We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the Walcot Bed and Breakfast. Everything about this place would recommend it to travelers. The Georgian Home, the decor, the charming hosts.
We on a whim decided to travel to Birr. The Castle and its garden were right next door to this excellent accommodation. The size of the rooms, the attention to detail, (shampoo, body wash). were very much appreciated.
Breakfast in the dining room was of excellent quality with a fresh fruit compote to begin followed with a full Irish Breakfast.
The hosts were so warm and my boyfriend and I felt very much at home.
Julie and Greg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Realy outstanding, wonderful lovely and extraordinary rooms! Absolutely special and clean! Internet and TV were included. The breakfast was manifald and luscious. Thank you very much!

Monika and Werner from Germany!

Room Tip: Trust in the landlady!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.c.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This elegant B&B is the equal of many "Blue Book" and "Hidden Ireland"-listed inns but at a much lower price. It's an historicl in-town estate, directly across from Birr Castle but with serene privacy. Our room was gorgeous, the breakfast in the large dining room delicious, and our hosts most gracious. My wife and I were delighted to have found it. --- K.A.K., Washington, D.C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Walcot in July/August and found this a perfect place to relax quietly while being well looked after. The room was spacious with beautiful views of the garden, had a very comfortable four-poster bed, plenty of storage space, a palatial shower en-suite and enough chairs for just sitting around. Breakfasts were excellent with a buffet as well as a satisfying Irish breakfast (and alternatives) if required: the staff were very friendly. The B&B is conveniently situated in a pleasant part of the town in the 18th-century elegance of the Oxmantown Mall. We would have made more of the garden if the weather had been kinder. We shall certainly return if we get the chance!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed two days in the Walcot from July 16th and even though I rarely write reviews I felt this place really deserved to be better known.
It is conveniently located just off the centre of Birr town and directly opposite Birr Castle. It has its own private parking and lovely gardens with seats for guests. The décor inside is very elegant and the best we've come across anywhere. Lovely bathrooms. Beds are very comfortable and rooms were immaculate. Tea-making facilities are provided. Food was excellent and the owners were friendly and helpful.
Anyone wanting to explore the Midlands would find this an excellent location to explore from. Many historic sites within short driving distance not least Clonmacnoise, Birr Castle with its unique and famous telescope and the Shannon area.
A top class B&B with old world charm coupled with full modern facilities. Well done to the owners!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC186602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A wonderful welcome from Eilish upon our arrival with a tour of the house made it clear that we were in good hands for the evening. Our room was clean and quiet, beautifully decorated (beautiful!) Wonderful value, lovely garden in their back yard and, of course, across the street in the Birr Castle Demense. Great scenery from the room windows of the stunning castle gates and walls, the gardens and small entrance house. The interiors were furnished with many family antiques which added to the comfort and feeling of being at home. Their home is incredible and it was a joy to listen to Eilish speak of her own family and the history of their house. We thank her for sharing it with strangers! Birr was an easy town to walk and find a bite to eat. Breakfast was wonderful in the expansive dining room. We would return here again!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter! They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our room was lovely and the B&B was warm and welcoming. The gardens are a perfect place to just sit and the location across from Birr Castle and a short walk to the town square is ideal. Each room was prettier than the next - all tastefully done and not a thing missing. The dining room and breakfast were both wonderful. I might go back to Birr just to stay here again!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseleen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birr hotels
0.2 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Townsend House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Aonach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walcot Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walcot Bed and Breakfast

Property: Walcot Bed and Breakfast
Address: Oxmantown Mall, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walcot Bed and Breakfast is situated in the centre of Birr Town, With the added bonus of private parking and a peaceful walled garden. We also offer a luxurious holiday home for a self catering option ideal for families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Walcot Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing