We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel is really lovely, enjoyed our stay. Staff were lovely, hotel itself is lovely, breakfast was good and had a great night sleep.
The only thing I can say anything bad about was the evening meal we had. Just wasnt our kind of food. Would definitely go back but eat in the bar rather than yhe upstairs restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniexxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We have such a friendly and helpful team that are willing to go out of their way to ensure that all guests have a wonderful and memorable stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the team and they were thrilled to receive them. The Peninsula Restaurant is proven to be a popular choice of dinning, as the views from it are phenomenal looking out over the Lough Swilly and Donegal mountains. Our Executive Chef and his team have a large variety of dishes to choose from on our menus, our dinner menu changes daily, hopefully on your next trip you will find something to tickle your taste buds.
I very much hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Inishowen Gateway Hotel.
Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    292
    106
    46
    29
See reviews for
301
325
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arranmore, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

a nice place to stay when you get a room to the seaside. Moderate restaurant and bar prices. the rooms are well equiped, clean and what you get for your money it is ok. if you are travelling with your pet (dog or cat) no need to contact the concierge as until now the management of that hotel (like most in ireland) do not understand that there is a great market of guests who would like to travel with their pets. even so i explained them that my dog does not steal towels, smoke in a nonsmoking room, does not turn on the tv too loud, does not clean his shoes in the curtain, does not get drunk and ruin the furniture or start a fight.

Room Tip: try to get a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I am also pleased that you enjoyed most elements of your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and our bedrooms. We currently don’t allow pets to stay in the hotel only service dogs, this is something we will look at in the near future. I very much hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Inishowen Gateway Hotel.
Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We came for a wedding which was being held at the hotel and decided to make it a long weekend.
The hotel was clean and had everything you would expect of a local (3*) type hotel. The view from our bedroom over the golf course and out to sea was lovely and we managed to get the room to a temperature we liked. The beds were hard but ok and the bathroom was adequate. Breakfast was very good if you wanted a cooked breakfast but was a little pathetic if you didn't. The bar was busy with good live music on the Thursday when we arrived.
Al in all it was ok!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lawyersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I very much appreciate your constructive feedback, which is vital in our business as we strive to continually improve the service we offer to our guests.

Our location is indeed lovely looking out over the Lough Swilly and golf course. I am disappointed to learn you found the bed hard as often get positive comments on how comfortable the beds are. I would hope that this didn't detract from your overall stay.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleblayney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on 21st feb 2014, we had a great weekend..this is a beautiful hotel with stunning views..the staff are very friendly and helpful..we had bar food on 1st night and it was excellent, our meal was included on 2nd nite and was upstairs in the restaurant..this was superb..the crème brulee was best dessert ive ever had!!!!!! Will definitely return and will take the kids the next time very family friendly

Room Tip: request a sea view it is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words on Trip Advisor.
I was thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable time here at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel.
Our location is certainly a big bonus situated along the Golf Course with exceptional views overlooking the Lough Swilly and Donegal Mountains.
It was lovely to hear that you found the food during your visit to be of such a high standard. Our head chef and his team endeavour to offer an exceptional dining experience of simple, yet delicious Irish cuisine using top local and seasonal ingredients.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our staff. It always gives me great pleasure to learn that our team give our guests such a memorable experience and I am happy to hear that all your needs were accommodated. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to the team.
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is not just a place to relax and unwind; it’s also full of activities both outdoors and within the Hotel itself the kids would have a fantastic time in Planet Active.

On behalf of everybody here, sincere thanks again for your lovely review and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Set in a stunning location on the shores of Lough Swilly, this warm and friendly hotel couldn't have handled our wedding more beautifully. What raises the Gateway above all others is the charm, generosity and professionalism of all staff, who treated us like royalty. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to adults and children alike and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelat117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Once again my congratulations on your wedding and I hope you are both keeping well. I appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments and feedback.
We couldn’t be more pleased that you had such a great experience celebrating your wedding day at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel. Providing our guests with exceptional service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your wedding day and stay was a memorable one. The Inishowen Gateway Hotel enjoys a truly romantic setting being surrounded by panoramic views of the Lough Swilly and Donegal Mountains. I am glad you extended your stay with us in our bridal suite and enjoyed your time in Inishowen for your honeymoon. Our bridal suite is truly such a special treat. We hope you will come visit us again soon.
On behalf of everybody here, we look forward to welcoming both back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel & everything was faultless.
Rooms are Spotless, Service is very good and the staff are so helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was fresh & Plentiful, and our evening meal in the bar was fab!
I look forward to returning soon! :)

Room Tip: a room with a view of the lough is definitely a bonus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel recently and thank you for taking the time and effort to share your views on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

It was lovely to read that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. We feel very privileged to have such diligent and hardworking staff as part of the team. I will most definitely pass on your kind words.

We regularly run great special offers as we endeavour to create a variety of breaks to suit all budget types, it is great to see that you availed of one of these.

I am also happy to hear that you had a fabulous meal in the bar. The Peninsula Bar is a popular and place to eat in an informal setting, offering an extensive bar menu with a wide range of dining options to choose from, which also offers a relaxed and comfortable ambience with music every Saturday night.

I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast selection; we endeavour to try and use fresh local produce when possible so I am delighted to hear that it was enjoyed by you.

On behalf of everyone here, sincere thanks once again for your kind comments and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on our final night of a week long tour of Donegal. The hotel is in a great location and is very nice indeed. The staff are friendly and the bar food is very fine. The rooms are big and clean and the views from the breakfast room are lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgregthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review after you recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to read your comments.

As you mentioned our location is indeed perfect, we are very fortunate to be in a much sought after location, surrounded by panoramic views of Lough Swilly and the Donegal mountains.
Your encouraging words on our staff are much appreciated. I am also happy to hear that you had a fabulous meal in the bar. The Peninsula Bar is a popular and place to eat in an informal setting, offering an extensive bar menu with a wide range of dining options to choose from I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to our head chef and his team.

Many thanks also for your kind words on our housekeeping, we pride ourselves with a reputation for high standards of housekeeping and comfort, and it is great to hear that this has been experienced by you.

I will ensure to pass on all your lovely feedback to the rest of the staff.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
295 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
657 reviews
15.7 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing