We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for a nice weekend away and it was really lovely, I had 2 flaws, first was the food in the restaurant, ate in the bar Friday night and the food there is far superior to the restaurant. Nice atmosphere also with live music both night's in the bar. My meal in the restaurant was poorly presented and lacking in taste, could have been so much better. Also on out second night there was a fault with something like the fan in the bathroom which woke us both numerous times. Mentioned it at the desk on checkout and they were very apologetic do not much more they could have done about that. Overall would def go bk but would not eat in the restaurant again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello Trishamel,

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm glad albeit 2 flaws you had a great time.
I am surprised that you didnt enjoy the restaurant food, we have had only great reviews about the food. We have changed a couple of dishes recently after some great feedback so hopefully these are the dishes youdidnt like. I would love if you could contact me and let me know and I can assure you of this.
I have had our maintenance man check all fans in the rooms with no problems arising, I would also like to know which room this was as no further comments have come back either. I really can only apologise for this and would love to hear from you so I can apologise personally.

Hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    222
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
197
454
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had our wedding in Tulfarris on July 5th 2012 and i have to say we were more than happy with the hotel, management and staff. Lilian helped us from start to finish with all our wedding plans, nothing was a problem and everything ran so smoothly from the first time we met her to the end of our wedding. All our family and friends really loved this hotel as the food and accomodation was excellent quality and for us the banqueting area for our wedding was seperate to the hotel which meant it was more private and also was a stunning venue. The views are fab!
Derek was also on hand the day of our wedding and really really could not do enough for us!The staff were an absolute credit and really made our day special. The next day we had a bbq organised for our family as we stayed the weekend.We really had a ball..
We intend to go back for a weekend just to relax and we know that our family and friends will also re visit.
I would highly reccomend this hotel whether you want a weekend break with the kids a quiet weekend for two or to have your wedding here. Lilian, Derek & Staff we cannot say enough good things about you all!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello cocoireland,

Thank you for the amazing review and of course I have let Derek, Lillian and all the team know about it. Although they all read these regularly anyway. :-)
I'm delighted that you had a great day and that we did all we could to ensure everything ran smoothly for you. It wont be long before July comes again and we will see you for your anniversary dinner.

Maybe we might see you again before then,
Thanks again,

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent a wonderful night in Tulfarris recently. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us, in particular Aisling and Derek went out of their way to accomodate us.
The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The food was beautiful and the restaurant was packed, which is not suprising as the food was so good.
I'd recommend Tulfarris to all. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A group of us stayed in Tulfarris hotel last weekend for a family get together. Had a lovely night, the food and accomodation was fabulous and all at a great price. And I'd just like to say thanks to Aisling and Derek who looked after us all so well Fri and Sat. Will definately be back!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank newbeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at tulfarris last sat night and i can not fault it.The service from the minute we arrived was excellent.Everyone working there was very friendly asking how we were enjoying our stay and what we were up to during our stay.we payed 130 euro to stay in a suite with a two course meal inclusive[quite a few supplements on some main courses but still very good value].when we arrived we had a choice of a suite or to stay in the manor which is the original house and we opted for this,The manor is fantastic and kept in the original old style.Our room was superb kingsize bed and tastefully decorated and a big bright room looking onto the golf course.This would be a excellent venue for a wedding as you could have the whole manor to yourself as there are two big entertaining rooms which are very plush and there is also a separate bar in the manor.
We ate in the restaurant in the hotel which was really good and it was full but you would know it because of the great service..The guy who meet us as we came in was very friendly and efficient ,when a girl dropped a glass while we were eating he went out of his way to ease her embarrassment and offer her another glass!The restaurant was really cosy with dimmed lights and candelabra with candles reflecting in the windows.I had a quick peek in a window to try to see the hotel rooms and the one i saw looked very smart and modern The. other great thing about Tulfarris is that it is only a hour from Dublin.Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: The Medlar was the name of our room and fantastic view of golf course from the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi lady14,

Thank you for your excellent review and taking the time to write it. I'm delighted that you had a great time, everyone looked after you and that you will be returning to us.
Please let me know when you do so I can put a face to the name.

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The title of this review is purely because like most Irish people reading this we buy the voucher deals, we're addicted and we like a bargain and need value for money and also the places that pop up we wouldn't pay the full normal rate there! This hotel has been on my radar for some time now and I couldn't pass up the offer once it came on. €89.00 for a two people, breakfast included and two cocktails on arrival plus a €20 voucher off dinner in the Lime tree restuarant. We arrived to a beautiful reception area with a lovely greeting from reception. We were given room 129 which was spacious with a huge bed and lovely views. We were worried though about the adjoining door and what noise might come through it if anyone got the room on the other side. We headed down to the bar for our cocktail and took at seat on the comfiest couches I think I've ever sat on! Barman and lounge staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We read the paper and felt really chilled out. We returned to the room to get ready for our 6pm dinner. The dining area was absolutely gorgeous, lighting was romantic, and there was plenty of space away from the next couple eating near us. Food was delicious and the staff again catered for our every request. We retired to our room early and didn't drink in the bar but only because we were tired. Unfortunately the adjoining room had guests, at least one child and two adults, all loud and in my opinion no consideration for other guests. They were part of a group staying in nearby rooms who talked loudly in the corridors and were running up and down the halls and banging doors. We don't like complaining but we wanted to rest and have an early night. My partner went to the hotel receptionist who was extremely understanding and helpful. She said she'd had other complaints and would give them a call to see would they calm things down. Told us that if nothing changed then we were to come back to her and she'd sort something out. After about a half hour it did go quiet and we had a lovely sleep. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and again anything we could have wanted we could have had. Check out was hassle free and pleasant. Thank you all at this hotel. Hoping to see you again very soon.

Room Tip: Ask if the hotel room has an adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curvesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello Curvesmad,

Thank you for your great review and I'm thrilled that you felt we offered the same level of service and standard for your groupon voucher, this is a great comment to hear and is certainly very true.
I do hope that you come back to us again soon and keep an eye out on our website for some great value deals again.

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Tulfarris we were completely overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff. We checked in at around 4ish and the receptionist couldn't do enough for us as we had a 15 month old baby with us. She made a reservation for us in the restaurant at a time that suited us, even tho it was quite busy.

We had an appointment with the Wedding Coordinator Catherine who was so down to earth, yet extremely professional. It was just 'well what can we do for you' and basically she helped us put a package together that best suited us. Everything we asked of her was answered with a 'Yes, that's no problem'. One of the operation Managers Honora,who is extremely friendly and helpful who we had met on a previous visit, remembered us by name, came over to see how we were and if she could do anything for us.
The accommodation was spotless and very spacious as we had a suite. Even had two televisions.
When we went to the restaurant the manager was very friendly and full of chat. without even asking us he had a baby high chair and coloring pencils, for our baby. The waitress we had, a young blonde girl was probably the nicest down to earth people we have ever met working in a hotel. She kept coming over to talk to our baby, even tho she was busy serving other tables.

The food in the restaurant was top class, in such a beautiful setting overlooking the Golf Course and Lakes.

I really couldn't say enough or speak highly enough of the staff at Tulfarris Hotel and have already booked in for another night in a few weeks to come.

Lisa and Gearoid

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearoid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Good Morning Lisa and Gearoid,

Thank you so so much for such an amazing review. I am delighted that you had such a great stay with us and that you are considering us for your wedding. I will certainly pass on your comments and thanks to Kathryn, Honora, Mark our Chef and I'm sure it was Kirsty in the restaurant who's sense of humour is infectious.
Hopefully we will be seeing you soon and regularly where service and standards will be as good if not hopefully better.

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
20.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
18.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
6.6 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
7.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort

Property: Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
Address: Blessington Lakes, Blessington, Ireland (Formerly Wingate)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulfarris Hotel And Golf Blessington
Tulfarris Hotel Blessington
Tulfarris Resort Blessington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing