We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

just back from a wonderful 4 night stay in the inishowen gateway hotel. had a wonderful time, nice hotel, staff friendly, food very good and the childrens club excellent. Would recomend this hotel to anyone but especially for families, The hotel is offering great deals for familes and over 55,s.Spa was very nice would highly recommend a facial from Louise also the lesiure centre and pool excellent.Nice views from the hotel of lough swilly.Ideal base for sight-seeing and touring Donegal

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryclaresaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    273
    101
    44
    26
See reviews for
277
308
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

recently stayed with my husband my mother and mother in law. Rooms clean lovely sea view value for money. Staff friendly and helpful. I have special dietry needs that was no problem could not have been more helpful.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ANDYANDANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I reviewed this hotel before on trip advisor, and have just recently stayed in it again. The food has greatly improved, it is now standard 3 star food. Everything else is as per my previous review. A good 3 star hotel, good facilities, clean, well maintained, great kids club, nice pool, very friendly staff. i would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cultural-Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

The staff in this hotel are very friendly, both at reception and cleaning staff. The planet active was by far the best part of the hotel my children really had a great time, the staff are friendly, informative and it feels very safe. The staff are of the mature age group, not young ones just out of school which was a real bonus, as they felt much happier to wait there without parents. Hotel decor really needs an overhall!!! Food every night was slow.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westmoore19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed for a wedding. Lobby looks good but the mock marble pillars say it all really about this hotel. The halls were really dated and tatty and for 145 Euro a night, I was hoping the rooms where better than the halls. Very spacious and clean room but dated. The curtains where plastic lined and the plastic was peeling off them. When got to bed the bed springs were coming through the matteress. Complained, got shown to two other rooms and beds were all of same quality. Ready for the skip. Ended in a family room where two singles beds were newish and comfortable. Staff told us that one half of the hotel had been renovated and all the old furniture had been moved to the part of the hotel we were staying in, and suggested that we pushed the beds together ourselves! (Yes great suggestion when I'm 6 months pregnant!)

Breakfast was okay, the white pudding was brown from being murdered in the deep fat fryer as was the black pudding deep fat fryer cremated.

I really wouldn't book a spa weekend here (the place was laced with kids which isn't exactly relaxing) and maybe that was the point of keeping banjaxed beds, so that you would wake with back pain and spend a fortune in the Spa getting treatments.

On a positive note, the staff were lovely and very friendly. It's not there fault they are working in a substandard hotel.

Really, for the quality of the rooms the hotel should be charging half the price. They were happy to charge me the same as a better quality of room in the hotel but yet not deliver the standard of which I had paid for.

This hotel is fine if you are drunk and just want a place to crash and don't mind being charged over the odds for it.

I would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmieLou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We had a really enjoyable stay, clean and spacious seaview room, wonderful meal with very attentive staff. The real bonus however was the facilities for young children, the indoor swimming pool and planet Active. It catered for the children 10am to 12pm and 7pm to 9pm, it even had a 9.30pm movie night. My boys loved it, there was an indoor play area, lots of toys and computer games also great staff. I will definately be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbourlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here with my husband and our 15 month old recently. The hotel is a bit shabby looking from the outside but it was in better shape inside. We had requested a cot for our baby and it was set up and made up with linen etc when we arrived. We had a nice big room with a huge bathroom. There was no soap etc in the bathroom but a trip to recpetion soon put that right. I wouldn't fault the room at all. It was very comfortable.

The breakfast room was a bit small and while we were almost first in both mornings it was starting to get a little crowded when we were leaving. I think its the same room for dinner so its not really what I would call a fab dining room (just a little boring and functional) We attended a wedding in the function room and that was very good. The function room is purpose built and away from all the rooms. There was a wedding the night before also and though our room was to the front of the hotel and close to the function room we heard nothing.

We also made use of the swimming pool and it was good.
The staff in the leisure area and the waiting staff in the function room and breakfast room were great. The staff on reception though (first impressions and all that) were not!
We were checked in without as much as a smile or an enjoy yuour stay! She did however feel the need to tell me that my baby was probably too young for their kiddies area. I didn't ask anything about the kiddies area and this information was volunteered despite the fact that the website states they have a seperate area for toddlers and a baby changing room. I found it a little bizarre!

All in all - we stayed there as we were attending a wedding and while I wouldn't go back I would recommend it with caveats!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
11.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Speenoge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing