We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Food and Functions review”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Food and Functions review”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having grown up in the area, I have been here several (dozen) times over the years, both for meals and functions.
At all times I have always found the staff to be friendly, and the food to be very good.
The Function rooms are spacious, and nicely laid out - again with good staff and good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    284
    105
    45
    29
See reviews for
291
322
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.I.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great family friendly hotel - stayed in June 2012 as part of the Newsletter Short break offer - initially had booked for two nights, but impressed so stayed an extra night.

The childrens play area was a great bonus - our two year old toddler had the place to herself most nights, and the staff were good.

Overall a super break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

my family (mum dad brother uncle and cousin) stayed in the inishowen hotel from the 8th to the 10th and i have to say it was amazing the rooms are at standerd condition but every clean and we weren't in the room that much just at night when we came back from the bar. the beds are so comfy i went to sleep straight away. its right beside a peer which you can drive onto and do some fishing there are loads of eals i caught 3 eals a small pollick fish and a crab loads of bars /pubs and lots of shops in buncranna town just minutes away breakfast was yummy it was a buffet of like sausages bacon fried egg scrammbled egg and pastrys like a cinamon roll which was lovely the dinners are nice aswell. there is planet active and planet imagination which you can go down and have movie nights from 9 and from half 11 u can go down and make things like t-shirt printing i didnt want to leave but good times come to an end

Room Tip: the rooms with the sea view are beautiful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you thought school meals were the acme of gourmet dining then you will love this hotel, otherwise keep well clear. Decent local ingredients are ruined eg carbonised steak ,watery fish and a pasta sauce identical to wallpaper paste. Waitresses are cheerful but rather few on the ground.Breakfast entails queuing to gain entrance to a dining room that is half empty and then finding that they have run out of cooked food.
The bedrooms above the spa lull you to sleep with the throb of industrial machinery,nice!
Away for some Bank Holiday relaxation? Well the staff at this hotel have also gone on holiday, no managers, swimming pool not open,rooms not cleaned.
No, we did not enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Check which ones are not near air conditioning units, pumps for the pool or whatever else blighted o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdiscos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for weekend break. Good location for travelling around Donegal. Rooms clean reasonable standard. Don't bother booking deal with dinner included. Food average at best. Pub right beside hotel had much better menu and good food. Fair price for high season. Would be nice to have an outside area or garden to sit in. Right on golf course no outside space apart from carpark. Lovely area though only a two hour drive from me one I had not explored before. Staff ok. Not rude but not friendly either. Reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband, 3 children (11, 8 and 6) and I are just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and we had a fabulous time! Our room overlooked the car park, not the best of views, but we had no problem sleeping at night and noise was not an issue. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious (even with a camp bed located at the foot of the double bed!!)
Our package included daily sessions for the children in Planet Active and one session each at Planet Imagination - the kids loved it all!! The staff in the kids club are amazing - very friendly and great fun to be around. We felt very happy and safe leaving our children with them.
The leisure facilities were also very clean and the children enjoyed a couple of swim sessions every day.
The weather wasn't great while we were in Buncrana, but it didn't matter as we had to force the children to leave the hotel and go for a walk along the seafront - they were having too much fun within the hotel complex!
The food in the restaurant is best described as good old fashioned Irish cuisine - which suited us perfectly. It was tasty, warm and plentiful. However, we ate in the bar one lunchtime and were very disappointed with the paninis (maybe the chef was having an off day?!).
We found all the staff, no matter where we were within the complex, to be polite, friendly and very helpful.
This was our first visit to this hotel but it definitely won't be our last!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night, whilst on our cycling tour of Ireland. Room overlooking golf course. Rooms comfy, Clean and tidy. Food quite good. more pub gastro menu, but cannot complain. Service was very good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
286 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
118 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing