 220 was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
15.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Property: The Harbour Inn
Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing