We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Townsend House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I just had a brief stay here as I made my way south across the country. Very easy to find, lovely home. Loved that there was a little wine bar inside (although I didn't partake that night). Watch your car mirrors on the way into the drive - it's a tight squeeze!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank corianderstem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

a recent overnight stay , this is a first class bed and breakfast ,very clean and professionally run ,its also a short walk to the town centre and to Birr Castle which is certainly worth a visit. A good tasty full irish breakfast served in a brightly decorated dining room included in the reasonable rate

Room Tip: ask for a rear room street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. Very helpful friendly hosts. Nice big comfortable rooms and a lovely breakfast after a late night! Nice to see the Christmas decorations up! If I'm in Birr again I'd definitely stay at this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shouldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in this Guest House for one night - very friendly staff, lovely big old house - but cold - there did not seem to be much heating on. A few parking spaces in the courtyard - but it was tight to get in! Room was quite large, with reasonable bathroom, and good shower. Bed ok - but pillows VERY VERY hard! Clean and tidy. Breakfast ok, choice of cereals, and a fry - though the sausages were very small! Filter coffee was weak - overall acceptable for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuertoPollencaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 1 night during the Birr One Act Theatre Festival recently. Martin could not have been more helpful from start to finish - he happily recommended a restaurant for dinner and even dropped us over there, and the next morning when I completely messed up the hour going back they gave us late breakfast without any hassle! The Townsend House is in a really handy location right beside the lovely Birr Castle Demesne - would certainly recommend this guest house. Lovely breakfast too :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was my first visit to Birr after 62 years (my wife's 1st)-I had left it as an 8 year old and my wife and I stayed as close to the Centre as we could to soak up the atmosphere. The House came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. We loved it. Martin was a mine of information and so proud of Birr and well he and Lorraine should be. It had lost none of its magic for me. Though the House was full and both were busy they gave us a piece of themselves. We are definitely returning in 2013 and I am looking forward to some imbibing evenings in the wine bar.The Edwardian furniture was a reflection of their good taste. I better say no more in case the word gets out and they are booked out.

Room Tip: If there is a room available towards the rear take it as it might be less noisy.We had a lovely room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a lovely stay. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, really quiet too. Nice furnishings and bed linen. Really enjoyed breakfast too. Warm welcome and a fantastic place.
Would unreservedly recommend this guesthouse

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend House Guest House

Address: Townsend House Townsend Street, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range: $102 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townsend House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsend House Guest House is located in the center of Birr,Co.Offaly,Ireland's finest Georgian Town.This 19th Century house is complete with mature gardens and offers an enclosed courtyard perfect for private parking.Townsend House Guest House is a period house and all bedrooms are decorated with a Georgian theme and have the finest antique furniture with a mixture of king and queen size beds. All 10 bedrooms are ensuite,complete with direct dial telephone,satalite TV,tea/coffee making facilities and complimentaryWifi access. Townsend House is a 5 minute walk from Birr Castle Demense and Birr Theatre and Arts Centre,it is also within walking distance from the finest restaurants,hotels and pubs. Townsend House Tapas and Wine Restaurant opens Thursday to Saturday nights from 6 Pm till 10 pm for food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Townsend House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing