We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for our wedding and honeymoon”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Set in a stunning location on the shores of Lough Swilly, this warm and friendly hotel couldn't have handled our wedding more beautifully. What raises the Gateway above all others is the charm, generosity and professionalism of all staff, who treated us like royalty. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to adults and children alike and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelat117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Once again my congratulations on your wedding and I hope you are both keeping well. I appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments and feedback.
We couldn’t be more pleased that you had such a great experience celebrating your wedding day at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel. Providing our guests with exceptional service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your wedding day and stay was a memorable one. The Inishowen Gateway Hotel enjoys a truly romantic setting being surrounded by panoramic views of the Lough Swilly and Donegal Mountains. I am glad you extended your stay with us in our bridal suite and enjoyed your time in Inishowen for your honeymoon. Our bridal suite is truly such a special treat. We hope you will come visit us again soon.
On behalf of everybody here, we look forward to welcoming both back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for Inishowen Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 916 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel & everything was faultless.
Rooms are Spotless, Service is very good and the staff are so helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was fresh & Plentiful, and our evening meal in the bar was fab!
I look forward to returning soon! :)

Room Tip: a room with a view of the lough is definitely a bonus!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel recently and thank you for taking the time and effort to share your views on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

It was lovely to read that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. We feel very privileged to have such diligent and hardworking staff as part of the team. I will most definitely pass on your kind words.

We regularly run great special offers as we endeavour to create a variety of breaks to suit all budget types, it is great to see that you availed of one of these.

I am also happy to hear that you had a fabulous meal in the bar. The Peninsula Bar is a popular and place to eat in an informal setting, offering an extensive bar menu with a wide range of dining options to choose from, which also offers a relaxed and comfortable ambience with music every Saturday night.

I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast selection; we endeavour to try and use fresh local produce when possible so I am delighted to hear that it was enjoyed by you.

On behalf of everyone here, sincere thanks once again for your kind comments and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on our final night of a week long tour of Donegal. The hotel is in a great location and is very nice indeed. The staff are friendly and the bar food is very fine. The rooms are big and clean and the views from the breakfast room are lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgregthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review after you recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to read your comments.

As you mentioned our location is indeed perfect, we are very fortunate to be in a much sought after location, surrounded by panoramic views of Lough Swilly and the Donegal mountains.
Your encouraging words on our staff are much appreciated. I am also happy to hear that you had a fabulous meal in the bar. The Peninsula Bar is a popular and place to eat in an informal setting, offering an extensive bar menu with a wide range of dining options to choose from I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to our head chef and his team.

Many thanks also for your kind words on our housekeeping, we pride ourselves with a reputation for high standards of housekeeping and comfort, and it is great to hear that this has been experienced by you.

I will ensure to pass on all your lovely feedback to the rest of the staff.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Buncrana is a favourite weekend getaway for us, as it is only a couple of hours drive away. This was our second stay in the Inishowen Gateway (we have also stayed in their other hotel the Lake of Shadows). On this trip we had a sea view room. Very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is ample but the hot food can be overcooked if you breakfast late. There are plenty of cereals, cold meats and fruit available too. Evening meals were of a good standard, and service was good even though it was very busy on the Saturday night. There was live music in the hotel bar, and also at the pub a few hundred yards away. The swimming pool is well attended and changing areas clean. There are beautiful walks around Lough Swilly - it really is a relaxing weekend break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laharnalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review on Trip Advisor and we are delighted you enjoyed your return stay with us. Our sea view rooms have fantastic view overlooking the Lough Swilly and Golf course.

Your constructive feedback regarding cooked breakfast is noted and will be brought to the attention of our head chef. We offer a large breakfast selection to cater for all our guests needs; I am pleased you enjoyed your evening meals we endeavour to try and use fresh local produce when possible. We have live band in the Peninsula Bar every Saturday night which is enjoyed by our guests and locals.

I am delighted that you availed of the lesiure facilities, it is a fantastic facility, and you had the opportunity to take advantage of the beautiful walk ways near the hotel during this spell of bad weather and I hope you left us relaxed and rejuvenated.

On behalf of everyone here, sincere thanks once again for your kind comments and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Booked here to stay as was going for a meal in buncrana, and at €59 per room it was cheaper than a taxi back to letterkenny. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff, went to room where the decor is very dated and tired. Exceptionally clean though and functional apart from the TV which didn't really work. A bit outside the town so taxi required to and from restaurant. Didn't use leisure facilities so can't comment. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Seek a room to the rear great views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This Hotel is well worth a visit. From the minute you enter the door the service is very good. The staff at the Inishowen Gateway are so helpful and friendly. I look forward to returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shep88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

I am delighted to read your positive feedback following your stay here at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel and the lovely comment regarding our staff and their friendliness, they will be delighted to hear this. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards Siobhan Devine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Inishowen Gateway on Sunday 19th January for one night. We got a deal on the hotel's website for DBB for £33 each. This hotel is only 18 miles from our home and we have passed it many times but never stayed. As we just wanted to chill for a night it suited us to go somewhere within a half hour drive. We were welcomed warmly and given a room overlooking the golf course and lough swilly. There was a king size bed and a single in the room. We enjoyed an early evening drink in the bar and then relaxed for a few hours before enjoying a delicious four course meal served in the bar. The restaurant doesn't appear to open on a Sunday night but the bar is really nice and if you get a table near the window so much the better. We really couldn't fault the food, a sirloin steak was cooked medium as requested and the salmon was delicious. The staff were pleasant and helpful and appeared relaxed and unhurried. We enjoyed a good nights rest in a comfortable bed with the best pillows we've ever experienced in a hotel. Next morning breakfast was served in the restaurant and offered fresh fruit, cereals, hams, cheeses and various breads and pastries as well as a very well executed full Irish. We lingered at our table,marvelled at the bright, sunny
January morning and wished we had more time to enjoy the view to Rathmullan and inch island. We consoled ourselves by agreeing to return again very soon for another lazy Sunday. At £66 for two this is the best value overnight stay in the north west of Ireland.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank emeraldgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review after you recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your brief time with us and found it so relaxing.
Your kind comments on our bedrooms are much appreciated, we pride ourselves with a reputation for high standards of housekeeping and comfort, and it is great to hear that this has been experienced by you.
Many thanks also for your positive feedback regarding both your four course meal you received in the bar and the wide variety of our breakfast selection. We endeavour to try and use fresh local produce when possible so I am delighted to hear that it was delicious.

I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff as they take every effort to make our guests stay an enjoyable and memorable one.
On behalf of everybody here, thank you once again for your wonderful feedback which I have shared with the entire team.

I do hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
303 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,134 reviews
15.7 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
273 reviews
16.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: $80 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing