We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return trip better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

a year since last visit room 406 family room over looked the car park .room 411 overlooked a brick wall last time improvement but room was very warm had to open window high road noise .2 double beds was ideal for 2 young children .large stain on carpet .very clean bathroom pool area tiles missing on wall behind childrens pool . .great play area children loved it .deal included 4 course meal for adults only breakfast was very good overall children loved it a big hit with them .

Room Tip: all family rooms are at the far end of hotel 411 brick wall 406 car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 935 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the Innishowen Gateway and found it still represents great value for money. We were on a 2 day deal and despite the restaurant being very busy on the Sunday evening the service was good and the staff pleasant and efficient. The restaurant has been moved to the 1st floor since our previous visit which is a great improvement as the room is bigger and there are views of the golf course and Lough Swilly from it. We had asked for a non-smoking room with a view of the lough and that is what we got. The room was large and clean as was the bathroom and the decor was tasteful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to tour the Innisowen pennisular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor with a view over the golf coursr towards Lough Swilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnergeticSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times. Great value, clean and spacious rooms, super food and really helpful, friendly staff. We now take friends with us so we can share the experience wider. We intend to go back many more times!

Room Tip: Check on-line prices and then phone for better deal and choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay.The hotel is well maintained with spacious,clean rooms.Ours overlooked Lough Swilly and the golf course.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent..they know how to cook fish.
I recommend the salmon lubricated with a pint of Guinness.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nibbers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Modern purpose built hotel with plenty of parking. Clean spacious room and bathroom. Evening meal was good hotel standard, reasonably priced and breakfast was a well laid out self service. Toaster was a nuisance, but eventually got going properly.....so no big problem.
Staff were very friendly at reception and provided a charger for my mobile....Thank You xx.
The leisure centre could be accessed via the hotel corridor but there were little or no signs to it. Glad we found it, the staff there were great, it was clean, and the pool was a joy to have all to ourselves. Lovely 3 days relaxing in the beautiful area of Lough Swilly.
Who was the singer in the Bar? Sang all the oldies for all the oldies......X Factor watch out!!!

Room Tip: If you are booking, ask for a room overlooking Lough Swilly, beautiful views. The other side overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caesar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

located at the entrance of beautiful buncrana. beautiful views of lough swilly the gateway hotel offers affordable accommodation at very reasonable rates. fully kitted out gym pool sauna and steam with kiddie pool. close proximity to derry and and an ideal location to stay for derrys city of culture. rooms are of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel is clean and tidy, rooms spacious and comfortable, however there was so much to do that very little time was spent int the room.

The leisure centre is family friendly. We spent an hour each morning in the pool, staff were friendly and helpful and pool area was clean. There is a small kids pool for our wee one and a proper 20m pool for the bigger kids and adults. There was also a hot tub, sauna and steam room.

The golf club next door is complimentary for hotel guests and we played 3 rounds, a lovely 9 hole link course.

The bar was child friendly and we had lunch and evening meal in it, great service and good quality food. Breakfast was excellent, a range of cooked food and cereals, fruit and breads.

The staff are friendly and helpful, would recommend to anyone looking for a family friendly break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiallS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
308 reviews
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,921 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,148 reviews
16.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
15.7 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway Hotel

Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: $67 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inishowen Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing