We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot. Fab decor. Class beds. Jordan really nice. ”
Review of Spinners

Spinners
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Spinners on Castle St. is a family run boutique restaurant and guest-house located in the picturesque, Georgian town of Birr, Co. Offaly in the heart of the Irish Midlands. The town of Birr is situated right in the centre of Ireland and is only a short distance from all the major capital Cities. The warm and welcoming atmosphere of Spinners on Castle St. is designed to indulge, relax and unwind. From the relaxing and enchanting courtyard to our fine dining restaurant and casual dining bar, this is a place to soothe and inspire. The exquisitely crafted menus are updated monthly and designed to benefit from local produce, emphasising our commitment to fresh organic food. Spinners Birr accommodation is first class and encourages time out in a most wonderful relaxing and luxurious setting. Staying and dining at Spinners on Castle St. is a truly unforgettable experience and we look forward to welcoming you.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot. Fab decor. Class beds. Jordan really nice. ”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked 3 double rooms. Top quality rooms. Decor class. Beds really comfortable. Jordan did everything to make us comfortable. The whole group were impressed. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
2 Thank karencro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    36
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A marvellous reincarnation”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We (a party of four) had an excellent meal here this evening: the fish was exquisite, the steak was magnificent, and the vegetarian dish was inventive and very tasty. Best of all were the desserts: the warm banana and rum crumble, made according to a family recipe, was simply out of this world! The service was very friendly and the prices were good. It's great to see this restaurant reborn in such a nice manner, with its easygoing atmosphere, both inside and in the pretty courtyard outside. Long may Spinners continue in this impressive fashion!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CK_the_translator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still hungry leaving this place..”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Asides from the lovely waitress and pleasant decor, I was left disappointed by the standard and portion size of the food I selected off the bar food menu..the broccoli and goats cheese quiche was tiny, crumbly and didn't resemble a quiche to me...more like a very delicate tarte with some rocket on top...the cauliflower and cheese side was nice, but could of definitely done with more cheese, as described on the menu...much better places to eat in Birr for a lot less euro...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RollerGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taste buds left spinning after wonderful meal!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just passing through Birr and noticed Spinners. Tastefully decorated outside and inside more so. A beautiful courtyard that traps the sun is the main feature here and keeps the little ones happy while waiting. My vegetarian Moroccan Harira was delicious and himself got a huge slab of steak! And a side of buttered peas with bacon (this made him very excited) all fresh and made to order. The staff were attentive, capable, friendly and we even met owner which was a nice touch. Will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scalthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay :-)”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The accomdation was top class, clean, comfortable, spacious and modern. We met several staff, all very friendly and courteous, in particular the owner was a gentleman. He was helpful, warm and welcoming. The setting was lovely, right beside Birr Castle. The renovation on the building has been tastefully done and to a high standard. The breakfast was delicious, we both had a full Irish. Definately would recommend and we plan to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Comhceol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinners also viewed

Birr, County Offaly
 
Birr, County Offaly
Birr, County Offaly
 

Been to Spinners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing