We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Blessington
Post
Inbox
Search

“second visit was disappointing”
Review of Crafternoon Tea

Crafternoon Tea
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Blessington
Price range: $6 - $11
Description: Crafternoon Tea provides an oasis of elegance in old world style. Relax in the midst of floral table linens, decorative wallpaper and fine china. Indulge in afternoon tea served on china three tier stands and if afternoon tea is not for you try our coffee and fresh cakes or scones baked on site daily. If you want something a little more substantial try the homemade soup, sandwiches or salads. Our staff have been barista trained by Bewleys and our teas and coffee supplied by Bewleys also. Browse and perhaps buy a craft item from our craft corner to remember your visit. Our knits and crochet items are hand crafted locally and other crafts are sourced from craftspeople throughout Ireland. We hope that Crafternoon Tea will provide an enjoyable experience for you whether you are visiting from abroad or from across the road.
Restaurant details
Description: Crafternoon Tea provides an oasis of elegance in old world style. Relax in the midst of floral table linens, decorative wallpaper and fine china. Indulge in afternoon tea served on china three tier stands and if afternoon tea is not for you try our coffee and fresh cakes or scones baked on site daily. If you want something a little more substantial try the homemade soup, sandwiches or salads. Our staff have been barista trained by Bewleys and our teas and coffee supplied by Bewleys also. Browse and perhaps buy a craft item from our craft corner to remember your visit. Our knits and crochet items are hand crafted locally and other crafts are sourced from craftspeople throughout Ireland. We hope that Crafternoon Tea will provide an enjoyable experience for you whether you are visiting from abroad or from across the road.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

was very surprised to see that the cakes are no longer baked on site but bought in. such a pity it was the thing that set you apart from all the others

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank livedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patriciamacg, Owner at Crafternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. However, given that your previous review notes that the staff were great, the service fantastic, it was very good value for money and that you would highly recommend - I don't think that cakes made on site was/is our only virtue. Unfortunately, maintaining an onsite baker became a luxury that we couldn't afford without passing on significant price rises to our customers, which is simply something we were not happy to do. Our bakes are now delivered to us from a bakery locally and are of the highest quality, our bread continues to be baked on site. Thank you once again for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cycle friendly cafe! We love to visit this cafe when cycling around the lakes
Staff are always friendly , service is great and the sandwiches are amazing

Very fair on prices too which is a refreshing change . I love the fine china and “real” tea!

The gifts / crafts are nice too but can’t buy when in cycling gear!!

A hidden gem.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 197sineadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patriciamacg, Owner at Crafternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sinead,
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm sure a cycle around the lakes can generate a fair appetite! We have tried to produce a menu that is both on the healthy side of the scale and satisfying while not breaking the bank! The girls are great and try very hard to please so it's nice that they are recognised for that. The "real" tea is probably a throw back to when we all used to go to our grannies house for tea and biscuits, the 'best china' though was probably reserved for the priest or doctor or visitors from abroad! The crafts/gifts are limited by the space we have available but we keep trying to add new little items - Christmas might see some new bits and bobs! Thank you once again for your review and custom, both are much appreciated and valued.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

The best find on our holiday in Ireland
The decor beautiful crockery the whole atmosphere was wonderful
The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and very
Good value .

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patriciamacg, Owner at Crafternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Catherine,
Thank you for your review and custom. It's great to hear that we made such a positive contribution to your holiday in Ireland. We really feel that being able to provide great food at great prices in elegant surroundings is something that should be accessible to everybody. The staff are great girls and try really hard to please everyone who comes through the doors of Crafternoon Tea. Next time you're holidaying in Ireland drop in you will be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

Enjoyed a delightful birthday lunch in Crafternoon Tea on Sunday. The food was delicious, the service outstanding - a truly wonderful place. Everyone involved made this a special day. Thank you to all.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank MaureenH341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patriciamacg, Owner at Crafternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Maureen,
I'm so glad that we were able to make your special day a little bit extra special! I will relay your feedback to the staff as it is always good to have their efforts recognised. Maybe you'll come back again for the next special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

We selected from the “All day Breakfast” Menu and had an excellent lunch ! Good food , it was well presented and good service.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patriciamacg, Owner at Crafternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Clare for your visit to Crafternoon Tea and your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the food and the service and presentation. I hope you will pop in again and are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crafternoon Tea also viewed

Blessington, County Wicklow
Blessington, County Wicklow
 
Blessington, County Wicklow
Blessington, County Wicklow
 
Blessington, County Wicklow
Blessington, County Wicklow
 

Been to Crafternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing