We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westbrook House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbrook House B&B
Ranked #4 of 8 Buncrana B&B and Inns
Holland Patent, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here while attending the Derry Fleadh. Clean and cozy rooms, excellent food. Mary-Margaret a wonderful and most helpful host. Convenient and easy access to Derry which was teeming with people for the All-Ireland Fleadh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and two young sons and I travelled from Chicago to Buncrana for a family reunion. I'd been to Buncrana before, but stayed with family. I wasn't sure what to expect from the B&B, but I knew I didn't want four nights in a hotel. The Westbrook House was exactly right for us; I'd love to plan another trip to Buncrana just to stay at the Westbrook House. Mary Margaret (the owner) is just a wonderful person, and cared for us as if we were her own family. The en-suite room was perfectly clean, the bathroom was small but functional for the four of us, and the house itself was as comfortable as home. It is located close to town and there is plenty of parking in the driveway for whatever vehicle you may have (we had a 10-passenger van). The Westbrook House is ideal for a family with kids, for at least four reasons: 1) It is across the street from Swan Park, where a family could easily spend 2-3 fun hours; 2) the Irish breakfast is plentiful for adults, but there also is child-friendly fare such as cereal, toast, chocolate spread, etc., 3) our room had a large, flat-screen television mounted near the top of a wall (while we didn't travel to Ireland to watch TV, it is a godsend when you have kids who may not fall asleep easily with the time-difference and the fact that it stays light until nearly 10pm in Ireland); and 4) there is a washing machine for guests to use. After our four nights in the Westbrook House, we travelled around the country and stayed four additional rooms ... none of them measured up to our Buncrana experience at the Westbook House. I give the Westbook House two thumbs up!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with two children, ask for the family room; it has a queen-sized bed and two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great B & B, close to the city center, with a beautiful garden along the river.
Our room was not huge, but it was equipped with everything you need and clean.
The owner is very, very friendly and the breakfast was great.
highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful garden full of colour with variety of trees leading to the river by the bridge with rocks and rapids. Very welcoming family to old house with antique furniture but modern facilities. En suite and flat screen tv in our twin room. Light airy room in muted colours. Tea and coffee available in a small study with balcony over the garden. Eco friendly establishment. Own order available of the usual breakfast fry ingredients. Juice, cereal, toast, etc too. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanbluetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent three days in April at this charming house in Buncrana. This place represented Ireland as I thought of it-charming,quaint and beautiful. Our hosts were wonderful and extremely helpful. They told us about places we would of never thought to go. The house itself was so comfortable.
Walking around the grounds and through the park across the street was just a lovely way to explore the area. There is a beautiful waterfall there. Mary Margaret and Willie made us feel we had come home to Ireland!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a lovely family owned property in Buncrana. It's location is ideal for exploring the county. There are very pretty beaches a short walk away, a lovely park just across the road and golf courses within driving distance. Mary Margaret and Willie were wonderful hosts and I felt as if I were staying with family. The breakfast was delicious and perfect to set you up for a day of sightseeing. The accomodation is basic but comfortable, and the house was a very warm, welcoming and cosy retreat for us during our visit on a freezing weekend in March,

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenAtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Westbrook House is a Bed & Breakfast.
The owners are charming, and very pleasant.
They offer a bed, and breakfast.

Don't expect the Hilton. This is a quaint little B&B in an old family home.
The beds are soft, the linen is clean, the shower is passable and the breakfast is merely ok.

As a young couple on a short roadtrip around the north of Ireland in October 2012, we really should have researched a little better - not our cup of tea, but a perfectly passable establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxtrot-foxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
1.1 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 3 in Rathmullan
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbrook House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbrook House B&B

Property: Westbrook House B&B
Address: Inishowen, Buncrana, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westbrook House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing