We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, well maintained, fully organised hotel”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cosy, well maintained, fully organised hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed with my husband for 2 nights at the inishowen gateway hotel, and loved it! This hotel is friendly, almost family like, and offers a wonderful restaurant or bar food. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely and reasonably priced. Our room looked out over the golf course and lough and was a wonderful sight for sore eyes!! The room had two beds, one double and one single. It was immaculately clean, crisp linen, and spacious bathroom with bath and shower over it. There was a flat screen tv with good choice of channels and tea & coffee facilities.
The real jewel here was the spa!! Fabulous place with great staff. If you stay here ,go for the hydrotherapy bath. It's amazing and Margaret, a wonderful masseuse.The seagrass spa is SO worth it, so make your appointments before you go.
There was entertainment in the bar on saturday night, and there's also a leisure centre, with pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Overall, a nice hotel, good food, amazing spa, and wonderful views with golf thrown in!!!

Room Tip: Only one floor in hotel so do ask for room with view of lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    282
    105
    45
    28
See reviews for
289
322
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Inishowen Gateway is located just on the approach to Buncrana so ideal for travellers wishing to tour the peninsula. Buncrana itself is quite a small town but the surrounding scenery and its proximity to Letterkenny and Derry make it a great base.
This hotel has the feel of a family run business, I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and leisure and always found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The decor of the rooms is country and homely rather than state of the art modern, but on a stormy night, they're very cosy looking out over the golf course. All rooms are large and spotlessly clean with usual facilities e.g. TV, large ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities etc.
For families the hotel has transformed its former nightclub into a play area with entertainment for all ages including soft ball area, books, and games (Wii or playstation, I'm not sure which) on offer, also pool tables and air hockey etc.
There is also a leisure centre and spa treatments but unfortunately I never got around to there, though I did walk around leisure centre and it looked lovely.
I have usually been able to get great rates at the hotel and the food is of a very high standard for hotel fare.
All in all I'd heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof5Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonju, South Korea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed there with my wife, 2 nights when getting a closer look at Donegal's peninsulas.
Room we have been offered was spacious and spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom.
Since we spent most of the time outdoor, all I can say that whenever we came back from our excursions, the atmosphere was cosy and welcome.
Irish breakfast served from 7 a.m. untill 10 a.m. without any faults.
Small misunderstanding at the check out have been solved in no time(however I still think that hiding the diner's voucher behind the room's key in the booklet without telling people in's not the best idea).
Lack of communication between reception and restaurant as we arrived for dinner, announced that we are"package guests" with dinner that evening, but we cannot present the voucher as we have left it upstairs. We have been assured that it does not present any problem, everything will be OK. My credit card statement on departure said different. The dinner was charged.
However like I said it was solved by the reception very quickly.
Overall impression very good

Room Tip: Ask for golf course and seaview room, fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We recently stayed at the Inishowen Gateway in Buncrana having booked it online based on what the web page showed us. It is nothing like the web page!!! On arrival we were greeted at reception by the (sorry snarled at to be precise!!!!) receptionist(and I use that term loosely!!!) with the words "YOU FOR CHECK IN" while she carried on a conversation on the phone!!! I was so incensed by her attitude to us that had I not just driven for 5 hours to get there I would have turned and walked straight back out!!!!! We then proceeded to our room which I can only describe as Dull and Dreary"!! That evening we went for dinner
in the hotel restaurant where I must admit the waitress was a lovely friendly young lady and very attentive to our needs. Unfortunately the less said about the food the better it was simply awful !!!!!!
No entertainment whatsover was provided in the hotel throughout our stay. The decor right throughout the hotel could only be described as drab and dreary. A major facelift is definitely required. On a more positive note apart from the young lady called Marie who
made no attempt to apologise for her rudeness at check in and continued her aloofness
throughout our stay the rest of the staff in the hotel were incedibly friendly and helpful and definitely made our stay bearable. Nothing would ever bring me back to the Inishowen Gateway again!!! Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickB8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Spent a night here recently as we were attending a wedding in the area. The room rate was slightly on the pricey side (€89) but did include breakfast. My only issue was the fact that I specifically requested a non-smoking room and (despite the sign on the door) the room quite clearly smelled of smoke when we checked in.
Besides that the staff were very nice and the hotel was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is really non-smoking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have just returned from a three night stay in the Inishowen gateway Hotel.Really enjoyed it, no complaints at all,very clean hotel,bedrooms,restaurant and leisure centre were spotless and our room was serviced each day. Breakfast was very good,bar and restaurant food was very good and not to expensive. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull.Margaret in the spa was very nice and good at what she does too.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

One of the best hotels we have stayed in for children. Facilities are super, which is vital for a Donegal break, given the very unreliable weather. In the basement there is a huge play area called Planet Active that has a library, loads of toys, games consoles, table tennis, table hockey and an impressive soft play area. Planet Active also runs a variety of clubs and movie nights. our four and six year old participated in the cookery club were they made veg. wraps from scratch, including making their own tortilla and salsa! They loved it! the pool was a good size and warm with a nice childrens pool that our baby enjoyed. we stayed in a family room, which we usually don't like as our kids go to bed early, but the room we got was big and comfy and we managed well. we booked in for two nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal. i had read some negative reviews but the food we got was great... much better than some of the fourstar hotels we have stayed in. Good healthy options available for the kids. The staff we dealt with were fantastic... especially Helena and Laura in Planet Active who really made our children feel welcome. in Buncrana there is a great playpark for the kidz and there are some of the most amazing beaches and fantastic scenery a short drive from the hotel. would really recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing