We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maltings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maltings
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Birr on the recommendation of TA on our way from Clifden to Dublin . The guesthouse is in a quiet location but close to walk to the shops. The Maltings is a lovely old building renovated to a very comfortable level. The rooms are big, as is the bathroom. Nice and clean throughout. Our hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We walked into town and had lunch at Emma's cafe which was fabulous. We then spent the afternoon in the gardens at Birr castle which was also great. We ended up buying a bottle of wine and some cheese and bikkies and sat out on the deck at the malting in the late afternoon. I would certainly recommend The Maltings for a nice break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
41
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed here twice and absolutely loved it on both occasions. It is well run, very hospitable and the rooms are spotless and spacious. I was delighted with the warm welcome, tasty breakfast and wonderful location in Birr town. There's a peaceful river running past right outside the dining room window, beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the window overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemaryoloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I confess I never heard of Birr before. Like many of Ireland's pretty small towns, it suffers from the fact that traffic goes right through it. The imposing converted Guinness Maltings however, just off the main streets, are amazingly quiet. We arrived fairly late, about 8 PM, and were lucky to find vacancies. The friendly lady spontaneously gave us keys to choose a room before booking. We had a big and very comfortable, impeccably clean ensuite room (in fact a family room, double with an extra bed) on the first floor right above the idyllic river Camcor; the water was the only thing we heard at night. Full Irish breakfast was served in a veranda overlooking the river. We paid 70 €, probably the best price-quality ratio imaginable. The only minor problem was there was no adequate reading light in the sitting area. When you travel to Ireland's West with the Rosslare ferry, this definitely is the ideal stop; also for visiting Clonmacnoise. Thanks to the lady's advice, we could have a late and pleasant dinner at the pub of the nearby County Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarnefelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night in April at The Maltings. We were greeted with warm and friendly hospitality, which included tea and delicious homemade scones and jam. Our room was quiet, spacious and clean. The guest house has been beautifully restored and we enjoyed learning of its history. Breakfast was exceptional and the dining area sits right on the River Camcor, providing a beautiful and restful setting. The Maltings is located next to the Birr Castle and we spent the day walking through the castle's extraordinary gardens. We highly recommend The Maltings to anyone who is considering staying in Birr.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travelin2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were really pleased with the Maltings. It's a cute building in a picturesque location, and the welcome is very warm. Maeve greeted us with coffee and fresh scones when we arrived, and offered a filling, delicious breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately, the Maltings suffers from being in Birr, which did not make a very positive impression. The river is very pretty, but the town seemed kind of empty, and we were really surprised to find that on a Friday night at 19:30 we had trouble finding a place to have dinner! (Note: We might not have gotten the best impression of Birr; we were just passing through.) So I heartily recommend the Maltings itself, but you might want to think about how much time you want to invest in the rest of Birr.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bifurcati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I,and indeed our children too have enjoyed our stay at the Maltings for the past ten years.We have always been warmly welcomed by the proprietor,Maeve,and have certainly been impressed by the quality of the food.The accommodation is clean and most comfortable.Put simply if you intend touring in Ireland then The Maltings Birr is ideal for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhender2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We so enjoyed our stay in the village of Birr, and The Maltings was the perfect location to tour around the castle and main street. People in the village were friendly and there was a distinct rural, quiet feeling about the pace of life in the area. Our room at The Maltings was warm and had all the amenities that we required. There was a bath! Always a winner in my book. Breakfast was healthy and full of choice. Our table was in a conservatory that gave the impression that we were sitting in the middle of the fast flowing river! Quite charming.

We can highly recommend both the village and The Maltings.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ericaindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.4 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
11.0 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltings

Property: The Maltings
Address: Castle St., Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Maltings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltings Hotel Birr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing