We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value.”

Linsfort Castle B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buncrana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linsfort Castle B&B
Ranked #8 of 8 Buncrana B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here as a birthday treat for myself last August, taking the ferry from Rathmullan to Buncranna on route.
If the owners make a place, then rest assured, this couple are genuinely nice and welcoming.
The house and grounds are like a 4star lodge, best of all, on the waterfront, and within walking distance to a beautiful wee beach.
Alan, the owner ,waited up for my return, like my daddy from yesteryear, only not knowing, I sneaked in at midnight to avoid disturbing them, and he waited up 'till after one.
He cooks a beautiful breakfast in the kitchen, as seen on their YouTube video, and makes all jams and preserves himself. All this, and modest too!!
You won't believe the price for my having a 4 poster bed and nice warm bath...35 euro !!!
What are you waiting for? I'm heading back in August, that's for sure!!

Room Tip: Bedrooms all have sea view, as I recall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed November 5, 2012

No tea/coffee provided in rooms or television, which should be stated on the website! Have a disgusting dog which is also not noted on the website, that was allowed into our room and the owner walked away and left it there! Also was aloud into the kitchen while we were eating. The room was so cold that your couldn't sleep, woke up several times freezing! The owner couldnt handle critizisim so we got through out. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mother_unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We (2 adults and a baby) spent one night here in May 2012, and they accommodated us graciously at very short notice. They are welcoming and interesting people, with values we appreciate (they grow or source their food locally, are committed to their community, etc.). The building is a fine example of a 17th/18th century manor house - spacious and somewhat austere. The owners have spent many years bringing it and its grounds up to a high standard. It's not luxurious, but it is perfectly fine for a family stay. The lounge has a fireplace and a comfortably worn old leather sofa and chairs. Books abound. The shared bathroom is clean and practical, and the fine breakfast is served in the lovely old kitchen. Our room had a superb view over Lough Swilly and the castle's gardens. (Castle here means large house - there's no sign of fortifications or knights in armour...) The setting is fabulous: a quiet spot right on the Lough, with access to the beach. All in all, a place with lots of character and a very homey ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Linsfort Castle B&B is a perfect ‘Gem’ to visit, nestled in a lovely spot of the ‘Inishowen Scenic 100’route, north of Buncrana. As soon as you arrive you’re greeted by wonderful hospitality. The couple serve, up a superb breakfast, oozing in flavour, as they produce much of their own food stuff, i.e. honey, jams, free range eggs and vegetables etc. Otherwise, they’ll bring in, locally sourced organic food such as bacon and sausages. 4 of us, had a lovely stroll to the beach after the breakfast, which was invigorating
Linsfort Castle is a great longstanding historic building, with great features and yet it has the ‘charm of a cosy cottage’. It’s situated in fine grounds and a stroll around their own garden, is also stimulating from their own small orchard, the trees, the birds to their own bee hives. This B&B is also situated, a few minutes’ walk from a lovely quiet beach and other scenic and historic areas within, to explore by car /walking or partly both. A great place to be!

Room Tip: Every room is in a lovely quiet spot of the house and yet each room has their own individual charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseyDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buncrana hotels
6.2 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
936 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
308 reviews
5.2 mi away
Westbrook House B&B
Westbrook House B&B
#5 of 8 in Buncrana
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
St Columbs House
St Columbs House
#4 of 8 in Buncrana
24 reviews
5.5 mi away
St. Bridgets B & B
St. Bridgets B & B
#1 of 8 in Buncrana
42 reviews
4.8 mi away
Caldra B&B
Caldra B&B
#6 of 8 in Buncrana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linsfort Castle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linsfort Castle B&B

Address: Linsfort | Inishowen, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buncrana
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Western shore of Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula, Linsfort Castle is a country house overlooking Lough Swilly. According to Dr John Corbett a Trinity historian who lived in the Castle from 1938 to 1943 it was originally built around 16o0 as a fortified tower house which together with a sizeable estate was made over to Paul Benson a London Stonemason, as part payment for the contract to build the Walls of the City of Derry. It was rebuilt in 1720 by his grandson Captain Arthur Benson. The house is described in “ Classic Irish Houses of the Medium size as "an H plan house of 1720 with an armorial tablet”.We offffer spacious accommodation where you can relax and feel comfortable in this lovely rural coastal setting. We have over an acre of lovely gardens and a terrace with a lough view. * large double bedrooms with Lough views - single beds can be added to make family or twin rooms * three bathrooms/shower rooms adjacent to bedrooms * large lounge with open fire, library, table games, quizzes * meals are served in our Old Irish kitchen with crane and inglenook fireplace * private sun terrace with Lough Swillly views * freeWiFi broadband ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing