We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

Not an expensive hotel and has to be judged accordingly. Even so, some small easily remedied issues could have made a great difference.. No point in having a central feature to your foyer if your staff let empty beer glasses stay on it for hours. Similarly with the tables in the foyer - we had coffee then went for a walk. Two hours later on returning the cups were still there. The staff appear completely untrained and are left to their own devices.
The rooms were spacious and reasonably modern - but you don't expect to find some one elses socks in your room!! The decor is terribly drab and whoever has designed this hotel has made no attempt to utilise the potential of a lovely view. Other than the bar there is nowhere you can sit and enjoy the view. Presumably the owners can't comprehend the possibility that some people might wish to spend some time elsewhere.
The Restaurant (for dinner) is not properly staffed and should be avoided. Breakfast is OK.
All in all very average

  • Liked — Spacious family room
  • Disliked — poorly trained staff with no initiative
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingmanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    273
    102
    44
    26
See reviews for
277
310
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Down
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

Stayed at Inishowen Gateway with my wife, son (3 yrs) and extended family. Booked a pamper break - 2 nights b&b 1 dinner and pamper session for approx. E179 per person. Great value, the rooms were spacious, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast good, food very good overall, scenery great, facilities great - pity about the weather. No
complaints. Would stay again, the package provided great value.

  • Liked — facilities, staff, food.
  • Disliked — Limited entertainment/attractions in Buncrana.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lecalecodown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Very disappointed. Part of a large family/golfing group on our annual holiday. Hotel staff did their best, but under a lot of pressure as not enough staff to deal with everything. Rooms fine, views spectacular, food very very average. Frozen onion rings on an a la carte menu, no thanks! Bar staff rude and closed the residents bar at night when it suited them. Wheelchair bathroom in the lobby will manage a small childs wheelchair and that is it. Management did not seem to care. Childrens play are not open , yet advertised as so on the Hotel website. I won't be returning to this Hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank DublinMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed in the Inishowen Gateway hotel for 2 nights (including 1 dinner). We had a young child with us and found a total lack of facilities in the hotel. Most hotels will have a "family room" which will have a fridge, microwave, steriliser etc. This hotel had none of these (including a fridge in the room) - the only concession was a baby changing unit in the toilets with a large open bin for nappies - not a sealed sanitary unit. The breakfast was bog standard - the "fresh fruit" on the menu are actually just apples and oranges, the "selection of bread" was croissants with icing sugar sprinkled on them. I had tried to book a spa treatment before going but that section of their website was down, by the time we checked in I wasn't able to get an appointment. On the plus side I found that the cleaniness of the rooms and hotel were of a high standard but on the whole this is a decidedly mediocre hotel.

  • Liked — Nice views, especially in the hotel bar.
  • Disliked — Mean breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

There was building work ongoing whilst we were there, but caused no noise or bother to our stay. The hotel was relaxing, we managed to get room 403 looking onto the sea and golf course, such a pleasant & homely stay, food was good however felt the cooked breakfast was thrown together and all tasted the same, there wasnt a great selection of cereal & most of everything eg; croisants & fruit was gone and at that time there was still another hour until breakfast finished. We ate in the harbour inn just a few minutes drive up the road for lunch both days, the food it out of this world and reasonable. Booked a massage, staff very friendly however when I went to pay afterwards they told me it was more expensive than what the health & beauty booklet quoted,but soon solved. Will visit again

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

I have to ask as a local resident in Buncrana if the staff in the bar are trained at all. For example, recently 10 of us went down for bar food in the Inishowen Gateway Hotel. We ordered from the menu and the food arrived. Not once did the waitress come back to ask if everything was ok and if anything else was required. Also, whilst eating we had finished our drinks and I wanted to order another drink for the group. Close by 5 bar men stood behind the bar talking (there were not many customers in the hotel that night) and I had to try for 10 minutes to catch their attention. Eventually I had to get off my chair and call one of the bar men over to take an order - not good enough!!

An example of unfriendly staff - at Christmas time I had to purchase 2 vouchers from the hotel for their Spa costing 240 Euro altogether. The receptionist barely lifted her head when I requested the vouchers, answered the phone whilst filling in the details and didn't even say thankyou. A friendly greeting and thanks very much would have been nice after all I was handing over cash. The girls who work in the Spa are lovely, very friendly and good at their jobs but a lot of the other staff, mainly waiting staff and bar people need training in friendliness and how to deal with the public.

  • Disliked — Poor service/staff attitude
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

I booked this hotel for a special treat for my sisters hen pampering weekend. My mother, sisters and I went here for a relaxing 2 nights. We got beautiful sunshine and the views from our bedrooms onto the beach was really scenic, overlooking the hotel golf course.

The service from staff in general was average - one girl we found very unfriendly but the remainder of the staff were pleasant. We enjoyed the leisure facilities although on Saturday's and Sunday's the leisure centre doesn't open until 9am, the breakfast stops at 10am so all you have is an hour to spend in the leisure centre in the morning - not great this but we put up with it.

The breakfast was fine - the rooms were basic - overall I found this hotel average rating- nothing fancy but nice for a relaxing break away from it all. We found lovely walks on the beach and a nice restaurant near by called THE HARBOUR - the food in the hotel wasn't great...
Overall though I would recommend this hotel - and would return for a short break again.

  • Liked — The Leisure facilities and close walk to beach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IRELANDSOUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing