We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Monavalla B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blessington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monavalla B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Blessington B&B and Inns
HEREFORD
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just got back from a weekend stay at this B&B.
We had looked at the reviews and just expected a clean nice place, well everything you read is true. Bridie and Paddy are just the kindest people you could ever wish to meet, in fact it was hard to leave such a beautiful located place, every time you look out of any window the scenery changes ! it really is a piece of heaven.
In short it may be a B&B but offers service that only a first class hotel would provide.

We will be back again

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdavey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Now, Bridie and Paddy are a whole other level of hosts. They are a lovely couple that will do anything to make you feel at home in their beautiful house. Everything, to the smallest detail has been taken care of and there is no one speck of dust at sight. Conversation is a delight with Bridie, and Paddy just gets so interested in you that you will be more than pleased to have a chat with him about anything.
Breakfast time is amazing, with an impeccable table setting and food cooked just to perfection.
I will definitely come back to Ireland just to stay at their place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaloGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Monavalla while at a wedding in nearby Tulfarris House. Really lovely and comfortable, Bridie and Paddy were gracious hosts, brought us to the wedding reception too. Breakfast was fantastic, although i was the worse for wear after the party, it was a treat, and the dining room has a beautiful view over the lake, and Bridie has great taste in tableware. Can't fault the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullMcKabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Unfortunately, we only spent a few nights at Monavalla, but we were treated like members of the family. Bridie and Paddy could not have done more for us. Very clean with comfortable beds, breakfast to die for and the views were just stunning. Would love to go again sometime.

Room Tip: We had rooms to the front facing the view, although rooms to the back face beautifully landscaped ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SU51STP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

we have stayed here many times now, it is just such a great place and Bridie and Paddy are so welcoming. great location and really nice and clean with lovely food

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at Monavalla as we were attending a wedding nearby. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Bridie was an absolute pleasure and couldn't have done more for us. The room was lovely, very clean and catered for our needs. Breakfast was fantastic, such choice including breakfast cereals, fresh fruit salad with yoghurt, full Irish breakfast, fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, etc. I'll definitely be back should we return to that area for another function in the future!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladybirds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We just returned from three weeks touring Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. We stayed at three hotels and 8 bed & breakfast homes. Monavalla was the last B&B we stayed in before arriving back in Dublin. We wanted to stay in Blessington so we could see Russborough, but we considered skipping this area to spend an extra day in Dublin. Are we happy we did not do that.!!! Monavalla was one of the high points of our trip.
Monavalla sits on a hillside above the Blessington lakes with a gorgeous view of the lakes and the mountains behind them. The early morning sunrise is a site to behold. There are several acres of manicured gardens surrounding the house and hundreds of feet of stone walls front and rear.
Our room was compact, but very clean and comfortable with an excellent bed. The bath was also compact but very nice with a stall shower (our preference). There was no TV, but we did not miss it. The view from the room was absolutely beautiful. It reminded me of home where we overlook San Francisco Bay with the east bay hills in the background.
Paddy & Bridie were wonderful hosts who helped us in every way to make our stay more comfortable and interesting. Paddy even called a neighbor to find out that Russborough was open on the Saturday we arrived at their home. We were led to believe that it was only open on Sundays in April. Fortunately, we were able to see it on Saturday afternoon, so we had all of Sunday for other pursuits.
Bridie served a fantastic breakfast in her beautiful dining room adjacent to a lovely, sunken living room. She even sent us on our way with a bag of raspberry muffins that were the best we have ever tasted. We were sorry we did not have a couple more days to stay at Monavalla and enjoy the surrounding area. This B&B and the area where it is located are beyond description. It was one of the very best places we stayed during our three weeks in Ireland. We would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TahoeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
0.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Citywest Hotel
Citywest Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saggart
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avon Ri
Avon Ri
#2 of 2 in Blessington
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abhainn Ri
Abhainn Ri
#1 of 2 in Blessington
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Lodge B & B
Lakeview Lodge B & B
#1 of 8 in Blessington
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monavalla B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monavalla B&B

Property: Monavalla B&B
Address: Baltyboys, Blessington, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blessington
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing