We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Masters House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbour Masters House
Ranked #5 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Forgive me as I am about to repeat myself yet again with my review of the Harbour Masters!! This is now our 3rd year running staying here and as always Grainne & Jim went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. Nothing has changed, immaculate accommodation, fantastic breakfast and a huge welcome when we arrived. This year, we broke from fishing on the Shannon and my husband and I ventured out and visited a few sights etc., and found it an easy base to explore from. Had a great night or two in McIntyres, a short crawl away and also revisited Flynns Bar in Banagher, where the food and friendly staff were as great as last time. Would again, never hesitate in recommending the Harbour Masters. Roll on next year !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hevans215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chose this b&b through trip advisor and was not disappointed at all. It is right outside the Grand Canal so perfect for fishing. The rooms were lovely, breakfast fantastic and Grainne was the best hotel owner I have ever met. She cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much trouble. Hence she is always busy so book early. Would definitely recommend a stay here. There is not much to do in Shannon Harbour apart from one pub but there is a few in Banagher a couple of miles away. We eat in Flynns a few times which was good food and good value. If you want a really nice meal go to The Thatch in Birr. The food was lovely and so were the staff. There is a small food van on Banagher Harbour too that is good food and very good value. If you are travelling around Ireland make this one of your stops you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Twin room on ground floor because you have sitting room outside your door. You also have use of a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay here. The canal-side setting is very peaceful. Grainne (pronounced Gronya) is the perfect host. Our top floor room was lovely. It had windows to the front – looking out directly over the canal – and to the rear – with a view across the garden to farmland. A comfy bed, good shower, good food, good company and a warm welcome. We even had hot sunny weather - though apparently that's not always guaranteed. (Also good beer and atmosphere in McIntyres pub-cum-grocery just around the corner.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This really cute B&B was very comfortable and very beautiful. Breakfast was great. The town population is 34. Tis place is a little off the beaten path bot the local pub has very good food and a warm place for drinks. My wife and I will sty here again with our next visit to Ireland.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Harbour Master House four times before and I will be returning this June. Grainne is such a great host. She also cooks one of best Irish breakfast I've everyhad. I found the place about six years ago and every chance I can I go back. It is beautiful along the canel and short walk down to D & S McIntrye's Pub for some of the finest Guinness. The owners treat me like a long lost friend returning to Shannon Harbour. So if you are checking out Clonmacnoise or other sites in area you should stay at Harbour Master House

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulterrysireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first and perhaps best B&B experience during our 11-day trip. Grainne was very welcoming and each day began with a tasty and hardy breakfast. Our room was comfortable and we had views of the Shannon River and garden. For dinner, Grainne recommended Flynn's pub where we met local folks and enjoyed two good meals. We had trouble with our rental car and Grainne had a repairman there in 10 minutes. The house was very quiet due to the thick walls, but it also meant we could not receive wi-fi in the room. Hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Grainne Kirwin made us feel very welcome with tea and coffee when we arrived. Our room was really comfy with a super view. The braekfast was very plentyfull. We would definiety go there again.
EDDIE TREEBY

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDDIETREEBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birr hotels
9.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
9.3 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
9.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
10.2 mi away
Minnock's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Masters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Masters House

Property: The Harbour Masters House
Address: Shannon Harbour, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Masters House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Masters House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing