We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Break in Donegal”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Saintfield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lazy Break in Donegal”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Modern purpose built hotel with plenty of parking. Clean spacious room and bathroom. Evening meal was good hotel standard, reasonably priced and breakfast was a well laid out self service. Toaster was a nuisance, but eventually got going properly.....so no big problem.
Staff were very friendly at reception and provided a charger for my mobile....Thank You xx.
The leisure centre could be accessed via the hotel corridor but there were little or no signs to it. Glad we found it, the staff there were great, it was clean, and the pool was a joy to have all to ourselves. Lovely 3 days relaxing in the beautiful area of Lough Swilly.
Who was the singer in the Bar? Sang all the oldies for all the oldies......X Factor watch out!!!

Room Tip: If you are booking, ask for a room overlooking Lough Swilly, beautiful views. The other side overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caesar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    284
    105
    45
    29
See reviews for
291
322
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

located at the entrance of beautiful buncrana. beautiful views of lough swilly the gateway hotel offers affordable accommodation at very reasonable rates. fully kitted out gym pool sauna and steam with kiddie pool. close proximity to derry and and an ideal location to stay for derrys city of culture. rooms are of a very high standard.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel is clean and tidy, rooms spacious and comfortable, however there was so much to do that very little time was spent int the room.

The leisure centre is family friendly. We spent an hour each morning in the pool, staff were friendly and helpful and pool area was clean. There is a small kids pool for our wee one and a proper 20m pool for the bigger kids and adults. There was also a hot tub, sauna and steam room.

The golf club next door is complimentary for hotel guests and we played 3 rounds, a lovely 9 hole link course.

The bar was child friendly and we had lunch and evening meal in it, great service and good quality food. Breakfast was excellent, a range of cooked food and cereals, fruit and breads.

The staff are friendly and helpful, would recommend to anyone looking for a family friendly break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh northern irealnd
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just home from a lovely break at the Inishowen Gateway with my husband and 2 year old daughter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had dinner in the restaurant on the 1st night food and service was perfect, no complaints. Breakfast was good and fresh we went early so nice seat overlooking the bay. We had carvery lunch on Sunday and this was very nice although did feel a bit like a school canteen.Our room was lovely, we had a lovely view over the bay and the sunset was just spectacular. My only complaint about the room was the smell in the bathroom but don't let this put you off. We spent a lot of time in the children's play area which is a credit to the hotel, loads for kids to play with and also the ball pools, slides etc. There was even a surprise visit from the Easter Bunny! We visited the leisure centre once during our stay we found it a bit cold for our 2 year old but it was freezing outside! We went for a nice walk up to the play park which is about 10 mins away if you want a change of scenery. Will definitely return to this hotel and will be recommending to all my friends with kids. My advice is book early to ensure you get a good room!!

Room Tip: Book early and get a room on the second floor with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed on 2nite incl dinner offer.( 2adults, kids 8,4 & 2).
Negatives: Hotel quite dated. Rooms were surface clean but need deep clean & modernised. We were on bottom floor overlooking car park...not good at all. Dinner included in offer -awful. All sent back uneaten. Staff not friendly / helpful. Just said 'well nobody else has complained' no offer of alternative and continued to charge for jug of juice. We cancelled our reservation for dinner the next day & never spent another penny on food / drink in this hotel. They were to speak to manager about this but nobody approached us. Found staff quite rude. Younger girls in restaurant more pleasant. We found a great wee place called 'lake of shadows 'in the town. This is a sister hotel & far superior in food & friendliness of staff.
Positives- fantastic place for kids. The pool is great & the only reason most families we met came to this hotel is the brilliant play area in basement of the hotel. 'Planet Active!' Great place not to be missed. Children absolutely loved it & the staff could not have been friendlier / more helpful.
So all in all fantastic place for kids but NOT for adults.......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights this week with my Wife and two kids.
Check-in was a breeze and very friendly, and both of our kids got a complementary Easter egg which was a nice touch.
We were given directions to our room which we duly found on the first floor, however it was facing the car park.
I'm going to fast-forward somewhat to the info that I feel will be relevant to readers of this review.
This hotel has some great positives but unfortunately some negatives, so I'll start with the positives.
ALL of the staff that we encountered were very polite and professional.
This ranged from the girls on reception to the staff in the restaurant and the guys in the leisure centre.
I feel that a gold star should be awarded to the girls in the kids club (Kirsty and colleagues) on the lower level, as they made our kids feel right at home, and our kids loved each visit to the play area especially the movie nights and the tee-shirt painting session.
The food served in the evening meal was very good, and I can highly recommend the chowder. I had it twice!
The breakfast buffet was pretty average, and there was a plentiful supply of cooked food and cereals, however the scrambled egg was quite unusual in the sense that it seemed like a wobbly egg mousse and not "scrambled egg".
The room was comfortably warm and there was a controller that allowed us to adjust the temperature as we wished.
The shower was excellent and was very powerful and there was no problem with water pressure or water temperature for running a bath.
The TV had a built in DVD player so you could bring your own DVDs to keep your kids entertained, or you can rent them at reception for a small fee.
The beds were very comfortable and a great night's sleep was had by all of us on all three nights.
The view from the dining room was beautiful, and overlooks a golf course and beautiful mountains and lough Swilly.
The leisure centre is good also with a well equipped gym, and there is a decent size of swimming pool that I did not try as I swim like an anchor. There is a also a kids swilmming pool that is just 400mm deep and ideal for young swimmers / paddlers. There is also a sauna and steam room which I felt could have been slightly hotter, but maybe that's just me.
On a slightly negative note however, I would have to say that our room although it was clean and warm, it was quite dated and there were cracks in the wall and along the coving.
For some reason the ground underneath the carpet seemed to be quite uneven / bumpy in places also and was very noticable when walking in bare feet or socks.
The bathroom was also quite dated and the fittings were obviously not changed in quite some time, and paint was peeling from the bath panel.
I would recommend this hotel to parents of young kids (ours are aged 5 and 7 and they loved it) as the kids club is very good, and there are two sessions daily from 9am to 11am and then from 6:30pm to 8:30pm or later (around 10pm) if there is a movie night.

In general we came away with an overall positive feeling about the hotel, although parts of it could benefit from a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water. It may cost a little more, but the view will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fireballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This Hotel is in a perfect picturesque location and has wonderful views across lough swilly. We checked in very efficiently and head to our room on ground floor facing the sea. As we entered our room we were hit with a overpowering smell of stale cigarette smoke. Being Irish, we were reluctant to complain but as we sat there we felt we had no choice. I went to reception and they apologised and promptly gave us another room, another non smoking room on first floor facing the car park this time, and this room again stank of cigarettes. The hotel was busy with a wedding so we decided there was no point asking to move again and settled for buying a can of Oust!
The next morning at breakfast, the food was very average and pretty overlooked, but even worse the bread was mouldy! See my picture. This sums the place up really. It has nice staff but the quality of rooms, food and details just lacking for the price they charge. A pity really.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boddahdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
286 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
118 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing