We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great team building day in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Ri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avon Ri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great team building day in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently attended a team building day at Avon RI. The surrounds are picturesque and the facilities good. We participated in the sailing, archery, clay pigeon shooting, kayaking and rope activities and great fun was had by all. This was finished off in the evening with a wonderful outside BBQ.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosB__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear RosB_11,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our resort. We greatly value our guests feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed your team building activities, BBQ and beautiful surroundings and I hope we see you again in the future!

I have passed on your lovely comments to our team.

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    72
    38
    19
    22
See reviews for
143
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been holidaying in donegal for many years and decided to try somewhere different this year, we were anxious about this as we were used to excellent facilities in donegal. However, I have to say Avon Ri was just perfect. From the moment we arrived everything was excellent. The houses are large 3 bed houses with ample space for all 6 of us. They were very well equipped, had everything we needed. I called reception and asked for patio furniture and it was delivered immediately, the receptionist Karolina was excellent, was able to answer all our questions and very helpful
My mother in law was in a wheelchair and had no problem accessing all the facilities. The kids did kayaking and zip line which was so much fun and there was a movie on in the evening to keep them occupied while we had dinner in the bar. Bar food was excellent, great variety and had a lovely welcome from the Chef, he spent time talking to us about Avon Ri and the food.
We ate in the restaurant on our last night which is more expensive than the bar food but it was worth it, the staff couldn't have been more attentive , the Chef even came out with a cake for my Dad for his birthday.
I would highly recommend it, if you want a sophisticated spa holiday then go to a five star hotel but if you want a fun, friendly holiday with clean apartments and excellent facilities then Avon Ri should be your first choice
We are already planning a few days over the mid term break. One word fantastic!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review about our resort, we are all thrilled that you and your family had such a lovely time and I have passed all your lovely comments to all of our team members.

I'm delighted to hear that you a planning another visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you all back.

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable week at Avon Ri this summer. The location is beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The children spent a day at the activity camp and had a ball. We also ate out and the food was very good. The main thing that lets Avon Ri down are the fittings and furnishing in the house. The houses are described as luxury accommodation and should reflect this. The kitchen utensils are very poor with several items not provided, grater, sharp knife, vegetable peeler. I asked for these and they were provided but the knives were blunt. The crockery was mismatched and several pieces were badly cracked. The oven and fridge doors did not close properly. The back garden was open plan with no washing line and shared furniture. Had we wanted to BBQ this would have been in full view of other guests. The showers are also very poor and it was difficult to wash hair under them. These are all easily addressed. I also think that an addition of a free games room would be a huge advantage for families with older kids. The activities are very good but they are costly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear forhm,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our resort. We greatly value our guests feedback and we have taken your comments on board.

Since your stay we have updated most of our houses with new kitchen utensils and all our maintenance is up to date.

We are also in the process of upgrading all of our patio furniture ready for next spring.

I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and food - I have passed on your nice comments to our team.

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weekend at Avon Ri. My mother in law booked a weekend away with the family for her 60th birthday. We travelled with three couples and two young kids. I didn't book it and was looking at reviews on trip advisor which if being honest, frightened me a little bit. We arrived first and checked into our house - having read recent reviews I gave it a once over. It was spotless and extremely clean. The first night we ate in the house which was more than well equipped, and there was 9 of us. The rooms were very large, clean and very modern. There was 6 beds so we got an additional camp bed and we brought two blow ups. On Saturday we did some activities. Archery, clay shooting, zip wire and kayaking. It was brilliant. Our guide Mark was excellent and the kids 4 & 7 were involved in everything. The activities were very well organised and planned. In the afternoon we went for a walk and the kids used the playground and went for a swim in the pool. They had a great time. We ate in the bar which was reasonable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The portions were large and the Renie required. In short anyone looking for a fun family get away. Well worth a visit. Make sure to check the prices and pre book the activities. Other than that. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadYolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear MadYolk,

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review about our resort.

We greatly value our guests feedback and we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay so much!

I have passed on your review and lovely comments to our teams and they were chuffed!

We all hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are just back from a week in Avon Ri. Had a really great time. The house was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with all the mod cons you could need. I did feel that having only two 2 seater couches for 6 people was at times a little problematic, but we adopted a "first come"......policy to overcome that. The location and on site activities were excellent and everything was a stones throw away from our house which made life so more easier as we didn't have to constantly drive places. My only gripe was the cost of the ESB/Gas for the week. €70 for a weeks stay in summer time, with no need for heating and being away from the house for most of the day, was in my opinion way too much to pay. This was our fifth summer to rent a house and we have never paid more than €35 for utilities. I would go so far as to say my own ESB bill would not amount to €70 for 1 month, not to mention for 1 week. When I queried the amount on leaving I was told that it was because we booked through "Supervalu" and not directly from the resort that we were being charged this amount. This I feel to be discriminatory. Why should one be penalised for booking through a third party? While the overall experience was very good, paying that amount for ESB for 1 week would discourage me from staying there again, which I feel is a pity. However I feel people need to be made aware of this charge if booking through Supervalu, as there is no mention of this extraordinary fee on their web site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Sue M,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our resort.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found the houses to be clean and comfortable.

We have taken your comments on board regarding the ESB charges and have worked with Supervalue to change this going forward and if booked directly through us all costs are included in the nightly rate.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

With a group of 14 ranging 3 generations, all were well catered for. We rented two adjoining houses, which were spacious and airy and excellent value. Beds were really comfortable, and kitchens were well equipped - it was very handy to have a washer/dryer and a dishwasher. Outside tables and chairs were a nice touch. Lots of water-based and other activities on offer but the pool area was just great as there was no extra cost to use it. The kids loved the pet farm too. Bar food was excellent and bar staff very friendly and attentive - there's a lovely outside eating/drinking area overlooking the lake too.

One minor issue was that one house seemed to have more kitchenware than the other - no chopping board, no small sharp knife, only two mugs, etc - although we probably could have asked at reception for these! Another small issue was nowhere to hang coats and no hooks in the bathrooms for robes, etc.

Would advise guests to bring dishcloths, washing up liquid, and your own sharp knife! Highly recommended for a family holiday though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Jane E,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our houses, our bar food and our facilities, I have passed on your comments to our team.

I'm terribly sorry that you did not have enough kitchen ware in one of your houses - sometimes we have groups staying in the houses and they mix up our inventory between the houses but that is no excuse, our Housekeeping team do strive to make sure everything is in each house and we will try to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a family holiday and we really enjoyed our stay. The house was a great size and suited us very well. Lovely walks around the resorts and plenty of activities for all the family and on site pool and kids playground. (The playground could do with some attention) Food in the bar was good and reasonably priced and the staff were very friends. Zara who worked in the activity centre was very friendly and helpful. The summer camps are very well run and we would like to send our kids on one if we return next year.

One thing that did annoy us was having to pay €10 per day for ESB and gas charges, it was August so we didn't require heating and as it was a family holiday people are not going to be in the house much during the day. We also had to pay for the day we departed when the house had to be vacated by 10am. I would be more than happy to pay for meter reading but I think a flat fee is not fair.

All in all an ideal venue for a stay, not just for a family but for groups too, some information on the local area and things to do would be helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in house 47 - great location overlooking the lake and close to the pool and playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Limklady,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our resort. We really appreciate customer feedback.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I have taken you comments on bored regarding our extra charges and play area and we will review accordingly.

I have passed your lovely comments onto our team and in particular to Zara.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
19.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
21.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
16.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
18.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Ri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Ri

Property: Avon Ri
Address: | Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avon Ri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ri Hotel Blessington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing