We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tulfarris never disappoints a year on after our wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We returned to Tulfarris for a complementary nights stay for our 1st wedding anniversary. The Hotel & Staff never disappoint, a year on from our wedding in Tulfarris we got a great welcome and an upgrade to one of the lovely suits. It was great seeing the fantastic views again of the lakes. We had a meal in the Lime tree restaurant and as usual the food was delicious with great views to enjoy while you eat. The hotel has got some maintenance done recently and all the work has even improved an already fantastic hotel.
Thanks again to the Staff for making us feel special we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH2012May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from a family wedding at Tulfarris. Lovely setting if the weather is nice, but it was cold and wet, which was a shame as we did'nt get to make the most of the lovely area. Food at the wedding was fantastic and would recommend for a wedding. Hope to stay again some time and hopefully get better weather! The rooms with balconies are very nice, just need some crockery and cutlery, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylou1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Tulfarris for the Punchestown race festival. It was great value for money and at least half the price of hotels closer to the racecourse. Included in the package was return coach to the race course, which meant that even though the hotel was 20 minutes away from the racecourse we didn't have to worry (or argue!) about the logistics of who was driving - brilliant! The hotel itself is in a stunning position on Blessington lake and our room was spacious with a huge shower. The breakfast was a good standard, the staff couldn't do enough, the breakfast room looks over the golf course and is a lovely setting. All the staff were very helpful and even though we got into breakfast with 15 minutes to go no-one tried to rush us out and tea, coffee and anything we wanted we got with a smile.
The only small complaint would be the standard of the entertainment on the Tuesday night, it was terrible and a few people left the bar because it was so bad- we eventually gave up and retired too. But all in all a very good hotel, with very helpful staff, in a fabulous setting.
Tip: take the coordinates from the hotel website you will need a satnav or google maps to get there!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies and a view of the lake. Rooms in the wings are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSTEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We have booked two rooms to stay at the Tulfarris Hotel for a family wedding next week. I have emailed the hotel 7 times over the last two weeks to make an amendment to my reservation and have heard nothing back from them at all. I also called and was told someone would call me back. They never have. Does not fill me with great confidence for our stay with this hotel and suppose we will have to try and make our amendment with the Hotel Reception when we check in as its unlikely we will hear back now.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriswarwick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hi Chris,

I am terribly sorry about the confusion with your booking, I know that we had been trying to contact you but your email was bouncing back to us. I hope you can understand that we did try. I believe that Aisling was speaking with you at reception on your arrival and showed you all of our attempts and our email to your mother also.
I hope you had a great time in the hotel and apologies that I didnt get to meet you but you were in very safe hands with the team here.
Hopefully we will see you again soon and if you wish to write us a review about your stay we would of course appreciate that also.

Thanking you in advance.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

If the wether had been kinder, that is !! As it was, it was raining constantly. The grounds would have been well worth exploring if the rain had let up. As another reviewer has already said, the hotel is not very well signposted (not the hotel's fault, I understand) so allow time for detours if you're heading to Tulfarris House.

As it had been some time since I was last there, I was interested to see what changes had been made to the property. The main one I noticed is that the town-houses that make up 'the village' are no longer owned by the Hotel but have been sold off, with the exception of one. For a golfer, it must be heaven to own a little piece of the Tulfarris Estate as I'm told that the golf course is first rate (not a golfer myself !!) and the setting on the shore of one of the Blessington Lakes is beautiful.

I was there to attend a wedding. We checked in on arrival with the very friendly and welcoming receptionist and were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite was really spacious, with a living area / kitchenette, separated from the bedroom by double doors A door led to the balcony from here and there was a TV in both areas. The view from the balcony over the golf course and grounds was beautiful. The rooms were spotlessly clean although coffee was lacking on the hospitality tray. I mentioned this to the receptionist and it was rectified immediately. The bathroom was perfectly adequate, well stocked with towels and toiletries and again, spotless.

The wedding was held in the Manor House - a beautiful old house with lots of restored features. There were two young barmen serving at the bar and they appeared somewhat overwhelmed when a crowd descended on them and seemed unable to cope. This made for very slow service and queues at the bar. However, this changed when we went in to eat. The food was delicious and plentiful, fhe service smart and unobtrusive. The emply wine bottles were replaced within minutes. The Manor House has seven deluxe suites which, understandably, were reserved for the bridal party. The only draw-back to being housed in the Hotel itself was the horrible weather on the day if you had to go to your room for any reason !!

Even though breakfast was served from a very respectable 8-11 a.m., I managed to miss it by minutes. By all accounts it was very good !! However, the very pleasant waitress did supply me with coffee and toast !!

The bride and groom had organised a barbeque for their guests the evening following the wedding. Again, the weather was not on our side, so the barbeque had to be moved indoors. It was set up in the public bar. There was no way of making it a private function as others were, naturally, entitled to use the bar. However, the food was good and there were burgers, potatoes and chicken skewers aplenty, with lots of salads to accompany them.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay. Nice ambiance, good food, pleasant staff and a very spacious room - all withing striking distance of Dublin. This hotel is doing very good deals at the moment and they are worth checking out. Some of the deals are better value than the 'Wedding Rate' !! I will definitely make a return visit - despite my lack of interest in golfing !!

Room Tip: It is well worth checking out the 'Special Offers' currently available at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysteriousmims_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in late April and had a great time. Reception staff were always helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and had a fantastic view out over the golf course (we are not golfers but that in no way detracted from the stay). There are lovely walks around the grounds and down to the lake. Breakfast was excellent and available from 8 till 11 am. The hotel was a great location for a day's horse racing at Punchestown and a day in the nearby Wicklow Mountains. Our only gripe was that the standard of daily housekeeping in the room could have been better. The room itself was clean enough but the beds were not made up very neatly and we had to make do with one small bar of soap for the three days. However, overall we were delighted with our stay and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucestershireMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Myself and partner stayed at Tulfarris Hotel last weekend in April 2013. The hotel is in a fabulous location in west Wicklow surrounded by lakes and countryside. It is difficult to locate as Wicklow County Council have not agreed signage according to the hotel and the sat nav gave (wrongly) Blessington as the location. However the hotel is quite nice. The reception area is lacking character somewhat or could do with some design makeover. The staff were execellent in the restaurant. The food was of a high standard with a diverse dinner menu. The wine list was ok but the house wines lacked imagination...with the usual Chilean offerings...The bedroom was fine with a good shower and heating. We felt that overall the hotel needed to up its standards or go that extra bit for a really high rating...

Room Tip: dine in the restaurant rather than the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
18.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,068 reviews
20.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,115 reviews
7.7 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
19.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
19.8 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort

Address: Blessington Lakes, Blessington, Ireland (Formerly Wingate)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range: $105 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulfarris Hotel And Golf Blessington
Tulfarris Hotel Blessington
Tulfarris Resort Blessington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing